We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“drunken revellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Birmingham
Ranked #99 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 3 December 2007

hotels location was a bit bleak, but only 15 min walk to town. The room was adequate rather than good, bath rather short, but clean enough. the main problem was the noise and lack of soundproofing. We could hear every word of the conversation in the next door bedroom and had to leave the telly on to give ourselves any privacy. after 11 the drunks started arriving back and slamming doors, shouting and partying.We called reception and the porter quietened one party down, however at what seemed like 15 minute intervals,new parties were breaking out! this went on till about 4 am when things quietened down.
Breakfast (8 til 10)was a reasonable selection, ifyou got there early enough. We arrived just before nine, missing the last of the bacon and scrambled eggs. We were lucky. By quarter past nine there was nothing but beans and fried eggs and bread for toasting, all croissant and cakes had gone, and by half past even the baked beans had gone! the reception staff were barely able to communicate in English and only one of them took any trouble to try. booking in took an unnecessary 20 mins and enquiries were met with, can you wait a moment? whilst the two girls fiddled about doing other things. i would not recommend this hotel especially on weekends

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2007

We were booked in somewhere else, but re-allocated to the Campanile. The room was clean enough, but in desperate need of updating. Corridor of the non-smoking rooms smelt very strongly of cigarettes. Poor security - we were given a key code to open the gates late at night - but they were opened by staff anyway as we approached. View of the canal included factories and graffiti. Didn't seem like a very nice area of Birmingham. Could hear everything said by the guests in the adjacent room. Couldn't get cold water out of the tap in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tambelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2007

This was officially the worst hotel we ever stayed in. the locks were broken on the doors - rooms were tiny - rooms smelled disgusting! Cards kept on having to be reactivated - spent a fortune on taxis because it is not near the city at all! Food wasnt nice - no class at all. Always empty - no atmosphere - on a motorway - would never stay there again - would def not recommend it.

Totally ruined the weekend because it was so far from everything without a car.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank perpicork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

Very basic hotel
My room had an unpleasant smell to it and the bathroom had mould on the walls. The corridors of the no smoking part of the hotel stunk of cigarettes. The staff were mainly French so had difficulty in communicating. Definately not worth the price. There are much better value hotels in this area. The picture of the hotel on the website makes it look it's in a nice location. Don't be fooled, the area is very industrial.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mr_MJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

We arrived at this hotel on early saturday evening, i had booked 3 bedrooms via the internet.

On arrival, the receptionist could only find one bedroom booked in the system! Not so good a start. The receptionist, copied teh one reservation into 2 more and checked us in quite quickly.
After check in we all (5 of us) decided to g down to the bar and have a drink and maybe something light to eat.
Once we had decided what to have, we wnet to the bar to order some sandwiches, where we were told we could not have sandwiches, the chef wouldn't do them. We then went to reception and told the receptionist what was said, and she then went and spoke to the bar tender to tell him that we could order sandwiches. The bar tender, then spoke to the chef, who followed him out to the bar. We then heard the chef say to the bar man 'i'm not doing F' in sandwiches'. With this we left the bar and told the receptionist what had happened.
We then went back to our rooms, without anything to eat.
The restaurant was empty, with only 1 table seated.

Later on, i found a stain on the sheets in my room, by this time i really was not happy and i went back to reception and complained to the Duty Manager.

I explained everything that had happened to us (on our first night), i also explaiend to her that i work in hotels myself (and have doen for the past 5 years). The DM apologised, went and spoke to the chef straight away, who of course denied what had been said. The DM changed the sheets in our room personally, and she went off to investigate what had happened to our bookings in the first place. It turned out that the booking website i used, goes straight into their hotel system and it had put our titles and our surnames!!! I am not sure how that happened, or why it was not picked up.

The next 2 nights, i had to go to reception to get our key card extended to get into our room, as it had only been programmed for 1 night each day! Each day, i saw the same duty manager, so she knew what had happened each day.

No offer of compensation, free meal etc was offered.

All in all, the hotel was generally ok. The rooms were clean, though quite small but enough space for a couple of nights.
Parking is quite good, though it does get busy during the week.

We did not eat or drink in the hotel for the rest of our stay, due to the incident we experienced on our first night.

I probably won't stay there again, nor in any of their other hotels!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kmo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

This is very much a budget hotel on the outskirts of Birmingham which I'd say was ok for a couple of nights but definetley not for a much longer stay.

It's location is just off the M6 on the 'wrong side of town' if you know Birmingham at all, with views of the canal to one side. Surprisingly you'll have a better time if you can speak French as 90% of the staff there were French. The room was very basic, everything practically bolted down that could be but there was at least kettle. The decor was a little tired looking but the bed linen (always a good benchmark) was clean.

Room service food was awful - we never went to the resturant on the basis of this. Well I call it room service, we had to collect it ourself down two flights of stairs as the lift didn't work the full 3 nights we were there. There are not many resturants close to the hotel unless you go in to town (10 min drive) or the other way to Star City which can be a little tacky if you're above the age of 18.

The car park can become very full if there is a function on - as there was when we stayed so that can be a problem but surprisingly the noise was not.

Overall - we didn't pay much and didn't get much but if you're in a bind and all the central hotels are booked up this is a decent alternative to a guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

Clean, good parking, not too far from the city centre. A good option for a 1 or 2 night stay as long as you're not going to spend all your time in your room. Relatively small rooms but clean and with all basic facilities.
At £35 a room you can't really go wrong!!!

P.S. Some foxy reception staff too!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poshnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#71 of 118 in Birmingham
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Conference Aston Hotel
#62 of 118 in Birmingham
463 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Birmingham

Address: Chester Street, Aston, Birmingham B6 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £38 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Birmingham 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated at the heart of England, and ideally located for exploring the attractions of central England. The hotel's got 111 bedrooms, 1 restaurant, one bar lounge and 5 meeting rooms. All the bedrooms are equipped with a high quality Simmons bedding for a great night's sleep, TV with freeview channels, free wifi, free car park, bathroom with shower bath and hair dryer. The whole team of Campanile Birmingham is looking forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Campanile Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Campanile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing