We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice style, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London
1 review
“Nice style, great value”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Exceptionally good hotel, very modestly priced, for the business traveller. Very friendly welcome; simple but elegant contemporary design to the rooms. The Apple-Mac for tv and the net is a great touch. Good breakfast. Very convenient for convention centre and a plenitude of good restaurants. Couldn't ask for more.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mickwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    1,049
    372
    140
    58
See reviews for
173
994
145
803
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I stayed here as part of a two night trip to Birmingham. The first night was spent in a terrible hotel plus I had stayed in Manchester's City Inn in 2008 and liked it so I knew that it would take a lot for me not to enjoy my night at this hotel.

The staff are friendly, the breakfast is good, the rooms are immaculate. The beds are comfortable. The shower is fantastic. Location wise, it is surrounded by places to eat and shop. It is no more than a five minute walk - in a straight line too - from the ICC.

I found myself torn between wanting to spend time in my room relaxing and being out and about in Birmingham.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenguinPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

This is the first time I have stayed at a top 5 hotel listed on tripadvisor for a city trip and been badly disappointed. I stay in hotels a lot, on average 7 nights away a month and have stayed in city inns before, they are usually fine but this will be my last time.

Upon arrival member of staff didn't seem to be very happy, no smile or greeting and he asked me the same couple of questions twice over - obviously wasn't listening to me.

Got to the room and its small, very small with a tiny bathroom but clean and nicely laid out. its not fantastic but its okay.

Later that night I took a shower before bed and the shower head fell off the shower. Okay it happens, easily fixed in the morning but the shower couldn't hold temperature it got cold quickly then back to tepid - must be a problem with the unit and I reported it next morning after breakfast and asked them to look at it.

Breakfast was disappointing. I ordered scrambled eggs and bacon - I got one rasher of bacon and scrambled eggs that measured exactly a spoonful and was very dry. Frankly premier inn do it better and at half the price.

Went out for the day came back they couldn't fix my shower and offered me another room - took it, had a shower and again and the same problem with the shower, it didn't stay hot.

Went and spoke to reception, apparently when the hotel is full it can take five minutes or so for the water to reheat when it runs out.

While I went out to dinner the operations manager looked at it and left me a bottle of wine as an apology. thats nice but when your paying over £125 a night for bed and breakfast its not really acceptable to have a rotten shower and breakfast !

All in all ,I cannot understand how this hotel deserves its rating if this is one of the best in Birmingham then something is truly wrong. I expect three things from a hotel a decent bed, a shower and a nice breakfast. On two of these this hotel failed. AVOID!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcdocklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

I often stop at this hotel, but haven't actually put review in until now. I usually only put reviews in for hotels which fail to meet good standards, and so by the fact that I've never complained about this one, it means it's fine, and so I thoguht that on balance i should put some good reviews in for hotels who have done well.

The rooms are comfortable, standard size, modern clean bathrooms (though a little on the small side) but only have a shower, no bath. Nice "White" range of toiletries too.

The rooms are clean, modern, and have an TV with built in DVD player. We sometimes take our own films to watch or you can borrow some complementary films from reception too. Just a word of caution though, they are "Mac's" and so for people who like me aren't familiar with them, I'd suggest you get someone to show you the controls. The first time we stayed there we didn't know how to eject the DVD as there were no buttons on it or the remote, the 2nd time we couldn't find the power switch and thought it was broken. And the 3rd time there was a glitch and it has to be restarted, but these are just minor things mainly brough about because I'm not a Mac user.

I like a few of the little touches like the fact that you get wine glasses and tumblers in the room as opposed to many that just give you you tumblers in the bathroom! The other thing I've noticed here time & time again is that you DON'T get disturbed by guests in other rooms, they seem to be well sound proofed.

All in all I like this hotel, and will be stopping there again at the end of this month.

The only down side to this hotel is that it can sometimes be very pricey, and sometimes they offer good rates. When it's pricey i stop elsewhere, when it's a reasonable rate I choose to stay here. It may be a supply & demand thing, I don't know, but sometimes saturday nights here are cheap and sometimes very expensive.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisHNearBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Just ok - much like a premier inn but with an Apple tv. Tiny rooms with even tinier bathrooms! A plus is the location which means all the attractions are within walking distance. Parking is £12 for 24 hours which is fairly typical of inner city hotels. The service at this hotel is fairly awful though - evening meal was a shambles with a lot of young in-experienced waiting staff - breakfast was even worse - you are crammed in to tables so tightly that you can't really get up to the buffet, you get no tea unless you ask about 5 times and the food is average at best.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecMat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Good location in city centre of Birmingham.

Rooms of the consistent City Inn brand quality (exactly what you want!), reception staff helpful & efficient, room service excellent.

As with other City Inns you can expect a very clean, well designed room, with an iMAC (means you can browse the internet as well as watch TV / watch DVDs / play CDs / listen to radio), a hairdryer, iron & ironing board, adjustable aircon, a minibar/fridge, a table/chair as well as a desk to work at. Bed 2 single mattresses attached together but comfortable &"feels clean" with decent white cotton bedlinen. Bathroom spotless with a great power shower.

Have used room service in this and other City Inns and the quality of service as well as quality of food was excellent and well presented.

Didn't dine in restuarant here but menu seemed the same as other City Inns (good range of dishes).

A good hotel - only "gripe" was the high price (as was found all over Birmingham that week since there were lots of conferences on in the City and price seemed inflated compared to other City Inns) - £150 for B & B.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midgemagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Rooms sizeable, small bathroom.

A/C could not be adjusted properly so melted overnight.

Tends to fill up with club goers at weekends, so was a little noisy at one point - however, hotel acted promptly and sorted it with the guests in question.

Would definately stay again - great location and good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuppetandDoughnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,666 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#39 of 117 in Birmingham
1,424 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,389 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Address: 1 Brunswick Square, Birmingham B1 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish hotel in Birmingham City Centre Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace is ideally located in the Brindleyplace Development, home of great leisure, dining and entertainment venues. This Birmingham hotel is one of the closest hotels to the Barclaycard Arena and is only five minutes' walk from the International Convention Centre and the Symphony Hall. Settle in to an inviting guest room with a range of amenities for work and relaxation. Watch the 42-inch HDTV and keep in touch with complimentary WiFi. Recess,You will discover fantastic food, coffee, cocktails and everything in-between. space to eat, drink, and meet in whatever way you wish, day through to night. Our Pavilion Pantry is perfect for picking up light snacks and drinks for your bedroom, 24hrs a day. It's easy to maintain your exercise regimen with our complimentary fitness centre. Host a meeting or social event for up to 120 guests in our flexible meeting space. Our dedicated team will help plan your event and arrange tempting onsite catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace Hotel Birmingham
City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham City Hotel
City Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing