We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better Travelodges I've stayed at - good value too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Ranked #39 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Cambridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“One of the better Travelodges I've stayed at - good value too”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This Travelodge, although next to the control tower, is on the far side of the airport and is a 5-10 minute drive - there's now way to walk it as it's off a dual carriageway. It has an NCP car park next to it (£7.50/24hrs, though you can stay a few days and then buy a new £7.50 ticket for hotel guests which lets you exit, which means the other days are forgotten about - convenient tip!!).

The room was clean and comfy, nice bed and pillows. Bathroom small but clean, needed a bit more water pressure but all was otherwise good.

Staff - on the first night / morning, they were all excellent, chatty, helpful and nice. On the second morning, I came down and nobody said a word, the breakfast buffet had run out of sausages, bread (apart from 2 crusts) and everything was depleted, nobody seemed to be checking on anything.

So if you're there on a good day with good staff, it was very good (almost premier inn standards), but on a bad day it was a bit rubbish really.

£6 taxi to the Airport or NEC is great value (call A2B cabs from reception), and £13 to Broad Street if you want to go into town. This made it good value compared to being at a more expensive central location.

Re airport noise, I didn't really have a problem - I was on the 3rd floor on the airport side, and with the window closed, the noise wan't intrusive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    325
    165
    76
    69
See reviews for
270
289
64
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Myself and my two daughters stayed in this Travelodge on the night of 26th September as we had to catch an early flight from Birmingham airport and I found it did the job very well.

Reception
The young lady on Reception was very helpful when I checked in. The Reception Area is clean and welcoming and there is a large bar and restaurant area.

Room
The room was extremely clean, comfortable and a decent size. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and we had an view of the airport runway. There is a bath and shower, plenty of towels but like most Travelodges, just a small bar of soap so you have to ask for extra toiletries, probably at a charge, I don't know. There is also a TV mounted on the wall with a decent number of channels.


Food and drink
We preordered dinner during our stay. The food was fine, similar to what you might get in Wetherspoons but we were hungry after travelling and it did the job. You pay £9.95 for two courses and a drink. The big complaint that I have is that it took a long time for our second course to arrive, after our first course plates were cleared (over an hour) and we had to remind staff twice about this! We got so fed up of waiting that we were about to leave when it arrived. This was not great as we had to check out of the hotel at 3am to get a flight so needed to get to bed. I felt that we very much got forgotten, staff that we reminded were too busy chatting behind the bar and the restaurant was not even that busy at the time. They stopped serving dinner at 10pm. There is a bar in the hotel, staff there were very friendly and you can take wine or drinks up to your room. I am not sure about the concept of Room Service here but I would suspect as it is a Travelodge and not a five star hotel you would have to carry things yourself back to your room, as I did with our bottle of wine.


Transfer to the airport
The Travelodge is definitely not within walking distance to the airport. I got a taxi from Birmingham International train station which cost £7. However, the transfer to the airport I found was handled very efficiently by the hotel. I prebooked a taxi when I checked in for 3am. They advised me this would cost £6, which it did. When we checked out the taxi was there waiting and he even had our room number as reference, so I felt the whole process there was very slick. I would advise prebooking when you check in. There are no problems getting transport to the airport but no shuttle bus.


Overall
This is good enough for a stay before a flight, it was cheap but very good to be honest. I just felt some of the restaurant staff could have been a bit more efficient. The room is clean and comfortable and Reception staff helped a lot. I would recommend it as an airport stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMoore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in travelogue before and we were pleasantly surprised with this one the room was basic but functional comfy bed and enough pillows staff were friendly and helpful. It is a long way from the airport and it is not possible to walk there from the airport . No shuttle bus is provided, as other reviewers have said its 12 pounds in a cab. We used the cab firm as recommended by the staff and found them good but in total it did cost 18 pounds. We did get a great rate on the room but feel some sort of transport to and from the airport should be offed as it did increase the cost. Overall a good place well maintained but do think twice if looking for an airport transfer as you will pay a lot extra.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Clean room, great view of the runway but surprisingly no noise. Lovely pizza for tea and friendly restaurant staff. Lively hotel perfectly situated for NEC. Fun bar staff who were super helpful and friendly...especially Luke and Kerry!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I was forced to stay here as other hotels were full, due to an exhibition at the NEC, a tent would have been better. The staff were very good, the problem is the concept, location and very poor quality food.

The Hotel is sandwiched between a very busy dual carriageway, and the airport, so trying to get any sleep is impossible, the road noise is very high, I was on floor 5, and got no sleep whatsoever. There is a heater in the room if you are cold but if its warm in any way, the deafening noise from the road/airport is just a joke if you have to open the window to get some air in the room..

As you enter, there is a lovely offer, you can eat in the bar, or in your Pyjamas in your room, nice idea. But after getting to my room on the 5th floor, and reading the brochure, you have to go to the bar to order the food, and then, wait for it to be cooked, so YOU can take it back to the room yourself. Imagine balancing a tray, with food and drink, trying to open doors with your electronic key, using the lift....... Whoever came up with the hair brained scheme needs sacking, honestly its just not safe.

When you get your food to the room, its very poor quality. My Steak, Mushroom and Ale Pie was inedible, the peas and chips were in some parts not cooked....

Breakfast the following day was average at best, the bacon was so thin you could almost see through it, and it was very very salty.

I travel a lot on business and based on this experience, will not be staying in a Travel Lodge ever again, I would rather stay much further away from my destination than suffer sleepless nights and poor food. Premier Inn is a much better bet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G4UET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear G4UET, we are really sorry to learn you found the hotel to be noisy. We try to prevent noise by having insulated walls and double glazing, unfortunately due to the location of the hotel, we cannot always prevent external noise. We do not offer room service as part of our brand standard, although we would expect the food to meet with your expectations. Our bar café staff are trained to prepare and present food to the same high standard across our hotels so it is regrettable that you did not enjoy your meals. Your comments will be passed to our Hotel Management team so they are able to address these issues and remind staff of the importance of customer care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Like most people here we picked this airport as we had an early flight. The map suggests it's a short walk from the airport- they lie! It's on the old airport site. Black cabs from the airport cost £12. The hotel uses a private hire cab firm that costs £6 to airport, the next morning we heard the porter on the phone to them chasing up cabs saying "there are cheaper firms than you, if you can't get the cabs here we could use them" So it might be worth your while ringing round some local firms and having the numbers handy.

Staff were not very helpful, you felt like you were disturbing a conversation.

Pay a little extra and get closer to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Destiny_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I've a show and a conference to attend at the NEC, budgets are tight and therefore opted for the cheapest I could find.

I was really pleased by my find.

Hotel was easy to find and an excellent road network to it. Parking was ok - I opted for the short stay next to the hotel. Both short and long stay were £7.50 for the time I was staying. If your staying longer go for the long stay.

I sadly had to que for around 15/20 minutes to check in as everyone else that was at the show turned up at the same time and I wanted a specific room (one with a runway view). I could have used one of the electronic check in desks otherwise.

Room was clean, tidy and travelodge presented. Ideal for me. I'm a larger than normal chap-the loo space was a little tight but not unacceptable.

Breakfast: lovely. No problems. The staff were professional and pleasant first thing in the morning!

Front desk staff - great and met all my needs.

I'll be back when I'm next up. Well worth it for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.9 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.8 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
1.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Airport

Property: Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Address: Terminal Buildings, Birmingham B26 3QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#31 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#37 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing