We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room. Rude receptionist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Ranked #54 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Dorset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent room. Rude receptionist”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I mistakenly went to the Holiday Inn Express, Birmingham where the receptionist with the nail-art nails was amazingly helpful and helped me transfer to the Holiday Inn Airport, Birmingham.

Upon arrival at the correct hotel it was clear the difference in receptionists in the two hotels was like chalk and cheese. At the HI Airport Hotel the receptionist was curt, rude with absolutely no signs of any hospitality training on how she should treat customers. She (with the initial M to her name) was so bad as a receptionist she was the main subject of guests' chatter of the shuttle bus to the NEC. Proof her rudeness was not just confined to me; she was generally rude to everyone it seemed. With so many personable and polite people looking for work it makes you wonder how this one is in employment and the HI Airport Hotel manager would do well to do something about her treating guests like rubbish.

Apart from her doing her best to sabotage my stay from being a happy one, I can say that my room was lovely, spotless and with a very comfortable bed.

Just shows how the person on the front desk can ruin something.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Dear ElizabethDorset,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I am happy to hear you were pleased with the room accommodations. We highly value all opinions and comments from our guest as this allows us to constantly improve our service. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your dissatisfaction on the level of service encountered from one of our hotel staff. We assure you that we take each comment seriously as it has always been our goal to deliver only the best quality services. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Again, I appreciate the feedback as this is crucial for us to improve the services that we offer. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    480
    361
    207
    168
See reviews for
204
366
89
660
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have stayed here a few times, on the first two occasions I was in the newer part of the hotel which is very nice, on my most recent stay I was in the older part which is a disgraceful dump.
I stayed her because we were using the conference rooms and it very convenient to the airport.
But really the dank musty smell in the basement , the thread bare carpets , portable heaters in rooms, really letting down what is otherwise a decent enough hotel.
Hotel staff were generally very helpfully and friendly but the reception is staffed with a bunch of airheads who let ridiculous queues build up on check in and check out .
Priority club doesn't get you anything here. Food is ok , good breakfast choices.
Very comfortable beds although near the airport expect early wake up call when planes fly directly over in the morning.

Room Tip: Stay away from old part if possible, new section is really nice. If you are in the old section do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joetraynor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Joetraynor1,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warminster
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We booked a room six months in advance as we knew it would be busy for Crufts. Having got over the small bugbear of finding a double instead of the twin room asked for, were thrilled to be given an executive room. It was clean, light, free from noise despite being near the airport and a major road and probably the most comfortable mattress in the world! Staff were polite and helpful, food and drinks were dear but very enjoyable. And the best bit? They were charging £210 a night that weekend, we got ours for £47! Back next year.....you betcha.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jools3256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

At check-in the on-line booking had not completed but they had rooms available. on entering our room we discovered that the heating was not working and only an inadequate portable heater had been provided. Couldn't phone reception so returned to speak to staff. They explained that there was a problem with the heating throughout the hotel, it was currently being looked at but could not advise whether it would be fixed in the next few hours. They could not offer additional heaters and offered extra blankets. Reception and the bars were warm enough - a ploy to keep you drinking there throughout the evening?? We decided that we would not stay as the lack of heating was unacceptable (after paying £85 for a twin). The Duty Manager advised that there would be a £50 early departure payment, which obviously enraged us as the only reason we were leaving was that the hotel was unable to provide a satisfactory service! After heated (sic) retorts from us, pointing out that they had every opportunity to mention this as we checked in to give us the choice whether to stay or not, we convinced the numpty on reception to refund in full. After reading a few reviews, it transpires that the heating was not working last week either, or back as far as Feb! I asked for a carpark refund too, again no recognition from the numpty that this was fair given the circumstances. However as the barrier was not working we got out for free and found a lovely small hotel nearby - the Tristar which was warm, welcoming and cheaper and sound-proofed windows so despite being beside the runway it was peaceful enough for good sleeps!

Room Tip: not 341 as it didn't have any heating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Julie G,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the heating issue and over the unsatisfactory service you received from the staff. Please be assured that your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Birmingham you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I am writing this review based on my recent stay however as I have stayed twice before some of it will include some comments.

My last stay was poor, poor room, changed, poor room again with added hair, changed and last room was okay, at least it was clean, I paid for the stay connected package, don't bother no wireless in the bedroom, god you need something to stop you looking at the dreary room, now previously I had been out in the other side of the hotel, boy them rooms were fine, clean, modern etc, however this trip I turned left as I left reception, if you go in and your room is to the left if reception good luck.

I won't be staying again.

This review is balanced as on this stay only the hotel would have been marked as 1 out of 5 stars

Room Tip: Don't get one of the rooms to the left of reception, they are not good, however to the right is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear BigDan72,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. It is nice to hear that you are a regular visitor to the hotel. I am truly sorry our hotel fell below your expectations this particular stay.The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This hotel doesn't do anything really wrong (apart from the bar food - AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!), but doesn't do anything really right, other than a pretty good breakfast.

I have stayed here a few times, it's convenient for the NEC and by using Trivago I usually get a good rate.

Reception is always a slow process, both checking in and out. There are only ever 2 people on reception and this last time I stayed often for checkout at around 8.30am there was only one person which resulted in huge queues (as you have to get your car park ticket validated to exit).

The rooms are okay, clean, looked after. The hall carpeting is a bit shabby but the rooms pass muster. The Exec rooms in the new wing are good.

The bar, once again, is pretty average with high prices and on-off service.

Restaurant is pretty reasonable - pricey but the food is generally pretty good and service was efficient.

The breakfasts are good, buffet style.

This place wont blow you away that's for sure, but you can book and feel reasonably confident in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turnpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Turnpig,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

From the moment you enter the car park and have to park illegally like the 20 or so other cars, to the 6 minute wait at reception with 2 staff with no eye contact, never mind acknowledgement you're there while they discuss something between themselves (no other guests in front of us in the queue approx 10pm 27/2), to the bedroom that clearly had been smoked in, to the empty mini bar that costs £50 as a deposit to be stocked ( how to make a guest feel trusted!!!!) which is locked so you can't refrigerate your own drinks, to the kitchen door in the corridor wedged open with a frying pan, to the table at the bar which tilts over 6 inches when you put a drink on it. Is this possibly the worst Holiday Inn in Britain??

Room Tip: Don't choose one at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear John P,

Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the condition of the room you were given and inconvenience you may have experienced upon check in. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments.

We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is located just minutes from Jct 6 of the M42, & is only 1.5 mile from Birmingham International Airport & Birmingham International Train Station with easy access to the revitalized Birmingham city centre.The hotel enjoys close proximity (1.5 mile) to National Exhibition Centre (NEC).Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport is a contemporary upscale hotel which offers modern bedrooms with High Speed Internet Access,and Wifi in public areas and conference rooms. The hotel offers a wide range of conference and meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 170 people.With a wide range of food experiences, light modern dishes from The Flight Bar and a fine dining experience in The Grill Room Restaurant created by award winning Chef 'Marcus Renzi'. Alternativley treat yourself to our In Room Dining available 24 hrs a day.Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers Airport Parking both onsite and offsite at very competitive rates. Either flying for business or leisure, you can benefit from our Park and Go packages which include one night's accommodation and car parking for up to 15 days with airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing