We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to fault for £27 a night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Ranked #53 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
natanddaz08
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“hard to fault for £27 a night!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We got an excellent room rate at this hotel and thought it was spot on. We have stayed at alot of holiday inn hotels but i think this one does stand out, check in was quick efficiant and friendly and we were informed we had been upraded to a superior room. The room was first class, a good size lovely big bed and really well decorated it did not feel like a holiday inn at all as these tend to be quite samey and this was almost boutique in style. There was alittle road noise but we expected this staying on top of an international airport!

We used the pool which was very clean and had a jacuzzi, steam room and tropical rain shower however no sauna. My only complaint about the pool would be there are no chairs or loungers so you have to put your towels on the floor- prehaps some hooks on the walls would be a good idea?

Bar meals were very overpriced as usual but if you go out the hotel turn right and walk for approx 15 mins you come to a really good harvester! Breakfast at the hotel was great and much better than we have had at other holiday inns- the option to order omlettes, kippers, scrambled eggs etc was a nice touch.

Overall i would not hesitate o stay again they are doing a great job with the refurb! BTW This hotel is just a 10 min drive to drayton manor so although its an airport hotel it is ideal for this reason too!

Room Tip: rooms on the left of the corridor look towards the airport and the rooms on the right overlook the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natanddaz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan Y, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear natanddaz08

I was pleased to read the positive comments you have left regarding your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is important to us at the hotel and so we have displayed them to all of our staff to ensure that they receive your positive comments on their hard work.

The points for improvement that you have noted have been taken into consideration and actions will be made based upon these. Our Leisure club is soon to be opened for public use and as part of our development of this area we will see the introduction of suitable storage for towels etc. when in the pool.

We also regularly review all of our prices in line with our competitors to ensure that we constantly have an aggressive pricing strategy in place. Your comments will be raised at the next Pricing Review.

Once again, thank you for your comments and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    486
    367
    208
    169
See reviews for
210
370
90
667
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Checked in fast enough, a little noise from the airport. Parking charges a bit steep but the barrier was up when checking out, so avoided paying. Breakfast too pricey to try £14.99. Bar food/staff were nice and friendly, good sleep quality and nice rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanthain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan Y, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport.

At Birmingham Airport we use all feedback we receive to review and improve the service we offer. I am pleased that you were happy with the room and service received from the bar staff at the hotel and your comments has been passed to the Head of Department to relay onto the relevant staff.

We regularly review our prices in line with our local competitors to ensure that we are offering our guests the best prices.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ryan Yallop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed one night here out of loyalty to Holiday Inn but would probably choose one of the on-airport hotels next time. I was put into one of the basement rooms in the old part of the hotel. The corridor was very dingy with poor decorating and strong smells of chlorine from the pool. The room was ok though, apart from kitchen smells all evening. Very small bathroom with dated fittings and the towels were very thin and grey. At the bar I paid nearly double for a drink that I had bought in a pub the night before. In the morning the early shuttle was late leaving for the airport and I had to ask repeatedly for the driver to show up! Not a brilliant stay, but adequate for one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new end!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarniaCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan Y, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear SarniaCherie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport.

Currently we have an on-going refurbishment programme where by all rooms in the hotel will be refurbished. I apologise that the room you were allocated had not yet been refurbished. Your comments on the conditions of the corridor have been highlighted with our Maintenance Manager for their immediate review. We have also noted your feedback on your towels to pass onto our linen provider to ensure that the quality of the all the towels we receive are of the same usually very high standard.

Our pricing strategy is something that we constantly review in line with competitor hotels in the area to ensure we are continually offering the best to our guests. Your comments will form part of our next pricing review.

The complimentary shuttle bus service has a set timetable which we endeavour throughout the daily service. There are rare occasions where other factors do not enable us to stick to this and I apologise that this was the case during your journey.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ryan Yallop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
206 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

From initial check in to checking out this hotel had a very nice feel to it. There is a car park which is barrier controlled and overnight parking is charged at £7 per night. Checking in was speedy and the staff were very polite and helpful. I had an executive room on the 3rd floor which had easy access via stairs or lift. The room itself was quite large with a huge bed and 2 lounge chaire close to the window. My view was to the airportt itself and from the aeroplane activity this didnt disturb me at all. The room was clean and tidy with a mini bar, tea, coffee, can of orangeade still and fizzy water, chocoltae biscuit and a kit kat chunky bar as complimentary. The bathroom was nicely furnished with a large shower head over the bath. All the usual complimentary toiletries were provided plus nail file, comb, toothbrush and toothpaste, shoe shine, sewing kit, personal hygiene kit with cooton buds etc. The shower had a nice jet of water. The towels were fluffy and there was a dressing gown hanging in the wardrobe for your use. An iron and ironing board were also on hand to use. A few complimentary hangers were provided. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows weren't to bad either i prefer mine softer but this didn't spoil the sleep quality.
The bar was quite spacious with 2 wide screen TV's in. 2 beers cost just under £10 so its not cheap but again what hotel does provide cheap beer these days. The bar snacks were reasonably priced and i tried the soup ofthe day which was excellent and a pepparoni pizza which was also well presented with plenty of cheese and of quite a large size.
Breakfast was help your self with the usual for a hearty full english to cereals and fruit. Coffee and tea was served to your table.
This hotel was very busy but there wasn't a queue for things. I did notice there was a complimentary bus service to the airport for those catching flights.

Room Tip: Executive rooms on top floor were excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissTonyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan Y, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear SwissTonyPortsmouth,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport.

At the hotel we are continually looking for ways to better ourselves to ensure that we are always offering the very best service and facilities. I am pleased to read that you were happy with all aspects of your stay.

We use all feedback as part of our on-going review and constantly relay all of the comments onto the team to ensure they know how our guests felt about their stay. Your whole review has been made available for all staff in the departments you have highlighted.

Once again thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ryan Yallop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
261 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Not bad. For the price of £59 per room which was two adults and we sneaked our 2yr old in (Bought our own cot) you get breakfast in the morning AND there is a swimming pool, Jacussi, Steam room and fitness centre. We chose this hotel on price first having travelled from London to Birmingham with the 2yr old to see Mr Tumbles at the NEC. That done its back to Holiday Inn for some down time. On arrival the receptionist was a little slow dealing with a couple in front so it took about 15 mins from arrival to check in. She was a nice girl (kind) and promised us blankets for the cot etc. Room was a bit shabby but cleanish. Not great but then I do stack up a lot for the price. Off to the swimming and again pool was large and clean but a bit chilly. Jacuzzi was hot and steam room was great.

Chose not to eat here and drove 2 mins down the road to Harvester. Price compare a burger at HI = £15 quid so x3 works out £45 plus drinks. Harvester was £23 plus drinks for a kiddy menu, 2 x mains and all you can eat fresh salad. So its better NOT to eat at HI if you can get out and down the road.

Came back to the bar and the service was slow so went to bar. Guy was great with the 2yr old and slipped her a cheeky lemonade!! They were busy with food and drinks and only two working the tables so can see why its full throttle for the staff.

Breakfast included: That was the icing on the cake really. Great breakfast. Lost of FRESH fruit and variety. Egg, Bacon, Beans, Toast. All you can really want for a full breakie. Again for three of us to eat for £59 was a bargaiinnn. Its probably the breakfast that saves this from being a 2 out of 5. If you have a healthy appetite that early its a must to stay here.

In summary this is a reasonable place to stay but a shabby (oldish) hotel which is probably making its money out of the evening food and drinks. Its "OK" for the price of the room so not going to roast it.

Room Tip: they are all shabby - but cleanish. Linen is clean and tidy. No tip. Just book if you want value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 365drills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan Y, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear 365drills,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport.

As we continually strive to offer the very best facilities and service I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with many aspects of your stay. I would also like to apologise that you were not totally satisfied with the room. Currently we are progressing through an on-going refurbishment programme, and I am sorry the room you were allocated had not yet been refurbished.

Once again thank you for all of your comments and we would look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ryan Yallop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The room was tiny, dirty, drafty and in serious need of a refurb. My friends were in the basement so didnt even get sunlight. The bath was too small for me (I am 5ft 2!) so could not relax. My bed was comfy but my friend had wires digging in his back all night.
Went to the bar looking for a relaxing evening after a long day of travel and meetings - shocking experience! My food was ok but not worth the high price. My friends meal was an hour and 15 minutes to arrive and was cold and bad quality. My other friend had to send 2 meals back - the first had no sauce with his steak and his food went cold while he waited 30 mins for it to come. The second steak was a completely different cut of meat and the third was finally right but the chips were underdone.
The staff were unfriendly, clearly unhappy and completely unprefessional - had the cheek to tell us to 'smile' after the last meal finally arrived. They didnt apologise and one of them even blamed his collegue for the mess and the bar manager clearly avoided our table when checking if guests were happy.
Breakfast was barely and improvement, the food was actually nice but stone cold. They serve the coffee to you, so it goes cold rather than hot in a flask. When doing the coffee round, staff failed to come to our table. I actually gave up waiting and went to the staff area and poured my own! Coffee was finally offered 15 mins later. Again, staff were unfriendly.
At check out, when we said we were glad to be leaving, they laughed. No apology or enquiry into our stay!
Overal a shocking experience, will not be going back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan Y, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Debbie T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport.

I would like to apologise that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. At the hotel we are continually striving to offer the very best facilities and service. All of the comments you have raised have been the relevant Department Heads to review this with their teams to ensure that re-training takes place where necessary to ensure that this occurrence doesn’t happen again.

Once again, thank you for your review and we would look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel so you experience our high levels of service.

Kind Regards

Ryan Yallop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Kent, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I chose this hotel as we needed to be near the NEC, and it is easy to find and in the right location. On arrival there was plenty of parking, but the hotel wasn't full up so this may not always be the case. Check-in was OK, but a bit straight laced and gave the impression of aloofness. Lots of staff who seemed not to be doing much but not serving customers,

The room was small but nice and clean, but we could not get any hot water. Reception sorted this by moving us to the room opposite which did have hot water but we ended up leaving the complementary water in the old room! By the time this was all done it was too late to have the swim we had been looking forward to as the pool looked really nice.

We then popped to the bar, wow this is expensive, at nearly £5 a pint for Stella. This is when you realise you are a bit captive, as there is nothing else around. Then off to eat - the prices in the restaurant were on the high side, but I have to say that on arrival at the restaurant the service became friendly, helpful and overall was extremely good. I can say that the food was excellent too, a good choice of wine with very helpful staff suggesting wine choices, Overall a very good meal and dining experience. 5 Stars for this.

Breakfast was the low point, the coffee was awful!!! Stewed and tasteless, no flavour and almost undrinkable. The conveyor toaster burnt each piece of bread and could not be altered! The hot items of food were ok but the whole thing was not good value for money at £14.95. (Tip - get breakfast added the night before for £9,95 - makes it just about ok!)

Overall I think I would have preferred the Holiday Inn Express as I think they have it just right,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan Y, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear SimonKent_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport.

I am pleased to read that there were so many positive points from your stay. All of these have been passed onto the staff involved. Also I have noted your constructive comments which will be used as part of our on-going review of our offering as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality facilities and levels of service.

If I can assist you any further then please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,014 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,772 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,328 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is located just minutes from Jct 6 of the M42, & is only 1.5 mile from Birmingham International Airport & Birmingham International Train Station with easy access to the revitalized Birmingham city centre.The hotel enjoys close proximity (1.5 mile) to National Exhibition Centre (NEC).Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport is a contemporary upscale hotel which offers modern bedrooms with High Speed Internet Access,and Wifi in public areas and conference rooms. The hotel offers a wide range of conference and meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 170 people.With a wide range of food experiences, light modern dishes from The Flight Bar and a fine dining experience in The Grill Room Restaurant created by award winning Chef 'Marcus Renzi'. Alternativley treat yourself to our In Room Dining available 24 hrs a day.Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers Airport Parking both onsite and offsite at very competitive rates. Either flying for business or leisure, you can benefit from our Park and Go packages which include one night's accommodation and car parking for up to 15 days with airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing