We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birmingham airport travelogue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Ranked #42 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Dereham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Birmingham airport travelogue”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Clean room, great view of the runway but surprisingly no noise. Lovely pizza for tea and friendly restaurant staff. Lively hotel perfectly situated for NEC. Fun bar staff who were super helpful and friendly...especially Luke and Kerry!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    315
    159
    72
    66
See reviews for
248
276
63
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I was forced to stay here as other hotels were full, due to an exhibition at the NEC, a tent would have been better. The staff were very good, the problem is the concept, location and very poor quality food.

The Hotel is sandwiched between a very busy dual carriageway, and the airport, so trying to get any sleep is impossible, the road noise is very high, I was on floor 5, and got no sleep whatsoever. There is a heater in the room if you are cold but if its warm in any way, the deafening noise from the road/airport is just a joke if you have to open the window to get some air in the room..

As you enter, there is a lovely offer, you can eat in the bar, or in your Pyjamas in your room, nice idea. But after getting to my room on the 5th floor, and reading the brochure, you have to go to the bar to order the food, and then, wait for it to be cooked, so YOU can take it back to the room yourself. Imagine balancing a tray, with food and drink, trying to open doors with your electronic key, using the lift....... Whoever came up with the hair brained scheme needs sacking, honestly its just not safe.

When you get your food to the room, its very poor quality. My Steak, Mushroom and Ale Pie was inedible, the peas and chips were in some parts not cooked....

Breakfast the following day was average at best, the bacon was so thin you could almost see through it, and it was very very salty.

I travel a lot on business and based on this experience, will not be staying in a Travel Lodge ever again, I would rather stay much further away from my destination than suffer sleepless nights and poor food. Premier Inn is a much better bet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G4UET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear G4UET, we are really sorry to learn you found the hotel to be noisy. We try to prevent noise by having insulated walls and double glazing, unfortunately due to the location of the hotel, we cannot always prevent external noise. We do not offer room service as part of our brand standard, although we would expect the food to meet with your expectations. Our bar café staff are trained to prepare and present food to the same high standard across our hotels so it is regrettable that you did not enjoy your meals. Your comments will be passed to our Hotel Management team so they are able to address these issues and remind staff of the importance of customer care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Like most people here we picked this airport as we had an early flight. The map suggests it's a short walk from the airport- they lie! It's on the old airport site. Black cabs from the airport cost £12. The hotel uses a private hire cab firm that costs £6 to airport, the next morning we heard the porter on the phone to them chasing up cabs saying "there are cheaper firms than you, if you can't get the cabs here we could use them" So it might be worth your while ringing round some local firms and having the numbers handy.

Staff were not very helpful, you felt like you were disturbing a conversation.

Pay a little extra and get closer to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Destiny_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I've a show and a conference to attend at the NEC, budgets are tight and therefore opted for the cheapest I could find.

I was really pleased by my find.

Hotel was easy to find and an excellent road network to it. Parking was ok - I opted for the short stay next to the hotel. Both short and long stay were £7.50 for the time I was staying. If your staying longer go for the long stay.

I sadly had to que for around 15/20 minutes to check in as everyone else that was at the show turned up at the same time and I wanted a specific room (one with a runway view). I could have used one of the electronic check in desks otherwise.

Room was clean, tidy and travelodge presented. Ideal for me. I'm a larger than normal chap-the loo space was a little tight but not unacceptable.

Breakfast: lovely. No problems. The staff were professional and pleasant first thing in the morning!

Front desk staff - great and met all my needs.

I'll be back when I'm next up. Well worth it for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here as a stop over on our travels. our view from the window was that of the airport runway which was pretty cool. as long as you have the window shut you can't here the planes. the staff were friendly and the evening food was really nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachieebabiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We (family of 5) stayed mid July for two nights prior to flying out to Turkey from Birmingham Airport. The service was great, particularly outstanding from a young chap called Ryan, who went above and beyond to ensure that we had a pleasant stay.The rooms are fairly basic, but clean and modern, the only thing that I would recommend, is to take a hairdryer with you, as these are not provided. Other than that, there really wasn't anything else negative about this place.
Location is very close to the airport. We made the most of the location and visited Warwick Castle and Leamington Spa, which are both only about a thirty minute drive away.
Would definitely stay again, if flying from Birmingham in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

we left our house in fine spirits looking forward to relaxing stay in the Travelodge so we would not have to rush for the flight in the morning.we thought that we would spend a little bit extra as we already had a tight budget. As i have stayed in many hotels and not had problems before i thought this would be nice for the family.we stayed at the travelodge airport hotel, Birmingham before going on holiday.we booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children.the booking in was fine but that was about it.when entering the room the children beds were not made up,the Tv was not working and the attitude of the staff when asking them to make to bed up was,lets say short.after this problem was overcome we had booked an evening meal which we thought included free meal for the children.the staff inform us that only breakfast was free for the children.as we were going on holiday i thought just pay for the meals and sort it out after the holiday. i showed the print out of the vouchers to the staff showing children were having an evening meal for free and the reply was 'that's misleading information you were given'.
we then went to bed and waited for the next instalment.in the morning we had breakfast, the food was cold,which match the cold showers.
i know you get what you pay for but this was taking that point to the limits.
we also booked a night in the hotel (prior to the holiday)for when we got back so that we could relax and leave in the morning fresh.same thing - bed not made up,so we asked for the sheets and made them ourselves.in the morning talk about trying to get guests out of the hotel quick! having housekeeping knock on the door very early and before we had breakfast or a shower.
we have complained but as usual no reply.pity they weren't as quick as the housekeeping in the hotel. one good thing about the complaint is that they asked on the on-line form have you left comments on the trip adviser - well Travelodge here it is.

Room Tip: don't assume that all travelodges are of the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear rob s, we are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at Travelodge. We do expect our staff to provide high levels of service at all times. Our dinner packages (main course, starter or dessert plus a drink for a set price) can be booked online and does not include a free meal for children. However children can eat for free from our breakfast buffet with a paying adult. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.9 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
1,772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.8 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Airport

Property: Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Address: Terminal Buildings, Birmingham B26 3QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#31 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing