We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, would struggle to stay anywhere else in Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Birmingham
Ranked #99 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value, would struggle to stay anywhere else in Birmingham”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for a total of 3 nights on a recent trip to England. We booked one night initially the night we arrived in the country as a quick, cheap stop. We decided to travel back to Birmingham later in the trip and based on our initial experience, we couldn't bear to book any other city centre hotel as the price difference was so great. I'm on the fence as to whether to classify this as a city centre hotel. It is only a 10min walk away, but I probably wouldn't walk that on my own at night. That said, if you do stay here, and need to get a (very cheap) cab back from the city centre in the evening, you have more than saved that money in the rates here compared to even the budget chains in the city centre.
We received good service on both visits and had perfectly comfy and spacious rooms, with tea and coffee making facilities (always a bonus), a hair dryer and free parking, it had everything we needed. I can't see myself staying anywhere else on future trips to Birmingham..and I never thought I'd say that about this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandacurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBirmingham, General Manager at Campanile Birmingham, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
i acknowledge receipt of your comment, following your recent stay with us.

First of all, i would like to thank you for your comments

We are very concerned about the quality of all our services, and it is only through the constructive comments of our guests that we are able to maintain, and where necessary, improve our standarts for your benefits.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Best wishes
MV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    150
    144
    84
    100
See reviews for
45
159
30
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have stayed here a few times when visiting Birmingham and always find it a good value, comfortable, clean option with very pleasant helpful staff. It's centrally located but pleasantly next to the canal and ideal for accessing any where in the city. For the price I wouldn't bother booking anywhere else if I was on business in Brum again

Room Tip: Think they are all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBirmingham, General Manager at Campanile Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I acknowledge receipt of your comment, following your recent stay with us.

First of all, I would like to thank you

We are very concerned about the quality of all our services and we are glad you spent a good time in our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you again!!

Best wishes
MV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here on the 27th and 28th June 2014, was a bit worried about some of the reviews that we saw, the hotel was clean, and even the dog was allowed to stay, for an extra £5 a night, we only had one meal in the restaurant on the Saturday night, and it was reasonable for the price. The bed was comfy, didn't here any other noise, and the car park was no problem, easy to find as well, the staff were polite, only one gripe, the bath is a tad small, so showers it was, but we would go there again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBirmingham, General Manager at Campanile Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I acknowledge receipt of your comment, following your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for your comment

We`re looking forward to welcome you again!

Best wishes
MV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked multiple rooms for large family group for weekend. All family members really enjoyed their stay, rooms were clean and decorated to a good standard, amenities although nothing special were fully functional and in good order. The main selling point was the customer service from all hotel staff, which was great, not a single complaint in that department.
The group only ate breakfast at the hotel and mentioned that there was a good menu, albeit slightly expensive, which they enjoyed eating. Location is pleasant and hotel is located very close to Birmingham New Street Station, which was useful for us.
All in all I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBirmingham, General Manager at Campanile Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We acknowledge receipt of your comment, following your recent stay with us.and I would like to thank you for it

We `re please to see you enjoy your stay.

We`re looking forward to welcome you again!

Best wishes
MV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The location is faaaaaaaaaaar away from the city centre, you actually have to go through some pretty dangerous roads in order to get there. There was also a pre-auth from my card which would not be released for several days due to a mistake from the hotel. After all, they fixed it. Very helpful and kind people. Nice but basic breakfast, probably overpriced for its range. The bathroom was a big dissapointment but the bedroom was quiet nice. But the hallway, until you reach your room looks like a horror movie set. Wouldn't recommend it. If the people who worked there weren't so nice, the review would probably be worse.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioanna_deligiorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBirmingham, General Manager at Campanile Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I acknowledge receipt of your comment, following your recent stay with us.

First of all, please accept my apologise regarding what`s happened.

We are very concerned about the quality of all our services, and it is only through the constructive comments of our guests that we are able to maintain, and where necessary, improve our standarts for your benefits.

We hope you will keep the trust to Campanile Hotel and we look forward to welcome you again.

Best wishes
MV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst I was working at the Aston villa football stadium. Got the room for £35 and you get what you pay for. Quiet dirty in places, paint chipped, the shower gel was nearly empty, no bath mat, not enough milk as is the case with loads of hotels, very basic and standard could do with a major refurb, bed hard, is however very close to Birmingham city centre so we walked there in the evening and had a meal but I don't recommend it if you have heals as its not as close as the place makes out but trainers its an ok walk, parking very good at the hotel and although theres lots of little moans about the place the worst thing was just other guests! the people in the room next to us were arguing and shouting all night very loud couldn't sleep and it was hot so we opened the window and there was people arguing outside aswell! couldn't win then I saw my friend the next day who also stopped there and she had the same problem but it was worse for her as the door got bashed in then they were arguing at reception for ages as they didn't want to pay for the door that they broke!! lots of dodgy looking people hanging around going in and out not a great atmosphere food in the bar very poor, no real ales either, had the cooked breakfast and it was very obviously just stuck on a plate and microwaved all togeather think the egg was the only fresh thing on it, oh and my boyfriend wanted early check in so he could go to bed whilst I was working as he had been on nights, they said it was £20 for early check in but he actually got charged £15.10 weird ey but he did get the room at 9 ish in the morning, the campiniles website makes it look like a lovely little hotel by the river so don't go thinking you will get a riverside view because we got a motorway view not very exciting! says its the closest hotel to the aston villa football stadium but there is a Travelodge and a premier inn very very close aswell that im sure don't bring dodgy people in that shout etc all night! wouldn't stop here again

Room Tip: ask for a riverside view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBirmingham, General Manager at Campanile Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I acknowledge receipt of your comment, following your recent stay with us.

First of all, please accept my apologise regarding what`s happened.

We are very concerned about the quality of all our services, and it is only through the constructive comments of our guests that we are able to maintain, and where necessary, improve our standarts for your benefits.

We hope you will keep the trust to Campanile Hotel and we look forward to welcome you again.

Best wishes
MV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Only caveat to my review is how nice the staff are & how helpful i found them.

I have to say the room was dirty, showers leaked, bodily hair on fresh towel & paper thin walls. Packed with hen/stag groups. I would never stay again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCY135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBirmingham, General Manager at Campanile Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I acknowledge receipt of your comment, following your recent stay with us.

First of all, please accept my apologise regarding what`s happened.

We are very concerned about the quality of all our services, and it is only through the constructive comments of our guests that we are able to maintain, and where necessary, improve our standarts for your benefits.

We hope you will keep the trust to Campanile Hotel and we look forward to welcome you again.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
278 reviews
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#69 of 117 in Birmingham
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#88 of 117 in Birmingham
747 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Birmingham

Property: Campanile Birmingham
Address: Chester Street, Aston, Birmingham B6 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Birmingham 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated at the heart of England, and ideally located for exploring the attractions of central England. The hotel's got 111 bedrooms, 1 restaurant, one bar lounge and 5 meeting rooms. All the bedrooms are equipped with a high quality Simmons bedding for a great night's sleep, TV with freeview channels, free wifi, free car park, bathroom with shower bath and hair dryer. The whole team of Campanile Birmingham is looking forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Campanile Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Campanile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing