We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location still happy after return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ranked #23 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel previously and we will again. Brilliant location for shopping, dining, partying, sight seeing etc....

As you would expect from a Hilton it was well set out, very clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful.

One issue we always face with Hilton hotels (not just this one) is if you stay more than 1 night the key card re-sets and you can't access your room. We were told to keep away from credit cards, phones etc which is hard in this day and age but we did this and it still wiped itself after 24 hrs.

Back to the hotel though as I said we have stayed before and will again so it's safe to say I would definitely recommend :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loula_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,394 - 1,400 of 2,730 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent facilities all-round: and very helpful, friendly and efficient staff - especially in the bar and dining areas. This hotel is perfectly placed for business and relaxation in the heart of a great city. Have stayed here before and will do so again. There was some external noise on saturday - but it was only young people having a night out and not a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Louis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Attended a show at the NIA and booked hotel due to its proximity to the venue. As scored above the hotel was clean, modern and well positioned in the pedestrianised Brindley Place with restaurants etc.
One disappointing element was on returning after the show at 10.15pm with my elderly mum, being told that the bar area was closed and drinks could be purchased at the vending machine in hotel reception.
Breakfast was self service with an good selection of hot and cold items.
The staff we met were helpful but the overall feeling of the hotel was quite cold and impersonal. A bit disappointing as this was a treat for my mum.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

What impressed me most about this hotel was the service. All staff who dealt with us, including a waiter at breakfast time who took the trouble to move us to a table with more light, we're very friendly and made us feel most welcome. The room was clean and had all amenities we needed. The buffet breakfast had a good selection to choose from. And finally, the location of the hotel is great for the bars/ eateries in brindley place.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sabina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for five nights recently and for the first four days we were pretty satisfied.The staff we encountered were friendly and efficient.The only small gripe was that at breakfast one is served with tea or coffee from thermos flasks,rather stewed and difficult to get a second cup.
However,on our last night we arrived back just after 10pm and fancied a nightcap but were told the bar was closed as it was a Bank holiday but if you wished you could get a drink from some sort of vending machine.
We asked to talk with the duty manager who said that this was the way things were so that was that.We said that we might think twice before returning and he said "fair enough" and left.

If this is the level of training given to Hilton managers then something is sadly lacking,especially as we were part of a much larger group of probably around 100 persons.

As far as I am concerned he has soured the good name of Hilton and in future my business will go to IHG.

Room Tip: If you would like a drink after 10pm on a Sunday or Bank holiday then go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback which allows us to make any necessary changes to the hotel in order to move the business forward. Please accept our apologies for your disappointment and rest assured that your comments have been taken seriously and shared with the team.

We hope that you had a safe journey and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel has a great location, the room I stayed in was large and clean, and had the bonus of a mini fridge. The only downside was that I had to pay for parking which would stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank olivened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights with an excellent experience as staff were friendly and very helpful! The rooms are spacious with free wifi, Apple tv, toiletries and clean linen. Would definitely stay here again! Excellent location for ICC, city centre and Brindley Place.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola U, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your great comments about our hotel. At Hilton Garden Inn we aim to exceed guest expectations so we are really pleased that you had an enjoyable experience.

Next time you stay with us you should treat yourself to one of our signature cocktails that we offer in Brindley Lounge, or have a tasty bite to eat in our contemporary City Café restaurant.

Kind regards

Nicola Underhill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,017 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,146 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
1,471 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,506 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Address: 1 Brunswick Square, Birmingham B1 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £64 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish hotel in Birmingham City Centre Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace is ideally located in the Brindleyplace Development, home of great leisure, dining and entertainment venues. This Birmingham hotel is one of the closest hotels to the Barclaycard Arena and is only five minutes' walk from the International Convention Centre and the Symphony Hall. Settle in to an inviting guest room with a range of amenities for work and relaxation. Watch the 42-inch HDTV and keep in touch with complimentary WiFi. Recess,You will discover fantastic food, coffee, cocktails and everything in-between. space to eat, drink, and meet in whatever way you wish, day through to night. Our Pavilion Pantry is perfect for picking up light snacks and drinks for your bedroom, 24hrs a day. It's easy to maintain your exercise regimen with our complimentary fitness centre. Host a meeting or social event for up to 120 guests in our flexible meeting space. Our dedicated team will help plan your event and arrange tempting onsite catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace Hotel Birmingham
City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham City Hotel
City Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing