We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ranked #23 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Very boring hotel; character-less, and cold feel. Well sited, but too adjacent to late night restaurants and a nightclub, with music and shouting in the street till 4am. We had asked for a quiet room, but this was ignored, and we didn't realise the problem till 11pm, when it was too late. The rooms are acceptable, but when we awoke at 6.30 after a couple of hours sleep, we left for home without breakfast. After a largely sleepless night, we certainly won't be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestSussexCatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,908 - 1,914 of 2,728 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

Great central location less than 10 mins walk from New St station and only a 2 minute walk from Birmingham ICC
Very good standard throughout location general standard and rooms. Breakfast was also good with a selection of hot and cold food and the usual fruits cereals etc
Nothing to fault.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is my first stay here since it was bought from Mint. I'm gald to say the standard of the rooms is just as good. iMac tv in the room, small but well appointed bathroom. It's great for access to the cinema, pubs and clubs, plus a 20 minute stroll along the canal to the town centre.

However, on arriving on Sunday I found teh restaurant closed. Not a problem, I usually eat in the bar anyway. I ordered the chicken. They no longer serve bitter, and so I had to settle for a lager. The chicken was dry and overcooked, almost as though it had been left under the heat lamp. After the dry chicken and 2 pints of lager the bill was over £23. This is ridiculously over-priced, especiall considering the hotel is surrounded by god places to eat at much more reasonable places. Also, throughout the evening the bar staff vacuumed behind the bar and sprayed polish on the work surface. Mr Sheen and constant noise is not conducive to a nice evening. For the rest of the week I ate out. If the food was decent and if the fare a little cheaper the hotel would have had my custom for a week instead of a night.

Breakfast was much improved since my last stay, but they serve tea from a large pot. his means if the place is busy you may not get a cup, and when you do it is stewed.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snodlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

had another 1 night stay B&B in october. Since Hilton taken over from mint chain it remains very clean and contempary, very near broad street and all its goings on! (not noisey at all )very pleasant front of house staff. i didnt find the service at breakfast as "on the ball" as on previous stays, quality of food good, egg chef seemed uninterested. clearing of tables a little slow. Room excellent all you need sadly the free internet access removed from computers now. one dissappointing aspect now is that the windows do not open for a touch of fresh air. However would go again and i booked well early and got an excellent deal.

Room Tip: ASk for higher level floor better view. beaware rooms quite warm and windows do not open now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I stayed at the Garden Inn for an event at the ICC. The hotel is perfectly situated being just a 5 minute stroll from the back entrance. The main bonus was that there was no neccessity to walk down Broad Street late at night. Go straight out from the main doors down to Brindleyplace and over the canal foot bridge. Brindleyplace has a huge selection of cafes, bars and restaurants all set in a pleasent square overlooking the canal.
We arrived at 10.15 a.m. and were delighted that our room was already available to us. The room was clean and bright. There was a fairly small bathroom but again it was spotlessly clean with complimentary toileteries and a very efficient shower. The bed was very confortable and there was the bonus of iron and ironing board in a cupboard next to the bathroom.
I will definitely stay here again when visiting the ICC. Followed a previous reviewers tip and parked in the Brindleyplace car park, adjacent to the hotel. This cost £12 for 24 hours with the hotel discount.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worthingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Great value hotel (booked through Expedia) fairly central Birmingham (just off Broad Street Brindley Place Canal area). Comfortable light good size room with complimentary Apple iMac TV computer and WiFi. Also large fluffy towels, hairdryer, iron & ironing board, fridge, coffee, tea & milk (with kettle & mugs) and roomsafe. Great for a weekend break (complimentary WiFi a real bonus - fun getting to understand how the Apple iMac TV and computer worked - almost intuitive!).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Have stayed at this hotel many times . I was formally the city inn then the mint hotel and now the Hilton . Clean rooms , charming , staff and very friendly and so close to great bars ,restaurants and a 10 min walk to the main shopping center . A good price for a great stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol13687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,010 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,142 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#45 of 118 in Birmingham
1,471 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,505 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Address: 1 Brunswick Square, Birmingham B1 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £65 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish hotel in Birmingham City Centre Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace is ideally located in the Brindleyplace Development, home of great leisure, dining and entertainment venues. This Birmingham hotel is one of the closest hotels to the Barclaycard Arena and is only five minutes' walk from the International Convention Centre and the Symphony Hall. Settle in to an inviting guest room with a range of amenities for work and relaxation. Watch the 42-inch HDTV and keep in touch with complimentary WiFi. Recess,You will discover fantastic food, coffee, cocktails and everything in-between. space to eat, drink, and meet in whatever way you wish, day through to night. Our Pavilion Pantry is perfect for picking up light snacks and drinks for your bedroom, 24hrs a day. It's easy to maintain your exercise regimen with our complimentary fitness centre. Host a meeting or social event for up to 120 guests in our flexible meeting space. Our dedicated team will help plan your event and arrange tempting onsite catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace Hotel Birmingham
City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham City Hotel
City Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing