We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Jury is out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jurys Inn Birmingham
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“the Jury is out”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Most hotels in Birmingham were booked and Jurys was cheaper than most but you have to pay to park, to use the internet (no WiFI) and breakfast was extra.

Because of check in delays (?) we were told that we were being upgraded to a larger room with a bigger bed. Sounded good except that the room was the furthest from the Guest Lifts and RIGHT BY the Service Lift which was were noisy.

Avoid room 30 on each floor unless you are planning on reading all night!

Room Tip: try to get a room starting with 1 or 2 (ie 11 , 23 etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Manager at Jurys Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Robert H,

Thank you for your review following on from your stay with us at Jurys Inn Birmingham. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay due to lift noise.

We have recently completed alot of work on lifts and the noise levels have reduced.

I would like to have the opportunity to discuss this with you further, If you would like to discuss this further please contact me directly.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Melissa

melissa_shan@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    1,384
    610
    192
    150
See reviews for
557
979
119
1,133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stopped here on Friday 6th December to go to my annual works party. Booked a few months ago so only paid £47 which was great value especially as we were upgraded FOC at check in. View from 16th Floor was amazing and Joe on reception was vey helpful. Didn't use the breakfast facilities etc but would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for 16th Floor, end room would have been just spectacular I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamworthTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

£139 for a twin room with breakfast is enough to pay and I had booked this room for a special occasion and did expect more especially having just stayed at a Hilton hotel which had so many extras for the £68 (no breakfast), no biscuits, choice of teas, dressing gowns or nice toiletries at Jury Inn! The location was great and as we were on the 11th floor we didn't hear street noise but there were strange noises during the night, almost if the room was sighing, most odd, perhaps it was a distant lift? I did find that I was cold especially the bathroom, definitely lacking a heated towel rail. There were instructions on operating the air con and heating but they didn't make sense to me and yes, I should have rung reception and asked for help but it was late and I was cold and tired at the end of a long day. I did mention this when I checked out and although I just commented when asked how my stay had been I found the receptionists response to be extremely satisfactory, couldn't fault the customer service at that point and that meant a lot to me. I am sorry I din't get her name so I could praise her here.
I found the tea and coffee tray rather mean with just 4 tea bags and 4 tiny milk pots. It was clean but basic, just like a Premier Inn but with a smaller room so despite being city centre I didn't feel it was good value. Comfy beds with a 'pillow menu'.
The car park was rather tired and the stair well from the roof top unpleasant. I found the stairs down - and back up - with luggage hard work. Check in was very busy on our arrival with the queue going back out the door. The staff worked as hard as they could and when it was our turn they were efficient and friendly enough. There are steps up to the reception desks but at the bottom of the steps there was an accessible desk and you could ring for service.
Breakfast was very busy but good value with cereals, fruits, breads, cheese, jam, juices, tea and coffee and a good selection of hot food. You could have as much as you like and things were being replenished frequently. The breakfast 'front of house' girl was very pleasant and smiley and explained where everything was and how the system worked. So good points certainly but just not, for me, best value for money...and my last gripe - if Motorway service stations and McDonalds and the like can offer free WiFi what on earth is a national business class hotel chain doing charging £5 and hour/ £10 for 24 hours for the internet? Makes me wild!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkiedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have stay at this hotel on a number of occasions and have found it to be pretty good however on this occasion my experience was terrible my room was flithy! stains on the bed sheets which i thought to be seamen! my bathroom skin had a massive crack in it which caused leaking. and to top it all of the lift was so loud it kept me up all night.

Room Tip: don't go there
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank blaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall M, Manager at Jurys Inn Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Blaine B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel in Birmingham.

I am extremely disappointed that you had such an unpleasant stay with us and encountered such issues. I am aware of the possible noise disturbance caused by our lifts although we have recently completed major noise reduction works. Cleanliness and hygiene is something that we pride ourselves on and strive to keep high standards throughout all of our rooms.

I would like to have the opportunity to discuss this in person with you.

If you would like to do so, please contact me directly and i will make arrangements to give you a call.

Kindest regards

Niall Mitchell
Deputy General Manager
niall_mitchell@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed here for 1 day as I had a business meeting first thing in the morning I got the hotel for under £70 as I had booked it on the day. The hotel is centrally located on Broad Street close to lots of decent restaurants. Check in was quick all the staff I encountered were more than helpful, the room a standard double was small but had everything that was needed and despite it being on a busy road my request for a higher floor room was received so I had a wonderful nights sleep. I did'nt use the restaurant as I went out to eat, however if you are looking for a cheap hotel in a central location this is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettysweetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here 30th November for one night, we were very surprised by the standard of this very busy city centre hotel, the staff we found to be brilliant, our room was on the 4th floor with two double beds,everywhere was clean and tidy with views over city centre, only fault was being too close to the service lift, very noisy late at night and early in the morning, but we would still return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christof247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in the best location right on broad street. The staff are friendly, checking in and out was hassle free. Breakfast was of a top standard and buffet style. Room was very spacious with all the amenities. I would recommend this hotel as it's good value for money.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shaz187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Birmingham

Property: Jurys Inn Birmingham
Address: 245 Broad St, Birmingham B1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#31 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jurys Inn Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Birmingham is located on Broad Street in the middle of Birmingham city centre. The hotel is in close proximity (4 minute walk) to the International Convention Centre (ICC) and the National Indoor Arena (NIA), as well as a short train ride to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC). The hotel is conveniently close to Birmingham New Street (10 min walk) and other transport links making it ideal for business guests. Jurys Inn Birmingham features all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car the hotel offers onsite paid car parking with 200 spaces available. The hotel has 445 spacious, comfortable bedrooms suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi throughout. Guests who book direct can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Birmingham at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Jurys Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing