We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ranked #23 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I've stayed in many hotels across the Hilton portfolio but this was my first stay in a Garden Inn. I seriously cannot fault this hotel. It is in an ideal location in the centre of Birmingham. Broad Street, the N.I.A, Symphony Hall and the canals are all within walking distance.
All the staff were extremely friendly and courteous. The room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast buffet was hot and there was plenty of choice. Had a snack in the bar in the evening and the food was very good. Looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank androgum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback which I will share with the team. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay as we do aim to exceed all guest expectations at every opportunity.

We also believe that our location is one of the best in the city as we are so close to the shopping, the tourist atttractions and many great bars and restauarnts. Team that with our friendly staff and the complimentary wifi throughout the hotel and it is a great place to stay.

Thank you once again for leaving your feedback.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    1,074
    382
    143
    60
See reviews for
179
1,022
151
824
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rijswijk, Holland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel: it is centrally located and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Don't forget to add the vegetarian sausages to your breakfast. I have never tasted them better than here.

Room Tip: It is pleasant to have a quiet room (on a higher floor) away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tupf1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback which I will share with the team. We are really pleased that you enjoyed our vegetarian sausages as we believe that our breakfast offering provides a great variety of produce that caters for all tastes. And the freshly made waffles are just a taste sensation.

We hope that you had a safe journey home and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed in this hotel several times, its 2 huge plus points are its location and the i-macs in the rooms. The staff are friendly and the hotel is functional as you would probably expect from a Hilton. However the location is great if you want to enjoy a night out and if you want to stay in the in room complimentary pc is great.

Room Tip: higher the better and away from lift shafts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor following on from your most recent stay with us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the location and iMacs in the bedrooms as we think that they are great features of our hotel.

We also love our complimentary wifi throughout the hotel and 24 hour pantry, both of which are available to all our guests.

We do hope that you had a safe journey home and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in April; my other half booked this from last minute.com as a Top Secret Hotel and we were really pleased! The hotel's clean, the staff are friendly and can't do enough for you.

Brilliantly located in Brindley Place; just a short walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedabck following on from your most recent stay with us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and that you found the staff to be extremely helpful as we do pride ourselves on delivering first class service at every possible opportunity.

Along with the fantastic location I also hope that you you were able to make the most of our great facilities such as the complimentary wifi and 24 hour pantry.

We hope that you had a safe journey home and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night in april. We checked in at 12.15 pm and had a room on the top floor without paying a surcharge. The room and bathroom were very clean. We very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kika999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your most recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and that you were able to enjoy the views from the top floor.

We also hope that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary wifi and delicious breakfast, along with the iMac that you are present in every bedroom?

We hope that you had a safe journey home and we look forward to your stay in the future.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Brindley Place on Saturday 4th May for my husband's 40th birthday and he and I were both really disappointed.
I have stayed in these hotels when they were part of the Mint group in Manchester, Leeds and also eaten in Bristol. We have always had a great stay with fantastic service and good quality food and drinks.
On arrival at the hotel reception staff were friendly and we were quickly checked in to our room. There was no water provided in the room and the mini-bar which we would have liked to use was empty.
We went downstairs to reception where there was water, snacks and ready meals on sale reminiscent of a Travelodge or similar budget hotel. The hotel room was also quite a lot smaller than ones I had stayed in before but clean.

The real disappointment was on Sunday morning when getting up to go for breakfast. We arrived at breakfast at 09:40 and there was quite a queue to the dining room. Whilst it wasn't by any means full there was a shortage of tables as most of them were piled high with dirty plates and leftover food.
It took us about 10 minutes to be seated with dirty tables either side of us, these weren't cleared in all the time we sat there.

Nobody came to take a drinks order and when I managed to get someone's attention to order tea it came and was served in mugs, not hot and a pale grey/beige in colour. The pastries were stale, the hot food was cold and under-cooked, there wasn’t any waffle batter left and all the empty, dirty jugs were left in the service area. lots of stuff had run out and the general self service area, untidy, unclean and under-stocked with plates, and cutlery.

I appreciate that there were large numbers of guests at the hotel but either the staff couldn't cope or there weren't enough staff in attendance for the number of guests. I also ordered a newspaper at reception when checking in which didn’t arrive and was taken from our bill on request.

I really wish we hadn't booked our stay with breakfast and had gone out to eat instead and taking this into account we may have well booked into the Premier Inn at considerably less cost.

I have filled in a form online and emailed customer service about our stay but heard nothing I was expecting at least an automated response.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocobear74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for leaving your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I am really sorry that no-one has contacted you following your completion of the online feedback form however I would like to take the opportunity to discuss your disappointing experience and wondered whether you would mind contacting me on nicola.underhill@hilton.com so that I can further investigate the issues.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed as part of a conference at ICC, a few minutes steady walk away. If you don't know Birmingham you will be surprised by the development that has taken place in the area. Loads of swish restaurants and bars centered around the canal system. A lovely place for socialising. Hotel is modern, professional and a bit swish. Rooms don't have a bath but there are desks for business guests and a good shower. Breakfast was plentiful and no cheap bacon or congealed scrambled egg. A chef will cook eggs if you want. Can't really find fault.

Room Tip: No real difference in rooms as far as I could tell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BladeWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear reviewer

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us which I will share with the team. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the great location that we are fortunate to be situated in.

Next time you come you should take advantage of our own bar and restaurant which offer a wide range of cocktails and tasty dishes to get your night off to a great start.

We hope that you had a safe journey home and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,846 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
1,447 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Address: 1 Brunswick Square, Birmingham B1 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish hotel in Birmingham City Centre Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace is ideally located in the Brindleyplace Development, home of great leisure, dining and entertainment venues. This Birmingham hotel is one of the closest hotels to the Barclaycard Arena and is only five minutes' walk from the International Convention Centre and the Symphony Hall. Settle in to an inviting guest room with a range of amenities for work and relaxation. Watch the 42-inch HDTV and keep in touch with complimentary WiFi. Recess,You will discover fantastic food, coffee, cocktails and everything in-between. space to eat, drink, and meet in whatever way you wish, day through to night. Our Pavilion Pantry is perfect for picking up light snacks and drinks for your bedroom, 24hrs a day. It's easy to maintain your exercise regimen with our complimentary fitness centre. Host a meeting or social event for up to 120 guests in our flexible meeting space. Our dedicated team will help plan your event and arrange tempting onsite catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace Hotel Birmingham
City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham City Hotel
City Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing