We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Business type hotel, WSYWYG”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Ranked #39 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Spent 5 nights there for the Birmingham 2013 Spring Fair, Jewelry show. I had read the reviews about the hotel before going there and putting aside some of the more subjective comments I can confirm the rest.
Situation: Spitting distance from the NEC but if you don't have a car, which was my case its £7,20 to/from the airport and £5 to £7.50, depending on the cab company, to/from the NEC, the private mini-cabs (AAA) being the best positioned and don't think of walking, you'd get run over at the first roundabout
The Hotel. Not easy to say how many stars this hotel has without looking at the brochure, an over sized 2 Star?
The reception. Check in/check out was quick and efficient and generally with a smile
The room. Clean with double bed, 2 good points! Tea/coffee facilities another good point, the view from the window overlooking the back and the dustbins... at least close the lids on the dustbins and close the door of the dustbin area, please.
The bathroom. Can't see why people complain about there not being a bath, if most of the visitors are business travelers like me they don't have time to lounge in a bath, prefer to do that at home. More important is that there's very hot water and ample fresh towels, changed everyday... No complimentary products though :(
...so far so good, now for the food and Breakfast
Evening meals.
First evening I followed the reviews I read and made a beeline for the "Little Owl" pub complex next door for dinner. Had a so-so nice-ish meal. Went the following evening it was packed and was told I had to wait for an hour and a half so I went back to the hotel and waited "Just" 50 minutes for a curry. The following evening I skipped going to the pub (shame) and tried my luck with the food in the hotel in the end I learnt that if you go early enough the wait is only about 15 or 20 minutes. Moral of the story. If you don't have transport you're stuck !
(poor lad at the hotel bar counter seemed to be perpetually apologizing for the long wait for the food!)
Breakfast. OK so its complementary but I've eaten a fair amount of "Complementary" breakfasts in a variety of 3 star chain Hotels around the world but even the more nondescript ones manage to put some regional specialties on the buffet...whatever... I came prepared so I wasn't disappointed... sausages, baked beans, (re-hydrated) scrambled eggs (the same the world over) and bacon, straight forward plain substance to tie you over till lunch.
Conclusion. Busy hotel, ideal for the NEC, ideal for a business stopover…

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the dustbins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickRichards38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJT123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, your feedback is important and assists us in improving our service. We are currently reviewing our dinner offering and plan to implement a new menu within 8 weeks; I will ensure that our Food and Beverage team are fully trained to deliver an efficient and welcome service to all our guests. I hope that you will visit us again in the future should your travel plans bring you back to the area. Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

828 - 834 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night and paid over £130 for a room, room clean but felt small, no bath just a shower in my room.

Breakfast pretty poor with bacon, sausage, beans and scrambled egg the hot choice.

Customer service from staff mixed, lovely on check in and check out. I did however leave something in my room and called to see if it had been handed in by housekeeping, I had to ring back 2 days later. By chance I was passing on my way back north 3 days later so decided to go in person to try again, staff not interested at all just saying no without making an effort to really help.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david1978uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJT123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel, I was pleased to read that our Reception team were welcoming, however disappointed that our complimentary breakfast did not meet with your approval; we recently added bacon to our hot offering and continue to look at ways to improve our breakfast buffet. Should you wish to contact me directly regarding your lost property, I will endeavour to investigate this matter further.

Once again thank you for your feedback, as this assists us in improving our service and product. I hope that you will choose to book with us again should your travel plans bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This is a current review as i'm still staying at the hotel till Wednesday 23rd January. Booked in at the hotel which was painless and easy, extended my stay by a day also painless and easy. My room is nice and clean, a little noisy but totally acceptable.

This is where it ends i'm afraid, The first night i ordered a standard burger and chips which arrived cold and without any sauces or cutlery !! The second night i ordered a curry at 19h43 and it arrived at my table at exactly 20h53 !! 1 hour and 10 min to receive my dinner !! i complainer to the duty Manager who apologised and blamed the snow for the delay of the food !!! she told me she would take this off my bill which is all well and fine but not the reason i complained .... If they had only told me from the start that the food would be late it would have been acceptable but they even after i returned to my seat were taking orders without telling the residents their was a problem ... Tonight is the third night and i decided to eat at the pub next door as i was not taking any further chances !!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJT123, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, I am pleased to read that your arrival was dealt with efficiently and your room was satisfactory. My apologies that the service you experienced during dinner was not to the standard we aspire to provide. We did experience very late unexpected high demand over the weekend, due to the weather conditions. I have discussed your comments with our Food and Beverage team to ensure the when delays are unavoidable that this is communicated to our guests in the future.

I am disappointed that I was unable to receive your feedback whilst you were staying with us. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, should your travel plans bring you to the area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Sorry to be negative but I can't think of anything good to say about this hotel. It's shabby, expensive, unfriendly and I struggle to see why it hi branded wish I had stayed two miles away at the holiday inn.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffswork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJT123, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you for your comments, feedback is important to us; we are disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our aim is to make all of our guest welcome during their stay and would like to offer our apologies that you did not feel so during your visit.

I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future so that we may restore your faith in our hotel and the Holiday Inn Express Brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Very comfortable rooms, had a good nights sleep before flying.Car was parked and left in car park until we returned , no problems. A taxi to the airport was £6 and reception booked it for us the night before as we left too early to use the hotel shuttle. Breakfast is included in the price but hot food is not available for early flights, however the continental provided was adequate, cereal, toast etc. Didn't eat in the hotel in the evening but did use The Little Owl pub next door, very reasonable prices and tasty food. If you don't book a taxi back to collect your car jumping in a black cab will cost £10, all in all I would use this hotel again. The car was safe and it saves getting up at unearthly hours to get to the airport. The staff were helpful and friendly and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil_ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJT123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for your review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our location was suited to your stay prior to flying out from Birmingham Airport. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I try not to give bad reviews but this hotel merits one for the food in my opinion.

The breakfast is complimentary and while offering a range of hot and cold I would avoid the cooked breakfast as the bacon was so tough I thought I was eating the display bacon by mistake. I was hoping for sausages instead but was warned they are even worse. The fruit juice is a watery concentrate too.

The evening meals are very disappointing and mostly warmed up or microwaved. I have searched the menu is vain for some tasty and edible food but failed so I have moved to another hotel in desperation.

If you wisely choose not to dine there the rooms are OK - clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. In particular Carly is lovely. The staff try hard but are let down by the catering. I think that the senior management should actually dine there one night to see why they may not be getting repeat bookings.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJT123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and for the positive feedback regarding the team.
I am disappointed that our food offering did not meet your expectations, we are changing the breakfast drinks options this month to improve the quality and I have instructed our Kitchen Manger to ensure the bacon is not left to dry out. Our dinner menu is also changing following the feedback we have received, with the anticipation this will be in place by March.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, to restore your faith in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed for one night as we were attending a concert at the LG arena.
Room was fine, beds comfortable ( one was a sofa bed) but we had to ask for pillows, as none provided on sofa bed.
Staff were fast friendly and efficient.
However breakfast was a shambles, everything seemed to be in short supply, from crockery and cutlery to all the food items, folks had to stand around waiting for items to be brought out , one got the impression that perhaps kitchen staff were in short supply also.

Otherwise we enjoyed our stay and would use the hotel again, but perhaps come down for breakfast very early or later.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJT123, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us, I was pleased to read that your room was comfortable and the staff you encountered were friendly. I was however very disappointed to read your comments regarding the breakfast service, we have taken steps recently to improve this service; unfortunately this seems to not have been apparent on the morning you describe. I have made the Kitchen Manager aware of your experience to ensure that the front of house service is constantly monitored. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.9 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £54 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. The hotel Reception, lounge and bar are stylish and comfy, having been totally transformed in a refurbishment in 2018. Dinner is served in the lounge and pizzas are available 24/7. Free WiFi, a well stocked bar and flatscreen TVs all make the lounge a great place to relax with friends and colleagues. Our modern rooms feature comfy beds, en-suites with power showers and air-conditioning. The rooms are kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing stay including free Wi-Fi, 32-inch TVs with Freeview and a choice of pillows. The hotel has ample parking and is charged at £8 per night for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing