We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over for drunks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jurys Inn Birmingham
Ranked #21 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stop over for drunks”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We arrived on the 21st december 2012, just before Christmas we pre-booked a double room for 2 nights so we can visit the city. The Location was excellent, close to the Bullring and Sar city. Parking was expenseive, £14 for 24hrs. They allow parking for all public, I feel they should give a discount to guests staying at the hotel.
Now the room..........
It felt like they gave us the smallest room in the hotel. It was a disbaled room where the air conditioning did not work. As there is no room service I had to go to reception to complain about the airconditioning. This was necessary in the room as the windows do not open and the size of the room was very small. As I was leaving the room to go to reception, there was a drunk man passed out on the corridor of our floor!! The reason for this is the hotel is located at the heart of all the clubs and bars. People reserve a room prior to going out for a drink. After a night of drinking and partying they all end up at Jury Inn, some manage to reach there room, others passout on there way to the room, hence what happened in our situtaion. Once i reached reception after walking over the drunk guy, they informed me that all hotel rooms are the same size and cant be moved (after seeing guests pics of rooms on this website, he was obviously lying to me), even when i offered to pay more for an upgrade, They did however fix the A/C which temporarly worked for one night, only to stop again the next night. Then to make it worst we heard loud noises in the hallway all night as all the clubbers were going to there rooms.

Very different to the Jury Inn i stayed at Croydon, which was the completely opposite to this.

Overall very dissapointed.
Overall, we could not have been happier to leave when we did, it was definatly not what we expected. It is definatly not suited for couples who want a peaceful, nice spacious room

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papaniel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    1,450
    627
    199
    157
See reviews for
579
1,023
123
1,180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Had a lovely 2 night stay with friends over Christmas 2 double rooms,everything was excellent and nothing too much trouble for the staff.breakfast was good and plentiful,rooms were great with a good view,would definitely use again,Thank you Mr& Mrs B Meacham

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JurysBirminghamMgmt, Manager at Jurys Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Meacham

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the rest of our team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Niall Mitchell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

stayed for one night when we went to the Birmingham Tattoo with Jewels Travel of Gravesend
had a very nice evening meal the room was extreamly comfortable and breakfast could not be faulted, friendly and helpfull staff,will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

stayed here for 2 nights in November with a mate. Location was fab, in Broad St with all its bars and clubs and a very short walk to Brindley Place for its restaurants, and the NIA.
Room was very spacious with 2 double beds and was clean and comfortable. ours was on the 3rd floor which meant a lovely view of a multi-storey carpark! try to get a room on a higher floor for a nice city view!
the walls are quite thin too. could hear the people in the next room quite clearly!
Staff were ok. receptionist was efficient if not that friendly but the bar/restaurant staff were good. had a snack in restaurant which was quite pricey but there was plenty of it so not bad at all. Breakfast was ok but needed more staff as was really busy! had to ask for plates and butter etc. layout was weird too... all plates and bowls in one place. logic tells me to put bowls next to cereals and plates next to the toaster (save me wandering around with hot toast trying to find one!)
i would stay here again if i got a good price again (£71 a night) mainly because the location is excellent.

Room Tip: try to get a room higher up to get a decent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of times. The bedrooms are good quality with good views over the city. Breakfast is good. Near NIA so ideal for going to concerts, and lots of restaurants on Broad Street. Also near Tesco for cheap evening snacks! Only odd thing is the noise the hotel makes. Think its the plumbing but it sounds like an underground train!

Helpful?
Thank Glennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cannock
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The hotel was very clean comfortable and staff at desk friendly Location was good we went for Xmas market. Our meals were cooked but presentation of steak and chips with a quater of a head of lettuce plonked on the plate looked similar to kids from a nursery were playing house.Left you thinking how had it been washed and put back together again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2012

excellent location walking distance to concert venue. adjacent secure car park. very reasonable b&b price. good choice of food for breakfast. did not try the restaurant as many and varied eateries close by.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MADELEINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,972 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,410 reviews
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,437 reviews
Ladywood
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Birmingham

Property: Jurys Inn Birmingham
Address: 245 Broad St, Birmingham B1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#31 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jurys Inn Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Birmingham is located on Broad Street in the middle of Birmingham city centre. The hotel is in close proximity (4 minute walk) to the International Convention Centre (ICC) and the National Indoor Arena (NIA), as well as a short train ride to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC). The hotel is conveniently close to Birmingham New Street (10 min walk) and other transport links making it ideal for business guests. Jurys Inn Birmingham features all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car the hotel offers onsite paid car parking with 200 spaces available. The hotel has 445 spacious, comfortable bedrooms suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi throughout. Guests who book direct can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Birmingham at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Jurys Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing