We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs investigation for Holiday Inn status - Poor in every respect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Ranked #55 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 18 November 2013

There is something seriously not right about this hotel and I have stayed in thousands. Arrived and found it easily at cross roads not far from NEC and Birmingham Intl rail station and airport, so good location. Parking charged at 8.50 per night for guests. I had pre booked and paid and money had left my account, 3 nights for the Classic car exhibition at NEC. Attempted to check in with front desk staff, nothing was said, a man appear from a back room to tell me my booking was "not in their system". I produced my written information and booking confirmation. He then told me he would bus me to another hotel 15 minutes away. After some assertive discussion, in which I asked him what the scam was? He suddenly found me room 316, now there is a surprise! I later discovered that he wanted to send me to the Hilton Coventry which is 15 miles away. Could it be that as I only paid 39 pounds per night via the internet and their tariff wanted 210 per night, he preferred to sell to walk in punters who had not booked? Unproven, but a theory. He then told me that 2 other of my colleagues we not booked in, I insisted they would be and he agreed.
Later I discovered they had 30 rooms over booked and a whole lot of people from Ireland got shifted, not so great for them as it meant they needed to leave at 6 am every morning if they were exhibitors at the NEC.
The room was small but clean, heating via a very noisy aircon unit, so no sleep if it was on. There also appeared to be a fan come on humming from around 4 am most mornings and early aircraft taking off. The basin sink drain was revolting with smells wafting up. Mini bar, no stock!
3 or 4 plug sockets not working, wonder when they we electrically checked?
Bar, understaffed and 15 minute wait for a drink. Restaurant packed, mixed grill looked burnt and dried out, could not be bothered to send it back as was lucky to get anything! Breakfast a help yourself style. food luke warm.
We got what we paid for as 40 pounds was all I would pay, basically they have a captive audience and could not give much care as more customers than beds. Probably worst Holiday inn I have stayed in in last 10 years. Poor, average at best.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JockLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear JockLondon_England,

Thank you for your recent comments following your stay with us.

Firstly please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you faced upon your arrival at the hotel.

There have been several learning points from the Classic Car Show 2013 for the hotel, some of which you have raised in your review, and these will form part of our on-going action plan into 2014 to drive the customer service levels here at the hotel.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience during your stay & I do hope that this rare occurrence does not deter you from staying with us again in future where we will be able to deliver our usually high levels of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Nice hotel, good location, the room looked great. But the bed was awful, far too soft and we hardly slept at all. The room was also very dusty, not great for me as I am allergic to dust. The breakfast was standard buffet, no complaints, and everything else about our stay was very pleasant. I guess that if you stay in a different room with a good mattress and don't have a dust allergy then you'll be fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Sue K,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

It is great to hear that you were happy with many elements of your stay, and please rest assured that the points you have risen which could have been improved will be worked upon with my team to ensure that this is not something that happens again in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

it started with unhelpful staff in reception, then when they found our booking after 40 minutes why we had drinks from the overprice bar, airport prices or what, wanted to charge us £59 each, we'd booked double room which was £59 + £10 ea for breakfast, only 1 light of 3 worked, pubic hair everywhere, cobwebs, took photos, very noisy aircon from main building, our aircon didn't work, stuffy dirty room, we got moved as we couldn't sleep due to noise, didn't get to sleep due to being stressed out from everything to do with this place, breakfast was poor, cheap sausages, rubber eggs, cold coffee, when we checked out they couldn't find us yet again, then tried to charge us for the other room that they had moved us to, & wanted to charge us £2 each more for breakfast, breakfast being £10, or 17.95 if you pay on the day, rip off, I sent emails to holiday inn which they thanked me for my candid review, little or no interest, just fobbed off, if you would of paided as you leave I would not of paided, stick to premier inn or travel lodge, they seem to care

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Brian S,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us.

Comments of this nature are taken very seriously by the hotel. Customer Satisfaction is our main goal here at the hotel. With this in mind I will be raising all of your comments with my relevant department heads to ensure that training and development takes place within the team to ensure that this is not something that happens again in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The marks I have given are for all the other staff and facilities , but not the breakfast staff 3 for breakfast Saturday tables dirty, no plate, no spoon, no coffee, three staff and a supervisor.
Two female waitresses sauntered around the restaurant , while the supervisor rushed around trying to clean up, que for coffee non stop due to only one coffee container, supervisor brings in three plates what was the point, and will some one teach the chef to cook scrabbled eggs as I don't believe that these were made with eggs(pale mush strange vile taste) eat out lovely fresh breakfast next day at the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayak50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Kayak50,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us.

It was sad to read that your breakfast experience with us was not what you had expected. The comments you have raised have been addressed with my Food & Beverage Operations Manager to ensure that further instances of this doe not happen again in future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

we stayed in a Queens executive suite the room was quite nice but the curtains dont close leaving a four inch gap in the middle so let in the light. The hospitality tray was very poor . Marstons,innkeepers and wetherlodges are all better. There is a Crown Plaza hotel very near this hotel and you will get a better service and reception than at this hotel

Room Tip: avoid a upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shep-pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear shep-pc,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you were happy with the room. The comments you have raised on your curtains and hospitality tray will form part of the next review of bedrooms that takes place early 2014.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I would look forward to you staying with us again in future to see our improved standards.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

On arrival took ages to check in due to lack of staff. My room smelt of stale smoke and was very cold. The duvet on my bed was so thin i was freezing and there was only a very thin extra blanket. My lights by the bed did not work so couldn't read before going to sleep. Having said this the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good. The room rate was 210 pounds which I thought was totally over the top for a mediocre hotel

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Maddiesmum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Maddiesmum21,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is sad to hear your comments following your stay. The points your have risen with regards your bedroom & staffing levels have been added to our on-going development review. This will aid us in driving the hotel forward into 2014.

Once again I thank you for your valued comments and do hope that this has not deterred you from staying with us again in future to experience our usually high standards.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here as had a early morning flight never again
Only booked this as the premier inn was fully booked
Staff we're not very pleasant the room was ok but very overpriced in the bar area
When we asked the bar man if they were doing food he replied in such a manner no please thank you nothing
Never stay here again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBirminghamAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Richard S,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us.

The comments you have raised are not something which we drive for here at the hotel and have been addressed with the relevant departments to ensure that they do not arise again.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in future to showcase our usually high standards.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
1,225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
2,496 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £46 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is located just minutes from Jct 6 of the M42, & is only 1.5 mile from Birmingham International Airport & Birmingham International Train Station with easy access to the revitalized Birmingham city centre.The hotel enjoys close proximity (1.5 mile) to National Exhibition Centre (NEC).Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport is a contemporary upscale hotel which offers modern bedrooms with High Speed Internet Access,and Wifi in public areas and conference rooms. The hotel offers a wide range of conference and meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 170 people.With a wide range of food experiences, light modern dishes from The Flight Bar and a fine dining experience in The Grill Room Restaurant created by award winning Chef 'Marcus Renzi'. Alternativley treat yourself to our In Room Dining available 24 hrs a day.Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers Airport Parking both onsite and offsite at very competitive rates. Either flying for business or leisure, you can benefit from our Park and Go packages which include one night's accommodation and car parking for up to 15 days with airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing