We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Tri-Star Hotel(Solihull)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Genting Hotel(Birmingham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,858)
Filter reviews
1,858 results
Traveller rating
485
548
406
229
190
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
548
406
229
190
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa free shuttle busexecutive roomleisure facilitiessteam roomthe sofa bedgenting arenaone night staynecrunwayearplugsconferenceconcert
Filter
Updating list...
1,264 - 1,269 of 1,858 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights in Oct as were visiting the nearby NEC Caravan & Motorhome exhibition.
Despite the critical reviews we found the staff friendly and helpful at all times. Our room on the second floor (336) was clean and tidy. We ate in the restaurant one evening and found the food to be of a reasonable standard although a little overpriced. Parking for two days was £8:50.
We had booked early to get a good price (£88:00 for two nights) and were more than happy with the result.

Room Tip: Upper rooms to the front are newer and quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipC858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear PhilipC858,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff and the room accommodations you received. We apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Conveniently located for the airport and the NEC, on the A45 - which means there are road noise issues. The staff, especially in the restaurant and bar, are very good whereas the overall management of the hotel seems to be very poor. Food is limited and very over-priced. No wifi in the rooms, limited in the bar area (though you can pay for internet access via a LAN cable if you have a PC with a suitable port - though not a Mac!). Expensive for what it offers. Will do my utmost not to end up here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyHedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear JohnnyHedgehog,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Met up with friends and stayed over for the evening. Although it was busy all the staff were very effeicent and pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble for them
Had a lovely meal in the restaurant. Room was nice and clean with a good sized bed and excellent pillows. Well equipped bathroom with an excellent shower.
Found the hotel very clean and a pleasant relaxing atmosphere.
Spa and pool were out of use but this didnt affect us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tezmo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear tezmo49,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

It is great to read such positive feedback following a guest stay with us.

I thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Food is average and extremely pricey. Service in the restaurant is also quite poor. Executive rooms are refurbished and very nice although my shower was hanging off the wall. What was quite disturbing though was that a male member of staff entered my room at 12.20am 'to set up the room'. Very odd that he didn't actually turn on the lights but was snooping around. Very concerning. Raised a complaint with the manager and received no response. Escalated at various levels and now the CEO but little interest in this concerning matter. Still awaiting a satisfactory response.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are refurbished and substantially better than the standard rooms which are sub standard.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Kevin L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Positives: Clean, well-maintained hotel with ample parking, close to Birmingham Airport and the NEC. The room was surprisingly impressive; modern, spacious and well-equipped, with a large king-size bed and high quality sheets/ pillows/ bedding. The recreational facilities are also decent, featuring a large swimming pool, hot tub (although it wasn't hot, and the jets didn't work), steam room and exercise area.

Negatives: The hotel seems to be poorly managed, with not enough staff. Check-in took absolutely ages, especially since there was one receptionist working at a time when many guests were arriving (early evening). We had booked an executive room, which was supposed to come with additional amenities, but none of these "extras" were present... plus we needed extra towels (booked for 3 of us, and only 2 sets in the bathroom). I tried many times to phone down to inquire; housekeeping, reception, concierge... no answer. Came down to the reception later, and the "solo" receptionist was there... worked off her feet. In all fairness, she was pleasant and very helpful... but told me it was her last day as she could no longer stand constantly being left to work alone during busy periods! In addition to this, the hotel was fairly expensive (paid as much as I would for a London hotel) and the restaurant was ridiculously overpriced for mediocre quality.

Verdict: This has the potential to be a great hotel - the "raw ingredients" are there - but management needs to ensure there are more staff working and need to pay attention to details.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR_Cox_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear AR_Cox_,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear that you liked our hotel location, modern and spacious rooms and excellent bedding collection. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to guest services. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews