We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
shrewsbury_7
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed with two other couples for a special occasion including a meal out in Birmingham
Very friendly reception staff upgraded us (as a Hilton Honours member) and the rooms were fine.
We returned to the hotel at 1140 pm as a group and went to the bar planning to sit and have coffees but were told very bluntly that the coffee machine had been turned off and that the bar in any case would shut at 12am. This rather soured the point of the evening and we resorted to fetching our own coffees from the rooms and sitting in one of our groups rooms. Not quite the plan!!
The breakfast was a bit of a let down with especially the hot food area needing a proper clean up around the containers and in general it was chaotic and not the best.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrewsbury-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for leaving your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am really sorry that you did not have an enjoyable experience but please rest assured that all comments are taken very seriously. I would really like to discuss this with you further and would be grateful if you could contact me at nicola.underhill@hilton.com

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    1,013
    348
    133
    54
See reviews for
168
950
140
769
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Value for money hotel ideally situated for our visit to Birmingham. did not experience any problems. Staff,service, breakfast all excellent. Only downside was noise when bars/clubs turned out in early hours but this did not last long. Would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank ColinHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your great comments about our hotel. At Hilton Garden Inn we aim to exceed guest expectations so we are really pleased that you had an enjoyable experience.

Next time you stay with us you should treat yourself to one of our signature cocktails that we offer in Brindley Lounge, or have a tasty bite to eat in our contemporary City Café restaurant.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Nice and modern hotel which is centrally located. The hotel also offers a mac in the room. Excellent buffet breakfast was served. Staff were all very helpful and professional. Well, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floor to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tushan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback which I will share with the rest of the team today. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and hope that you were able to take advantage of some of our great facilities while you were here such as our complimentary wifi and 24 hour pantry service.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wickford, england
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here as we were attending a function at ICC, it was literally a few minutes walk away. Service was great, breakfast good. We stayed in a disabled access romm as this is what the deal came up with. Not sure it was great access for wheelchair users in the bathroom as we found it awkward. The shelf for toiliteries was very small and located behind the toilet so you had to reach across and felt in danger of dropping things into the toilet and the flush was up high, plus tap hard to turn off in sink. However didn't interfere with our enjoyment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor. We always appreciate guest feedback in any form as it allows us to review the hotel and make any necessary changes to move the hotel forward in the right direction.

We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and our great location in the prestigious Brindley Place. Surrounded by bars and restaurants, and close to all the great shopping and attractions that the city has to offer, we believe that we are extremely well situated for all guests and hope that you agree.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

First time staying here (we often stay overnight in Brum for a treat - so have tried a few places). We asked for a quiet room and were given quiet room on 7th floor. Reception staff courteous and welcoming (want to point this out as often hotel reception staff seem to view guests as inconveniences and so I appreciate good service when I do come across it). Was very impressed by room. v clean, smart and well designed. v good to have a fridge (most hotels - Holiday Inn/Travelodge/Jury's - that we have stayed in in Brum don't have them in rooms - if I remember rightly!). Apple Mac computer/TV and keyboard in room. Wifi v easy to connect to. good bathroom, comfy bed. Super location - really really handy - just off Broad street in much nicer Brindley Place and by Oozells Sq... handy to be able to nip to Sainsbury's or Spar - both v close.
We would defo stay here again whenever we find a good deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minnieha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your great comments about our hotel. At Hilton Garden Inn we aim to exceed guest expectations so we are really pleased that you had an enjoyable experience.

Next time you stay with us you should treat yourself to one of our signature cocktails that we offer in Brindley Lounge, or have a tasty bite to eat in our contemporary City Café restaurant.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The brilliant reception staff here saved the hotel from getting a dire review. They were so helpful and friendly that despite an almost disastrous stay I would happily return.
I arrived on a Friday evening after an horrific 4 hour drive from Surrey.
I was checked in promptly but when I went up to my room I had been given the key to an unmade room! Not the best start.
I rang reception who came up with a key to another room and gave me some drinks vouchers to apologise.
The room are small but well furnished and very clean and modern. There was a fridge , safe wardrobe and plenty of drawers.
My only gripe is that the TV is via an Apple Mac so the screen is quite small and difficult to see when lying in bed. It is also quite slow to respond and some people may think it is complicated to use. Like all computers it can stop completely as it did at 10 pm!
However a very pleasant young man, I believe called Paul, came to the rescue and managed to reboot it and get it going again.
He also said he would fix my heating controls which were not working and the room was like an oven. As he had promised the green light came on about 20 mins later and the control kicked in.
The website states that the rooms have air conditioning, this is NOT the case, the heating/cooling is centrally controlled and you can only alter it by 2 degrees each way. Despite my setting being on the coolest the room was still far too hot and the window is virtually impossible to open and would have been too noisy.
Beds are quite comfortable, pillows could be improved but I have had worse.
The bathroom is tiny but has a decent shower. The towels are excellent, large bath towel and the small towel large enough for a turban when you have washed your hair. Magnifying mirror for make up too, well done Hilton, a gold star for those things.
Breakfast was reasonable, fairly limited choice but good quality.
Location is excellent.
Meal from room service was very good, but there was a mix up about my drinks vouchers. When I ordered the meal they said I could use the vouchers for a glass of wine but when it arrived they had charged me for it! I did manage to get it sorted the next morning.
Parking in their car park is very secure but expensive at £12.50
The wonderful staff saved the day and I would particularly like to mention Paul and the lovely girl who checked me out on Sat morning, they are all a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelnutBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback which I will share with the rest of the team today. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and hope that you were able to take advantage of some of our great facilities while you were here such as our complimentary wifi and 24 hour pantry service.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here as we were going to the NIA. The hotel is in Brindley Place, where there are lots of bars and restaurants. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the bullring, via the canal path then through the Mail box. The NIA and the ICC are both close by. This hotel was very nice and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback which I will share with the rest of the team today. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and hope that you were able to take advantage of some of our great facilities while you were here such as our complimentary wifi and 24 hour pantry service.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Address: 1 Brunswick Square, Birmingham B1 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish hotel in Birmingham City Centre Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace is ideally located in the Brindleyplace Development, home of great leisure, dining and entertainment venues. This Birmingham hotel is one of the closest hotels to the Barclaycard Arena and is only five minutes' walk from the International Convention Centre and the Symphony Hall. Settle in to an inviting guest room with a range of amenities for work and relaxation. Watch the 42-inch HDTV and keep in touch with complimentary WiFi. Prepare for a busy day with a delicious breakfast - choose from our extensive buffet and cooked-to-order eggs to accompany our homemade American waffles. Perfect for a relaxing meal, City Café also serves internationally inspired cuisine for lunch and dinner. Unwind after a busy day over cocktails at Brindley Lounge or pick up snacks, drinks, and travel essentials at the Pavilion Pantry. It's easy to maintain your exercise regimen with our complimentary fitness centre. Host a meeting or social event for up to 120 guests in our flexible meeting space. Our dedicated team will help plan your event and arrange tempting onsite catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace Hotel Birmingham
City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham City Hotel
City Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing