We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“avoid this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Ranked #54 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Bristol
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“avoid this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

we stayed in a Queens executive suite the room was quite nice but the curtains dont close leaving a four inch gap in the middle so let in the light. The hospitality tray was very poor . Marstons,innkeepers and wetherlodges are all better. There is a Crown Plaza hotel very near this hotel and you will get a better service and reception than at this hotel

Room Tip: avoid a upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shep-pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear shep-pc,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you were happy with the room. The comments you have raised on your curtains and hospitality tray will form part of the next review of bedrooms that takes place early 2014.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I would look forward to you staying with us again in future to see our improved standards.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    473
    356
    205
    164
See reviews for
202
354
88
649
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

On arrival took ages to check in due to lack of staff. My room smelt of stale smoke and was very cold. The duvet on my bed was so thin i was freezing and there was only a very thin extra blanket. My lights by the bed did not work so couldn't read before going to sleep. Having said this the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good. The room rate was 210 pounds which I thought was totally over the top for a mediocre hotel

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maddiesmum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Maddiesmum21,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is sad to hear your comments following your stay. The points your have risen with regards your bedroom & staffing levels have been added to our on-going development review. This will aid us in driving the hotel forward into 2014.

Once again I thank you for your valued comments and do hope that this has not deterred you from staying with us again in future to experience our usually high standards.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here as had a early morning flight never again
Only booked this as the premier inn was fully booked
Staff we're not very pleasant the room was ok but very overpriced in the bar area
When we asked the bar man if they were doing food he replied in such a manner no please thank you nothing
Never stay here again

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Richard S,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us.

The comments you have raised are not something which we drive for here at the hotel and have been addressed with the relevant departments to ensure that they do not arise again.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in future to showcase our usually high standards.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Booked into the hotel, first room was the dirtiest room I have ever stayed in. The actual duvet was very badly stained. The duvet cover had several pubic hairs. We went to reception and their attitude was one off no interest in helping us. It was as if they are so used to criticism. The reception manager Fictoria Palmer offered us another room, which surprise surprise had hairs on the duvet, carpet was filthy and needed hoovered. So again we went to reception and Victoria offered us an upgrade. The third room was clean other than stains on the throw at the bottom of the bed.

I have stayed in many a holiday inn but never one was dirty and unkempt as this place. I requested they lodge a complaint with the General Manager however he has made no contact.
I would avoid this hotel at all costs, the rooms are dirty, unkempt and the restaurant is over priced. It costs £17.50 for a very standard breakfast. We had stayed in the Holiday Inn express shrewsbury the previous two nights and the hotel was immaculate.

Room Tip: Book a room in another hotel and avoid!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear IrelandSummer,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

It is sad to hear the comments you have raised from during your time with us, all of which have been raised with our Executive Housekeeper & Reception Manager to ensure that this does not happen again in the future.

I do hope that you will take your next opportunity to stay with us to give us the opportunity to showcase our usually high standards to you.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The rooms were fine and clean for what u might be looking for in a short stay. however some of the waiting staff in the morning were very slow about there work ( I do have experience in this field) as I noticed the manager running about after them as well telling them every little thing to do and the food was ok if you are hungry.

Helpful?
Thank ShinShinxx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear ShinShinxx,

Thank you for your comments following your time with us.

The comments you have raised have been addressed with our Food & Beverage Operations Manager to ensure that the standards are addressed within the department.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We'll by airport standards this hotel was a real disappointment,it hasn't got many positives to say except it is close to the airport.I found the room dirty looking,stains all around the bed base and very poor paintwork throughout the whole hotel.The carpets are all in poor condition.The hotel was noisy all night to the point I had to complain about the 4am full blown party over the corridor.The food and bar prices are exceptionally high even by airport standards,the breakfast was Luke warm at best and we ate at 0630am when it opened,and when you think it can't be any worse they charge you £17 a night to park your car.

Room Tip: The rear rooms overlook the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebedee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear zebedee07,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

The comments that you have brought to my attention will be addressed with my Heads of Department and actions made going forward to ensure that this is not something that happens again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here for one night before early morning flight to Turkey, and for location with airport only 5 mins away by car, it was ideal.
However, food and drinks are not cheap for very average refreshment. We were only in the rather small bar/lounge for about an hour, and quickly spent £100 (for two of us)!

We retired to bed quite early (about 10p.m.) ready for our early get-up, only to discover we were in a room with adjoining door to next room who insisted on playing music and films very loudly! After a couple of hours (just after midnight) and still no sleep, we were forced to go to reception to complain or ask if we could move rooms. Have to say, the night manager was extremely understanding and very pleasant, and said he would go to sort out the noise. We really didn't hold out much hope, but within 10 minutes the noise had stopped! What a star!!

So in summary, this hotel is great for location close to the airport, very clean with all staff very friendly and professional, but we would not want to stay here for more than one night as don't think we could afford the bar bill and lack of sleep!!

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor and if you have adjoining rooms asked to be moved
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnkluvstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear cnkluvstravel,

Thank your for your review following your stay with us.

It is great to read your positive comments and I am pleased to hear that the minor issue you had was resolved as quickly as possible by our friendly night team.

I look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is located just minutes from Jct 6 of the M42, & is only 1.5 mile from Birmingham International Airport & Birmingham International Train Station with easy access to the revitalized Birmingham city centre.The hotel enjoys close proximity (1.5 mile) to National Exhibition Centre (NEC).Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport is a contemporary upscale hotel which offers modern bedrooms with High Speed Internet Access,and Wifi in public areas and conference rooms. The hotel offers a wide range of conference and meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 170 people.With a wide range of food experiences, light modern dishes from The Flight Bar and a fine dining experience in The Grill Room Restaurant created by award winning Chef 'Marcus Renzi'. Alternativley treat yourself to our In Room Dining available 24 hrs a day.Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers Airport Parking both onsite and offsite at very competitive rates. Either flying for business or leisure, you can benefit from our Park and Go packages which include one night's accommodation and car parking for up to 15 days with airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing