We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, shame about the place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Ranked #58 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Conveniently located for the airport and the NEC, on the A45 - which means there are road noise issues. The staff, especially in the restaurant and bar, are very good whereas the overall management of the hotel seems to be very poor. Food is limited and very over-priced. No wifi in the rooms, limited in the bar area (though you can pay for internet access via a LAN cable if you have a PC with a suitable port - though not a Mac!). Expensive for what it offers. Will do my utmost not to end up here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyHedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear JohnnyHedgehog,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,694)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,694 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Met up with friends and stayed over for the evening. Although it was busy all the staff were very effeicent and pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble for them
Had a lovely meal in the restaurant. Room was nice and clean with a good sized bed and excellent pillows. Well equipped bathroom with an excellent shower.
Found the hotel very clean and a pleasant relaxing atmosphere.
Spa and pool were out of use but this didnt affect us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tezmo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear tezmo49,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

It is great to read such positive feedback following a guest stay with us.

I thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Food is average and extremely pricey. Service in the restaurant is also quite poor. Executive rooms are refurbished and very nice although my shower was hanging off the wall. What was quite disturbing though was that a male member of staff entered my room at 12.20am 'to set up the room'. Very odd that he didn't actually turn on the lights but was snooping around. Very concerning. Raised a complaint with the manager and received no response. Escalated at various levels and now the CEO but little interest in this concerning matter. Still awaiting a satisfactory response.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are refurbished and substantially better than the standard rooms which are sub stand...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Kevin L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Positives: Clean, well-maintained hotel with ample parking, close to Birmingham Airport and the NEC. The room was surprisingly impressive; modern, spacious and well-equipped, with a large king-size bed and high quality sheets/ pillows/ bedding. The recreational facilities are also decent, featuring a large swimming pool, hot tub (although it wasn't hot, and the jets didn't work), steam room and exercise area.

Negatives: The hotel seems to be poorly managed, with not enough staff. Check-in took absolutely ages, especially since there was one receptionist working at a time when many guests were arriving (early evening). We had booked an executive room, which was supposed to come with additional amenities, but none of these "extras" were present... plus we needed extra towels (booked for 3 of us, and only 2 sets in the bathroom). I tried many times to phone down to inquire; housekeeping, reception, concierge... no answer. Came down to the reception later, and the "solo" receptionist was there... worked off her feet. In all fairness, she was pleasant and very helpful... but told me it was her last day as she could no longer stand constantly being left to work alone during busy periods! In addition to this, the hotel was fairly expensive (paid as much as I would for a London hotel) and the restaurant was ridiculously overpriced for mediocre quality.

Verdict: This has the potential to be a great hotel - the "raw ingredients" are there - but management needs to ensure there are more staff working and need to pay attention to details.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR_Cox_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear AR_Cox_,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear that you liked our hotel location, modern and spacious rooms and excellent bedding collection. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to guest services. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

As a previous poster's written, Ludvik (if that's right) is basically holding the fort together on the customer service front. I have to say his manner is truly warming, and personally being a customer service professional myself, he really does deserve a promotion!

The situation described by Laura (who's now had a formal response, I'm pleased to see) is 100% accurate, I'm the colleague that booked the rooms.

As it stands, the food's over priced, and IMO of a poor quality. One of the fire doors didn't close properly, i.e. the twin fire doors located at the bottom of the stairs.

I could moan about the staff and the handling of the situation re the no room for Laura. The poor receptionists did the best they could to fan the flames. One of them eventually went and got the manager, who informed us that the booking system had been down for nearly a week. I'm aware others had the same experience. As a large corporate you'd have thought Holiday Inn would have paid the money to get the IT bods to fix the situation quick smart.... but no. Surely a busy airport location, with many customers passing through, the hotel should be a flag ship!

As said though, the bar manager was truly trying his best to raise the spirits of the punters and his colleagues alike! A very good man indeed with fantastic people skills!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snakes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Snakes72,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, as these are invaluable in assisting us in improving the service and facilities we offer.
Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. We are especially pleased that you were able to recognize the efforts that our team made to deliver a good experience for every guest. The team are the heart and soul of our of hotel so it’s very gratifying to see that, despite your other concerns, they were able to demonstrate great hospitality.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with other aspects of your stay and we will certainly review your comments with the concerned departments to identify opportunities for improvement.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked for our Sunday lunch well in advance, however on arrival we had no reservation in the restaurant,after being told that we are fully booked(at least 20empty tables) we was given a table.
We where seated and presented with our menu's. With our deal we had a 'glass' of pressecco each, I was hoping for a full glass not the 1/2 we actually got.
Starters arrived and these where ok but a little tight with the whitebait about 9! My wife's starter was cleared whilst still eating the bread from the over seasoned soup.
Now for the main course, Sunday carvery, 3 of us had beef,2 very tough and fatty 3rd portion was offered as new beef joint, 1 roast pork with no crackiling but was offered some 'fat'. Veg was not good, tinned or frozen overcooked carrots, deep fried roast potatoes again looked bought in, overcooked cauliflower cheese.
Dessert was order and they ran out of one.
Bill arrived without been offered coffee, the bill was wrong on presentation we had been charged for £20 of drinks we had not had. Upon standing up to leave a member of the waiting staff almost knocked my farther in law over with a rush to clear the table and go home!
It is easy to say we will not be returning here, as the whole meal was not a pleasant experience.
Even with our groupon voucher this was not value for money!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Steve C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. It is unfortunate the service and food you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Nice hotel, good room size, comfy and clean!
I was staying there for a business trip - and was surprised to see how posh the room looked, was clean and did look like it was one of the better hotels i had stayed at


Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank hediel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear hediel h,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. It is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#34 of 118 in Birmingham
1,114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
1,854 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
1.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £52 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is located just minutes from Jct 6 of the M42, & is only 1.5 mile from Birmingham International Airport & Birmingham International Train Station with easy access to the revitalized Birmingham city centre.The hotel enjoys close proximity (1.5 mile) to National Exhibition Centre (NEC).Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport is a contemporary upscale hotel which offers modern bedrooms with High Speed Internet Access,and Wifi in public areas and conference rooms. The hotel offers a wide range of conference and meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 170 people.With a wide range of food experiences, light modern dishes from The Flight Bar and a fine dining experience in The Grill Room Restaurant created by award winning Chef 'Marcus Renzi'. Alternativley treat yourself to our In Room Dining available 24 hrs a day.Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers Airport Parking both onsite and offsite at very competitive rates. Either flying for business or leisure, you can benefit from our Park and Go packages which include one night's accommodation and car parking for up to 15 days with airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing