We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff... and good value for money room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Birmingham Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Ranked #36 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent staff... and good value for money room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

When Lady M and myself just need a place to sleep overnight we look for good value. And when the reception staff greet you with a professional and friendly attitude, surely that's worth £39 of anyone's money. Seriously though, with the room being spotlessly clean and all the staff being helpful and courteous you can't ask for much more. This is where "Corporate-ness" is working and the customer always knows what to expect.
However, when the same "Corporate-ness" is employed in the kitchen the art of cooking is completely forgotten and the traditional Chef is surplus to requirements. The only way to have a uniform and standardised menu is to buy in pre-packed meals and heat them up as needed.
Anyway, I had the soup for a starter, which was ONE small ladle of soup in a bowl. Lady M had ordered the cheesy nachos and it was a HUGE portion with 3 types of dip... which we shared. My main course was the vegetable curry which was fairly bland, with a naan bread that had obviously been heated up in the microwave as one half was rock hard.
Lady M had a steak & ale pie that came with a rock hard lid. Very strange. Our server was Ryan, he was a star and sorted things out for us very professionally.

Breakfast was a disaster, I don't recommend it. The orange juice was awful, the cooked items consisted of bacon, sausage (deep fried I think), scrambled eggs, beans and fried tomatoes. Thin sliced bread for toast (seriously?) So where are the mushrooms? Where are the fried eggs? We paid an extra £6.50 each for the breakfast so it was disappointing to say the least.

Stay there but don't eat there.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the runway at Birmingham Airport is quite fascinating. But to keep the noise of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    290
    140
    65
    53
See reviews for
214
249
58
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We recently stayed at this Travel lodge as part of a Tourettes awareness meetup. I cannot fault the attentive, respectful and quick thinking staff working that weekend. Considering the staff knew nothing about Tourette Syndrome and its many complex additions with this neurological disorder their quick thinking, open mindedness and pleasant manners made our weekend much more relaxing. They couldn't help us enough. Many were educated on this very unpublicized disorder. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Georgia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Easy to find after a long journey. Staff were excellent in reception and the bar. Very clean & comfortable. Ate dinner which was nice but left before breakfast. A little disappointed that shuttle bus dropped at monorail. Difficult to manoeuvre luggage, pushchair & a 2 year old.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CeeJay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Pleasant staff and quick check in. Good open plan bar next to reception on ground floor and reasonable prices ( from memory about £3:40 for pint of Stella).
Stayed 1night for Eagles gig at NEC. Breakfast £7:60 which was again I thought value for money as it was eat all you want and food was plentiful and hot.
All staff we encountered were a credit to the Hotel.
£6:00 each way taxi fare for NEC.
Rooms clean and very comfortable after recent refurbishment.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pysgodyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We booked the travelodge and airparks Birmingham through Holiday Extras.

We arrived to the hotel about 8pm, staff were friendly and helpful, our room was fine, small, but what you expect from a travelodge, it has clearly been refurbished. The rooms are equipped with everything you need, t.v, kettle, tea/coffee, shower gel etc. We overlooked the airport which was suprisingly quiet but gave you a good view of the runway.

We ate at the restaurant food was good, nothing special but again not bad value for money.

In the morning we did have to get up and drive to airparks to park the car, but this took about 5 mins, and was a simple route.

It worked well for us, the hotel is very good value for money, clean and tidy. We would return

Room Tip: ask for an airport view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharnaB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leerdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here May 2013 with friends, we were four and booked two double rooms. Even though the room was fairly small and the bathroom even smaller, it was all clean, comfy and just generally good price/quality ratio. Too bad the window didn't really open, which is something I like. The bed was definitely comfortable, the shower felt great and it's definitely more than large enough for two people. Didn't have any trouble regarding noise, though we heard a few people saying they did hear their neighbours at times, so maybe we just got lucky.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, even when it was really busy. It's not as close to the airport as the name suggests, though you can get there in about 5 minutes with a (in my opinion cheap) taxi. There is also a bus, which is cheaper if you (like us) are going back and forth between the Hilton (for a convention) and the Travelodge.
The food they offer (I had breakfast and dinner there) is really good! Both breakfast and dinner have more than enough options, though we had to wait a while at breakfast as certain things had already gone before we got there. Dinner tasted very good as well, definitely good price/quality ratio, though you might want to take your time, as it can take a while if it's "rush hour". Not a complaint though, because the food was great and cheap and we were in no hurry.
All in all, great stay, I'd recommend this for people who want to stay close to the airport in a relaxed and generally cheap hotel.

Room Tip: Not as close to the airport as you might think, but takes only five minutes by taxi and it's fai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton-on-trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a modern,clean,functional hotel.My room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.Downstairs there is a spacious dining/bar area.Please note,this hotel is NOT at the airport.I don‘t think you can walk to the terminal from here.I paid £7 taxi from B‘ham international.The hotel arranged a taxi for me to the airport the following morning.This was a fixed price of £7.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#19 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.9 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Airport

Property: Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Address: Terminal Buildings, Birmingham B26 3QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#36 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing