We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, central, modern, with friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 4 January 2010

oh! and apparently ALL rooms also have an iMac and free wifi.. mine certainly did!

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank rainwaterfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,538 - 2,544 of 2,843 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2010

This hotel is trying to be something it's not. It would like to be a chic boutique hotel but in reality it is a (slightly) nicer version of a Travelodge. Nice touches with the Apple Mac in the room but why do this and yet provide an uncomfortable bed and poor linen? And why such useless staff? Once being seated in the restaurant it was at least 20mins before anyone returned to me to ask if I wanted a drink or to order - and in that time I was ignored by them as I tried to attract their attention. Also, having Slade's Merry Christmas at full tilt in the restaurant did nothing to help my digestion!

Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
2  Thank Fretter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We book a match break (football + tickets) for 2 nights. When we arrived, the reception manager explain us that for the first night there was overbooking. For this reason, the hotel moves us to another hotel of the same group (Jury's Inn). For this reason, the hotel paid us the taxi, a drink paid in City Inn's bar and a basket with different kind of fruits red wine and a expensive bottle of water. The breakfast was realy good! A lot of food to enjoy the breaksfast. The room was small equiped with a Mac (TV + computer) with Internet, there was free-wifi and the hotel employees were friendly! If you park in the prking close to the hotel, they give you a discount cupon.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clash-NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We have stayed at the City Inn on a number of occasions and I'm afraid to say that on this occasion, standards appear to be slipping. Whilst the service we received at reception, both on check in and check out was excellent and the service at the bar was very good, there were a number of issues which would probably stop us staying here again.

The first was the heating in the room. We visited during a typical December and were unable to get the room warm unless we had the aircon running at full tilt - which was too noisy for sleeping. There are no room radiators!

Secondly, on return from a concert at Symphony Hall at just gone 10pm, the bar was shut! How can this be in a city centre hotel and at this time of night?

The third problem was with the noise levels in the hotel. The rooms do not appear to be sound proofed and the pre/post Broad Street visitors excursion noise from adjoining rooms both kept us awake and woke us up on their return.

All in all this is a reasonably comfortable hotel in an excellent location, but care needs to be taken by the management to ensure that the service/facilities required by customers is up to scratch.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Make_It_A_Large_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Room lovely, location excellent, breakfast (we had room service) was fantastic, excellent value, great service, great price.

Only problem......though no fault of the hotel. Inconsiderate fellow guest, smoking in a non smoking room triggered fire alarms twice at 2.30am!!! Fool.

City Inn....top tip: when checking people in state the obvious....no smoking in a non smoking room as the alarms are sensitive.

Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Stayed on Saturday night . Hotel very smart , front desk staff very helpful .
Room has eveything that you need , but a bit small especially the bathroom . Hot water very temperamental and not particularly hot .
Breakfast service very attentive , wonderful selection for the continental breakfast .
Selected the English breakfast , good variety , but it would have been better if it was hot . Scrambled eggs were cold as was the bacon .
A pity , but it seems to be a regular complaint for this hotel .

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Driftwood54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

My only negative comment about the City Inn Birmingham is that it is not as smart as the City Inn in Manchester - it is starting to look a little dated and tired. Having said that I would stay here again without hesitation. Great location & rooms. Good restaurant but also very close to many other city centre restaurants if you choose to eat out. Very good breakfast. Great for Symphony Hall, the Town Hall, CBSO Centre and Broad Street.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuvoloso18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,334 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
1,004 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,583 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Address: 1 Brunswick Square, Birmingham B1 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £63 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish hotel in Birmingham City Centre Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace is ideally located in the Brindleyplace Development, home of great leisure, dining and entertainment venues. This Birmingham hotel is one of the closest hotels to the Barclaycard Arena and is only five minutes' walk from the International Convention Centre and the Symphony Hall. Settle in to an inviting guest room with a range of amenities for work and relaxation. Watch the 42-inch HDTV and keep in touch with complimentary WiFi. Recess,You will discover fantastic food, coffee, cocktails and everything in-between. space to eat, drink, and meet in whatever way you wish, day through to night. Our Pavilion Pantry is perfect for picking up light snacks and drinks for your bedroom, 24hrs a day. It's easy to maintain your exercise regimen with our complimentary fitness centre. Host a meeting or social event for up to 120 guests in our flexible meeting space. Our dedicated team will help plan your event and arrange tempting onsite catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace Hotel Birmingham
City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham City Hotel
City Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing