We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable! Free Parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Birmingham
Ranked #99 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Reasonable! Free Parking”
Reviewed 27 December 2008

Stayed for one night, while attending a show at NIA. Check - in was a nightmare, they couldn't find our reservation, and I think the receptionist that served us was new (and foreign) so it was a bit of a struggle, and after 3 hours of driving we just wanted to check in! anyway we got sorted and were directed to our room. Room was OK, a liitle small, but perfect for one nights stay. Good, well equipped bathroom, and comfy bed. Taxi was organised for us by receptionist and the free parking at the hotel was ideal. Did have a drink at the hotel bar, but the bar shut at 11 so we couldn't have a drink when we returned, which would have been nice, as after the show we didn't want to go and mingle with the party goers on Broad Street, we just wanted a quiet one! We did however bring a bottle of wine in to the hotel, and this was acceptable. We didn't eat in the hotel as there are plenty of good restaurants in the city, and we booked a room only rate so skipped breakfast too. Check out was a very generous midday, so no rush in the morning. Overall good budget accomodation for a night or two :)

  • Liked — Free & Secure parking
  • Disliked — sloppy check in
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ronniegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    146
    141
    83
    100
See reviews for
45
157
29
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2008

This hotel looks great from the outside and the reception and public areas are of a good standard. The parking is secure, more than adequate for the number of guests and free. The non-smoking rooms need upgrading, but they are clean and more than adequate for the price. Comfy bed and duvet, extra blankets and pillows.The bar seating area is small and both the bar area and the adjoining dining room were cold. The plasma televisions in the bar area had the volume turned down but did not have subtitles, which was disappointing. Bar prices were fine at £7.65 for two ginsand tonic and wine with the meal was at £11.00 for a good wine.A buffet starter with other menu options was well laid out, but the main meal was poor, which I put down to the staff member in charge of cooking. Desserts were very good and the meals are reasonably priced. The breakfast standard fluctuated according to who was in charge of preparation. This hotel has friendly efficient staff, but the kitchen could do with improvement. For the price, £44 for a double room and £6.45 for breakfast I would certainly return.

  • Liked — Friendly informal atmosphere
  • Disliked — Dining experience, no atmosphere
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MayHamilton_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

stayed here while we had a mad night out in the city centre, cheap and cheerful. for what we paid we were happy to pay around £10 for a taxi to the city centre, we got told twice to keep the noise down, but staff were friendly and helpful. rooms were clean and sufficient. comfortable night!!

  • Liked — cheap and cheerful
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k12486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Stayed for four nights whilst attending a conference in the city centre. The staff were helpful and polite, the room clean, tidy and modern, if a little small and basic. The hotel is a 25-30 minute walk from the city centre which was quite acceptable in the daytime but a taxi back at night was essential to feel safe. Taxi to the hotel from the centre was about £8 but the room rate was so cheap that we were happy to pay this at least once a day.

  • Liked — Great price
  • Disliked — Long distance from city centre
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterpumpkinhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on a Friday/Saturday and on arrival to our room we were greeted by shrieking/screaming/banging/shouting and running guests in rooms/corridors surrounding us.One other guest told the
m to be quiet!This went on for around half an hour ,stopped tehn the next morning at 7 started again!At first I wanted to complain but as the room wasn't too bad apart from smell from the bathroom we thought we would try and make do for the price we paid!!(£67 for two nights) .Anyway we came back saturday evening and found that the original guests from hell had left an dbeen replaced by a reception partys guests!!these were just as bad,banging /knocking doors all the time this stopeed eventually and we did not let it ruin our stay as we were out most of the tme but for other gu ests who want a quiet time i would never recommend this hotel.Staff were ok ,all french and could not understand what you were saying at times but cleanliness was fine.The hotel itself is around 40 minute walk from centre or 15 min bus ride.

  • Liked — cleanliness of bed linen
  • Disliked — noisy guests
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2007

hotels location was a bit bleak, but only 15 min walk to town. The room was adequate rather than good, bath rather short, but clean enough. the main problem was the noise and lack of soundproofing. We could hear every word of the conversation in the next door bedroom and had to leave the telly on to give ourselves any privacy. after 11 the drunks started arriving back and slamming doors, shouting and partying.We called reception and the porter quietened one party down, however at what seemed like 15 minute intervals,new parties were breaking out! this went on till about 4 am when things quietened down.
Breakfast (8 til 10)was a reasonable selection, ifyou got there early enough. We arrived just before nine, missing the last of the bacon and scrambled eggs. We were lucky. By quarter past nine there was nothing but beans and fried eggs and bread for toasting, all croissant and cakes had gone, and by half past even the baked beans had gone! the reception staff were barely able to communicate in English and only one of them took any trouble to try. booking in took an unnecessary 20 mins and enquiries were met with, can you wait a moment? whilst the two girls fiddled about doing other things. i would not recommend this hotel especially on weekends

  • Liked — car parking, canal
  • Disliked — poor service and noise
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2007

We were booked in somewhere else, but re-allocated to the Campanile. The room was clean enough, but in desperate need of updating. Corridor of the non-smoking rooms smelt very strongly of cigarettes. Poor security - we were given a key code to open the gates late at night - but they were opened by staff anyway as we approached. View of the canal included factories and graffiti. Didn't seem like a very nice area of Birmingham. Could hear everything said by the guests in the adjacent room. Couldn't get cold water out of the tap in the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tambelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Rowton Hotel Birmingham
#101 of 117 in Birmingham
34 reviews
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#72 of 117 in Birmingham
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#96 of 117 in Birmingham
26 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Birmingham

Property: Campanile Birmingham
Address: Chester Street, Aston, Birmingham B6 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Birmingham 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated at the heart of England, and ideally located for exploring the attractions of central England. The hotel's got 111 bedrooms, 1 restaurant, one bar lounge and 5 meeting rooms. All the bedrooms are equipped with a high quality Simmons bedding for a great night's sleep, TV with freeview channels, free wifi, free car park, bathroom with shower bath and hair dryer. The whole team of Campanile Birmingham is looking forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Campanile Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Campanile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing