We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great location near the Airport. Good rooms. Poor food in the bar and also at breakfast, don't pay the extra £10 and save it for the airport where it is better quality and at cheaper price. Overall a good stop over for the Airport.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,690)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Found the hotel convenient to stay in to visit the NEC. Unfortunately the restaurant left a lot to be desired. Our reservation for 12 people had been booked as we arrived mysteriously changed and we were not informed. We were informed that unless we ate off the same menu there would be a delay. We sat down at 19.30 and the first course arrived at 21.00 hrs. We were informed they were very busy although there were empty tables and no one queuing. We wanted our meal added to our accounts but a bill was printed off which included all our meals which then had to be cancelled and individual bills produced for us to sign. It was now well passed 22.00 hrs. The second night was not much better with the all you can eat buffet for £19.95 which consisted of cottage pie, haddock in a sauce, cannelloni, chicken in a sauce, peas, carrots, potatoes, coleslaw, cheese salad, tomatoes and lettuce. They ran out of plates and there was no one on hand to put put Morelia, the veg disappeared quickly and we were left waiting for more than 5 minutes until more arrived by which time the cannelloni went cold. On checking out the final bill was wrong my room number had been put against someone else's meal. Nice hotel but the dining room is a shambles.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Jayne E,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are truly sorry for the issues and any inconvenience you experienced in the restaurant. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stay here regularly as there is little choice in this area of birmingham. Has a gym and pool and now free wifi which is a bonus. Food in the restaurant and bar is expensive for what you get. Some rooms in the older part of the hotel ( left of reception) are a bit shabby and have a stale smoke smell to them, much better on the other side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to go for the right side of the hotel, better rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SammyJoe37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear SammyJoe37,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the fitness center, pool and the internet access.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the condition of some part of the property. We will look into this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport on a late Saturday evening and welcomed as IHG Platinum Ambassador members and we were in our suite quickly after checking in.

The suite was better than we expected with ground level lighting along the hallway leading to the spacious lounge with a bedroom separated by sliding doors. The lounge was ideal with sofa, armchair, coffee table where there were complimentary bottles of water, juice and chocolate. Tea/coffee selection, large TV with freeview channels. The large wardrobe contained bathrobes and slippers, and a good amount of storage space.

The bedroom was a quiet space with large TV again with a good selection of channels and there was good lighting in the room, the bed was sumptuous and when the doors were closed there was no outside noise and was very comfortable. The bathroom was modern with bathtub and separate shower cubicle and there was a good selection of toiletries.

We used the Shuttle Bus service the following day to the railway station and was organised quickly by the reception staff. We found the hotel to be an ideal choice when using Birmingham Airport; the staff members we encountered were friendly and efficient and we would stay again in future when in the area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The venue was perfect as we lived within half a mile. We had 120 guests.
The Lancaster suite was ideal, roomy and well laid out with its own bar.
The food was first class.
The accommodation was great.
The staff were extremely helpful in making all the arrangements and help with surprises etc.
The restaurant and breakfast next morning was also first class.
It was really a great evening and party, a night to remember.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Booked 2 rooms at the HI BHX Airport the night prior to our travels and was extremely disappointed. Called ahead to arrange inter-leading rooms (as kids in the other room) - no such luck upon check-in. Hotel is in major need of a revamp and is looking really tired. Service in the restaurant was appalling - waited over 1 hour for our food (eventually had to speak to the Manager) and the restaurant was not even packed.
As a travel agent, I would hesitate booking my corporate clients into this hotel at the moment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashwellk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Ashwellk,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. I apologize for the areas that we may have fallen short particularly with the level of customer service you received. I appreciate your feedback which will help us improve our service and accommodations for each guest.

Again, thank you so much for your comments. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last weekend with our infant. They said 45 minutes wait for couple of drinks even though the bar was slow. Also there was a charge of £3 just to bring empty plates up. My husband just went and got it himself. The worst part of the whole experience is that there was two different charges for breakfast. If you booked through receiption it is £10 but £15 if you went directly to the restaurant. How bizzare.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank cynthia_thumati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear cynthia_thumati,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Birmingham.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#36 of 118 in Birmingham
1,099 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
1,853 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
1.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £53 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is located just minutes from Jct 6 of the M42, & is only 1.5 mile from Birmingham International Airport & Birmingham International Train Station with easy access to the revitalized Birmingham city centre.The hotel enjoys close proximity (1.5 mile) to National Exhibition Centre (NEC).Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport is a contemporary upscale hotel which offers modern bedrooms with High Speed Internet Access,and Wifi in public areas and conference rooms. The hotel offers a wide range of conference and meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 170 people.With a wide range of food experiences, light modern dishes from The Flight Bar and a fine dining experience in The Grill Room Restaurant created by award winning Chef 'Marcus Renzi'. Alternativley treat yourself to our In Room Dining available 24 hrs a day.Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers Airport Parking both onsite and offsite at very competitive rates. Either flying for business or leisure, you can benefit from our Park and Go packages which include one night's accommodation and car parking for up to 15 days with airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing