We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotter than the sun” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ranked #25 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Northants
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Hotter than the sun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a trip to the NIA. Before we arrived we rang to find out where we could park and were told the car park was full. Almost as an afterthought the girl on the phone said, "oh, but you can park in the multi storey next to the hotel at the same rate." Amazing.

Upon arrival were greeted by a surly receptionist. Aimee? Why some people choose to go into the service industry is beyond me. Maybe she was having a bad day/week/life.

Room was ok, pretty small and with a lovely view of some houses and a road. But we are in the centre of Birmingham so it could be worse.

We made the mistake of thinking we had turned on the air con when we went out. When we came back after a night out, the room was hotter than a footballers armpit after 90 minutes. No amount of button switching and knob twisting would make cold air come out. We ended up turning it down as much as possible and opening the window. Mistake. When we sobered up and read the poster in the morning it informed us that cooling was not available in March.

The Apple TV thing in the room looked quite cool but the remote ended up annoying me and I kept losing it in the bed.

Would probably not stay here again as it's a bit generic although if I wanted a quick sweat weight loss treatment I might come back. But only if Aimi was on reception.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank K8NSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    1,014
    348
    133
    55
See reviews for
168
950
140
771
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I'm writing this review from the hotel at 5.30am and can honestly say that i've had no sleep whatsoever. This is for two reasons:
a) this is possibly the hardest bed (room 729) I have ever attempted to sleep in. I now ache in places I didn't even know I had. Its safe to say I would have done just as well trying to sleep on the pavement outside FOC (trust me i've tried the floor at certain points during the night and theres very little difference to the bed)
b) The room is so hot and yet the air con advertised is not available between November and March??? I don't recall seeing that specified in the details. I quote "floor to ceiling windows, comfort cooling and in-room safes".We were on a quiet side of the hotel on the 7th floor and when the window was opened to let in some air the noise outside was really bad, however when shut you couldn't hear it at all so if you are going to come to this hotel I would recommend a high floor between Apr and Oct when you can keep the window shut.
It is now our intention to go straight home to sleep rather than spend the day exploring Birmingham as originally planned, which is a shame as we don't get much time kid free.
In the interests of fairness, good points are that the location is great for the NIA and the room is clean.

Room Tip: Comfort Cooling is not operational between Apr-Oct. Room 729 has a bed as hard as the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowdonia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

After several visits I'm still really impressed with this hotel. Its peaceful, clean and well located. Food is good. Rooms a bit on the small side, but that's a small criticism given the price. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived early at this hotel and as our room wasn't quite ready we had a meal in a local restaurant.

Firstly when we booked in we were given a choice of parking either under the hotel or at the local Q park. We opted for under the hotel at a cost of £12.50 per night which we thought was excellent price.

Our room was on the 6th floor, exceptionally clean, small but adequate for a one night stay.

The room was modern and everything worked ie tv, iron etc. The bathroom was on the small size but again adequate for a one night stay.

The reception lady was very helpful and friendly and we had a good chat about why we were in birmingham ie a concert.

This hotel is in an excellent location for ICC and in walkable distance. In fact we have re booked as we have another concert to attend.

We normally stay in luxurious hotels and originally wanted to stay at the Hyatt but we couldn't book a room so we opted for the Hilton and we were pleasantly surprised. We think it was better than the Hilton Metropole that we have stayed at before for a concert at the LG Arena.

Our only negative was the noise from outside at 2am shouting and screaming etc but we shut our window and we couldn't hear it. You can't blame the hotel for noise outside !!

We would recommend and return.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenBateman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel and will certainly return when next on business in bham. Located in vibrant brindleyplace, a ten min walk from new st station, this hotel is relaxing, super clean and has a few things over the other same priced brands. Free newspapers inc FT and free copies of red magazine in reception. Free, huge, wrapped cookies on check in desk. Lovely Neutrogena branded bathroom goodies, highest level of cleanliness, imac in room with keyboard tucked away in drawer..loved this esp. coupled with fast free wifi, floor to ceiling windows flooding your room with natural light, super helpful staff...taxi booked...luggage held, large breakfast selection including omelette station and waffle maker.
The location is superb, a 5 minute maximum walk to Oozells Sq. where you can dine at quality Italians Cielo and Piccolino.
My only negatives would be very small bathrooms and buffet items at breakfast luke warm however the pros certainly outweigh the cons and I will be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeystar861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

After waiting 30 minutes for my meal, a completely different meal than that ordered arrived. This was sent back and a still incorrect and cold meal arrived, 3 hours after first ordering! The bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable and the check-in receptionist was miserable and rude. Not a good experience at all - shame for the Hilton chain.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

11 of us stayed here on a Saturday night. The welcome was superb, even tho Curt was really busy dealing with a wedding party, he was polite and helpful. Our rooms were all spotless, very comfy bed, and a really good hairdrier, which is not normally the case in a hotel.
In the morning at breakfast we met Sunny, he was so friendly and chatty, he even organised for all 11 of us to sit together, what a diamond. The staff are a credit to the hotel. We would definatly stay here again and would reccomend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sn-jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback which I will share with the rest of the team today. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and hope that you were able to take advantage of some of our great facilities while you were here such as our complimentary wifi and 24 hour pantry service.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#40 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Address: 1 Brunswick Square, Birmingham B1 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish hotel in Birmingham City Centre Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace is ideally located in the Brindleyplace Development, home of great leisure, dining and entertainment venues. This Birmingham hotel is one of the closest hotels to the Barclaycard Arena and is only five minutes' walk from the International Convention Centre and the Symphony Hall. Settle in to an inviting guest room with a range of amenities for work and relaxation. Watch the 42-inch HDTV and keep in touch with complimentary WiFi. Prepare for a busy day with a delicious breakfast - choose from our extensive buffet and cooked-to-order eggs to accompany our homemade American waffles. Perfect for a relaxing meal, City Café also serves internationally inspired cuisine for lunch and dinner. Unwind after a busy day over cocktails at Brindley Lounge or pick up snacks, drinks, and travel essentials at the Pavilion Pantry. It's easy to maintain your exercise regimen with our complimentary fitness centre. Host a meeting or social event for up to 120 guests in our flexible meeting space. Our dedicated team will help plan your event and arrange tempting onsite catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace Hotel Birmingham
City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham City Hotel
City Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing