We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Birmingham
Ranked #99 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

The food/bar/restaurant are good in this hotel. Although we missed out on breakfast as there were no staff members to take our order. The rest was shocking. I regularly stay in hotels on business and this is the worst for a long while.

Parking - I arrived just after 7pm and the only availability was on the road. The car park was full of Autoglass vans from the office over the road.

Corridors - painted grey and have motion sensitive lighting. Very slow to light and quite creepy in my opinion.

Room - disgusting. A white pebble dashed box that looked like a holiday camp room from 1950. Lampshade were cracked and discoloured. Lighting was dim. My mattress was broken. The desk was battered and not fit for anything. No plug sockets available for laptop etc unless the kettle was unplugged and relocated. Only one other plug in the room, next to the door. Neither were close to a mirror. The only mirror was on the back of the bathroom door.

Bathroom - even worse. Toilet seat was stained. Bath plug was surrounded by brown stains. Great water pressure, shame the shower curtain wasn't big enough to cover the length of the bath. The floor was saturated.

I will not consider this hotel in future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LKQuedgeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    148
    143
    83
    100
See reviews for
45
159
29
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Greeted by friendly reception staff.
Room basic, but clean and a decent size even with a double and full size single.
Beds comfy and good blackout from curtains.
Restaurant a little tired, but good choice of food on the menu at a reasonable price.
We opted for a cooked breakfast. There was plenty of choice if you choose the continental option.
All staff that we encountered were cheerful and happy to help.
Lift to rooms and meeting areas.
Free parking a real bonus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fearnleyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Ive never stayed at a Campanile Hotel in the UK before, but had to travel at short notice to Birmingham last week, and this was the best value at just £49

I was quite happy with everything, to be honest, ive stayed in far worse places for much more money!
The room wasnt luxurious, but it had everything i needed, and was clean and tidy.

The attached bar/diner was decent value too, if a little soulless, but it also did the job.

The Campanile isnt somewhere I would choose to go for a holiday, or a romantic weekend, but for a quick business trip it fits the bill.

Room Tip: They are all the same i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank privatewire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at the Campanile, had to pay a little extra for the dog to join us, a lot less than other hotels. The room was simple, nothing in there that wasn't needed but is was clean and the bed comfy. The staff were polite and friendly and the whole hotel seemed in reasonable repair for a budget hotel. Much better than others we have stayed at but far from luxurious. Fabulous shower. Not many plug sockets, you have to search them out to charge your phone but not problematic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Arrived to polite welcome and was checked in swiftly. My room was on top floor at the end of corridor. Lights on the ceiling were a bit slow to come on as I walked along the corridor but were fixed the following day.
Room clean and tidy. My own personnel taste is for a much firmer bed and feather pillows so found the bed not very good for my back but as I said this is just my own taste. Internet on third floor nit very good a slow.
Didn't do breakfast. I did view the menu and thought prices quoted were ridiculously high ( £8 ) for a cooked breakfast.
Evening meal was good on first night and ok on second night , fish and chips and steak pie respectfully and were reasonably priced.
If you like footy then you'll love here as BT sport was on all the time on the biggest tv I have ever seen .
Hotel sat in perfect spot for where we were working only half a mile away. One gripe the car park was being used by Autoglass who were based across the road which meant at least a dozen of there vans filled the car park and as a result spaces later in the afternoon were limited.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Third floor internet not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weesav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed for the weekend and was not disappointed. Large free car park, free unlimited wifi, bar and good restaurant which means not trips out to search for food and drink. There is a lift to all floors. Rooms are adequate with double bed wardrobe and desk, good size tv and telephone, tea and coffee with jug kettle, hair dryer on wall, ensuite bathroom with shower over bath and plenty of hot water all the time we were there. Place was clean and tidy. Had continental breakfast on both days which had plenty of choice and only £ 2.75 extra to go to the cooked which would keep you going all day. Easy to walk into the city along the tow path at the back of the hotel in about half an hour.
minus points are: no hook in the bathroom, no towel rail, no hand rail for getting in and out of the bath when having shower, one hand towel for two people, bottle opener by wardrobe was missing. only one plug at the desk which is used for the kettle so limited for laptop electrics. No external security door meaning anyone has access to the bedrooms.

Room Tip: have a room at the back for the view of the canal and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is the worse hotel anyone can stay, if you want to have an awful time you should go there. From the time i walked into this hotel the stuff were very rude, i booked 2 nights from booking.com and the people from the hotel made me wait 1 hour 10 min, just to check in, i asked them politely whats happening with my room for 2nd night, they said reservation is there, but we are full so we have only few places so they charged me a lot more,than what the price suppose to be, they were so rude, ALL OF THE STUFF , THEY even made me feel like nothing,when i went next day to speak to them and ask them for a shop, they not only gave me wrong direction, but they said "why don't u find it yourself don't bother us with anything", they even seared, when i came back had to wait 45 min to even find my reservation, ask me to pay even more again; the people were very argumentative, and very extremely rude, its the worst service i ever experience, this is 0 star hotel, so discussing their behavior was really bad. when i went to the room, it wasn't even clean, they haven't even changed the sheets,and haven't even taken the rubbish out. When i went downstairs, they were so rude and said the cleaners have left. there was even bugs and spiders!#
dont go there , its far away from town , dirty, and stuff very rude!

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
252 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#71 of 117 in Birmingham
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#95 of 117 in Birmingham
27 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Birmingham

Property: Campanile Birmingham
Address: Chester Street, Aston, Birmingham B6 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Birmingham 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated at the heart of England, and ideally located for exploring the attractions of central England. The hotel's got 111 bedrooms, 1 restaurant, one bar lounge and 5 meeting rooms. All the bedrooms are equipped with a high quality Simmons bedding for a great night's sleep, TV with freeview channels, free wifi, free car park, bathroom with shower bath and hair dryer. The whole team of Campanile Birmingham is looking forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Campanile Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Campanile Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Campanile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing