We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Birmingham
Ranked #99 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here last night, knew it was in a run down area but as we got a good price from Groupon thought we would give it a try. The only good point was the evening meal which was excellent as well as the service. The rooms are small and very dated the bed not very comfortable and moved around when sitting on it due to being on wheels, also the walls are paper thin and you could hear everything that was happening next door! After our evening meal we were looking forward to breakfast but what a disappointment, the hot food had been cooked hours before the bacon and sausages were rock hard the eggs like rubber tomatoes and beans lukewarm, and a small choice if you preferred a continental breakfast. In all I would not stay there again and would stay in a more central location as there is no where else to have drink in a walking distance.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tismyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

Cheerful and friendly staff and excellent evening meals are the key features of this hotel. French ownership clearly influences the quality of the chef and his/her team. I had a veal escalope and green beans served with crusty french bread and partner had the freshest battered hake that we've come across in a long time. First rate service from the waitress, Maria, including free advice on how to prepare a genuine Valencian paella ( as her mother had taught her). Also excellent reception staff. Agree with another contributer about the mobile bed - definitely needs brakes on the wheels!! Stair carpet ripped - wouldn't take much to smarten that up - shouldn't the manager be keeping an eye on these things. However - small things that need taking care of - main things are excellent. Stayed there several times now and will continue to when working in Birmingham.

Room Tip: Ask for canal side rooms - quieter. Eat in the restaurant - it's as good as and better than anyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim-In-North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Comfortable clean budget hotel. We had dinner and bed and breakfast; the food was well above average for a hotel and exceptional for a budget hotel. Service was good. Only gripe was that the free wi-fi was very slow.

Room Tip: A walk in to the city is not too far (15 mins at brisk pace). Turn left out of the hotel and walk th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This was our first stay at a Campilile hotel & the first time we'd been on a Groupon hotel deal (£39 for bed & breakfast & dinner). Having read previous reviews we were rather apprehensive, but we actually had a very trouble free stay!
The check-in was friendly & efficient, & explained the complexities of how the Groupon evening meal deal worked. The room (209) was fine, about the same size as a typical Ibis/ Premier Inn room, though the bath itself was really small.
The evening meal was actually really nice, as was the service. The Breakfast buffet was also fine, in both quality & quantity.
If you have the time, it's a pleasant walk into the city centre along the canal (wouldn't do it at night though), & took us about 20 minutes by going through the university. There are a couple of pubs at the edge of the university as well (go back onto the main road, cross over & go left till you get to Lister St.).
Last year we stayed at the Premier Inn next door, & in all honesty found the Campilile to be every bit as good.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 'motorway' side, but with the window closed there was no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lettyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is the worst Campanile hotel that we have stayed in.
The room was vile, dust everywhere, dead flies on the window ledge. The towels provided (1) was something that would be used to clean the car with. The bed was on wheels which resulted in being half way across the room every time we moved; the pillow fell off the end of the bed that many times we ended up leaving it behind the bed. The depressing wood chip walls with 3 different shades of white /nicotine stained walls was just a remarkable thing to look at. The lampshades have not been cleaned since the hotel first opened; these were also nicotine stained from before the smoking ban was enforced. The hotel smelt from the moment you left reception till the moment we went home.
The hotel provides irons and ironing boards – Avoid!! The iron never reached more than a warm temperature and did nothing but pour water all over our clothes for the evening. On a plus side, the room is equipped with a powerful hair dryer to help dry your clothes out.
The shower would have been fantastic … if we were dwarfs. Being 6ft 2 and my partner 6ft 4, it doesn’t really do much apart from scold your stomach!! Be warned, there are no warning signs of extreme hot water!!! But after 2 attempts of showering we still felt filthy when stepping out on the grubby floor.
In the morning, the hotel lounge, halls, stairs were covered in trampled crisps, peanuts and empty pint glasses from the previous night. This wasn’t the best thing to see on route for breakfast!! The overpriced breakfast was also a disgrace. The hotel promotes a large buffet selection; this is ok if you like sour fruit segments or horrid natural yoghurt. The nicest thing from breakfast was the coffee machine; however it wasn’t worth the cost for breakfast.
After returning to our room from our breakfast, I thought I would try the reception toilets. These were the icing on the disgusting cake! The floor was sticky, no paper towels (these seemed to have been used and thrown on the floor) and more empty bottles and pint glasses. If this was a treasure hunt to find pint glasses, I would defiantly be in the running for 1st place! The toilet door has a cleaning time sheet which has been completed…. The last time was the 18th, bear in mind, it was 21st October!! Thank god for travel size hand sanitizer!!
Highs: - Checking out and having a window in the room that opens enough to make the animal smell slightly go away.
Lows: Booking the hotel and staying for 24 hours.

We would not recommend this hotel to a rat let alone a paying member of the public.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PadsterM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I booked a groupon voucher at Hotel campanile Birmingham for our wedding anniversary !! What aterrible let down the only positive were the staff on reception who were pleasent and offered us a free drink After looking at three rooms only marginally cleaner than each other .we had to check into the nearby Premier inn.The hotel had an "unusual" smell and the corridors were in need of a hoovering. Each room had "suspicious" stains on the walls and hair in the toilet !! The kettle lead and lead to the electirc wall heater were filthy with sticky dust on them. The lamp[shade was covered in brown stains (room 302 )We had an evening meal in with the deal which we took but ordered sweet potatoe chips when ordinary ones arrived we were told "oh we havent had those for months" ! I would not recomend this hotel in any shape or form It needs a complete re furbishment and fumagating What an absolute let down !! there is an old saying "if an offer looks to good to be true it probably is " !! I will be contacting Groupon to complain.

Room Tip: DO not go to this hotel !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Excellent location, especially if you're heading out of Brum!.Avoid the budget meals , the buffet or menu are a much safer bet. Take a walk around the back of the hotel to the canal and view its multifarious locks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clivegil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
486 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Conference Aston Hotel
#64 of 118 in Birmingham
491 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#71 of 118 in Birmingham
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Birmingham

Address: Chester Street, Aston, Birmingham B6 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £34 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Birmingham 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated at the heart of England, and ideally located for exploring the attractions of central England. The hotel's got 111 bedrooms, 1 restaurant, one bar lounge and 5 meeting rooms. All the bedrooms are equipped with a high quality Simmons bedding for a great night's sleep, TV with freeview channels, free wifi, free car park, bathroom with shower bath and hair dryer. The whole team of Campanile Birmingham is looking forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Campanile Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Campanile Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Campanile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing