We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, overall best I've stayed in in Brum.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ranked #23 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Room lovely, location excellent, breakfast (we had room service) was fantastic, excellent value, great service, great price.

Only problem......though no fault of the hotel. Inconsiderate fellow guest, smoking in a non smoking room triggered fire alarms twice at 2.30am!!! Fool.

City Inn....top tip: when checking people in state the obvious....no smoking in a non smoking room as the alarms are sensitive.

Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,693)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,395 - 2,401 of 2,693 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2009

Stayed on Saturday night . Hotel very smart , front desk staff very helpful .
Room has eveything that you need , but a bit small especially the bathroom . Hot water very temperamental and not particularly hot .
Breakfast service very attentive , wonderful selection for the continental breakfast .
Selected the English breakfast , good variety , but it would have been better if it was hot . Scrambled eggs were cold as was the bacon .
A pity , but it seems to be a regular complaint for this hotel .

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Driftwood54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

My only negative comment about the City Inn Birmingham is that it is not as smart as the City Inn in Manchester - it is starting to look a little dated and tired. Having said that I would stay here again without hesitation. Great location & rooms. Good restaurant but also very close to many other city centre restaurants if you choose to eat out. Very good breakfast. Great for Symphony Hall, the Town Hall, CBSO Centre and Broad Street.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

The location for concerts/shops is great, and the reception staff were friendly and efficient.

Room was large, comfortable, and loved the power shower and The White Company shampoos etc. The satellite TV kept "freezing" so a bit of a disappointment.

Pleasantly surprised to find a disco in the bar when we returned from our concert, and had a great time. The bar staff were excellent.

However, breakfast was a huge disappointment. Having been forwarned that they were busy that week-end (notices in lifts suggesting best times to go for breakfast), we arrived at 08.30. We were seated quickly, and the decor and chairs were very good. Staff were not attentive. We had to wait 30 minutes for toast (after asking 3 times) and when it did arrive, was only one slice (halved), and no-one came to remove our used crockery. Hot food was cold, no condiments available, and requests for some-one to clear the table was ignored. We ended up with rather a large stack of bowls/plates etc.

The waiting staff were rude and had an attitude of "couldn 't care less". As the hotel obviously knew that they had a busy week-end ahead of them, then I do feel that they shoud have organised things a lot more efficiently.

Great hotel let down by its' restaurant staff.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

The room was clean and modern if a little small but we were fairly happy until we went for breakfast. We were told it was busy and there was a wait for breakfast and directed to the bar where coffee, juice and pastries were being served. There were no pastries and no cups to drink coffee from. After half an hour wait with no coffee we were directed to a table and given a menu, after another 20 minutes I asked a waiter to take my breafast order and for coffee. There is a hot breakfast to order and a continental buffet. The buffet had run out of most food including all bread and pastries, we chose some fruit and a yoghurt but had no spoon, cutlery or napkin on our table. I had to go and find another waitress and get these myself. The breakfast arrived after nearly an hour and it was cold and had been sitting under a heater for a while. My partner had a kipper which was inedible. I found another waitress and asked for a refill of coffee and as she poured it, I could see it was very weak, on closer inspection it was tea. I pointed out this was tea not coffee and the waitress argued with me! After a while, she admitted it was tea but said nobody else had complained. The list of things wrong was endless and the worst of it was that the whole thing wasted most of our morning in Birmingham! We mentioned this at check out and I was told to write my complaint on the back of a compliment slip and leave my name and address. Needless to say, we have heard nothing back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonHelenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

The rooms, the breakfast room, the whole hotel was very nice, fresh, airy and clean.

The personnel were quite friendly, although some were a bit unhelpful.

The parking is very expensive - and I could only pre-book it because I kicked up a fuss, due to the fact that I need to park close as I am disabled.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJJMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We stayed at the City Inn on a Saturday night. When we arrived the lobby area was busy but we were checked in within 5 mins by a friendly and informative receptionist. The lifts were not working due to a fire alarm so we had to walk up to the 7th floor! But to be fair they were fixed fairly quickly.

Our room was very clean, not huge but big enough for a one night stay. The bathroom was pretty small really, but functional. There isn't much I can add which hasn't already been said. It was well designed and had everything we needed.

The location is absolutely ideal for a night out in Brum, just a few mins walk from Brindley Place, the canal area and Broad Street. However, because of this I would imagine it is possible that the hotel could be noisy at times. We didn't have any problem at all, but we did see a large hen party heading out on the town and I was relieved they weren't in rooms near us when they got back!

Breakfast was very good, we ordered a cooked breakfast and it arrived just as we finished our fruit from the cold buffet. It was piping hot and nicely cooked. The staff were attentive, my only comment would be that you have to ask each time you want a tea or coffee refill. I'd prefer a teapot or cafetiere, but it was fairly easy to find someone to ask for a top up.

I would definitely recommend the City Inn for good value (we paid £79 inc breakfast). I would just say be aware that is a busy hotel with mainly younger guests, however this caused us no problems at all and we would definitely go back.

We ate at the City Inn restaurant which I would also recommend and I will review separately.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
3,925 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#41 of 118 in Birmingham
1,461 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Address: 1 Brunswick Square, Birmingham B1 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £63 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish hotel in Birmingham City Centre Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace is ideally located in the Brindleyplace Development, home of great leisure, dining and entertainment venues. This Birmingham hotel is one of the closest hotels to the Barclaycard Arena and is only five minutes' walk from the International Convention Centre and the Symphony Hall. Settle in to an inviting guest room with a range of amenities for work and relaxation. Watch the 42-inch HDTV and keep in touch with complimentary WiFi. Recess,You will discover fantastic food, coffee, cocktails and everything in-between. space to eat, drink, and meet in whatever way you wish, day through to night. Our Pavilion Pantry is perfect for picking up light snacks and drinks for your bedroom, 24hrs a day. It's easy to maintain your exercise regimen with our complimentary fitness centre. Host a meeting or social event for up to 120 guests in our flexible meeting space. Our dedicated team will help plan your event and arrange tempting onsite catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace Hotel Birmingham
City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham City Hotel
City Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing