We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Ranked #39 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the Birmingham NEC Holiday Inn Express for two nights while attending a car show at the NEC a few weeks ago. The room prices were very reasonable at £60 per night including a cooked breakfast. The bedrooms were basic but perfect for what we needed - and even had a power shower too which was a big surprise! The breakfast was a bit poor, only sausages eggs and beans on offer, along with toast, fruit and yoghurt, but it was enough to feed me so I can't complain. The reception staff were very helpful in directing us to the NEC via walking, and also in ordering us a taxi for an evening out. Would definitley stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BD070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear BD070

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the Free breakfast.
We hope to see you again the next time you visit the NEC
Regards
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Staff all very helpful, we has a lot of luggage as we where snowboarding which they kept for us in a locked room . Breakfast was only okay…. no bacon!!!!! so disappointed, had continental and cereal bit if you are looking for a fabbo cooked this is not the hotel to stay, scrambled egg, beans and sausage only. Room was adequate for our needs. Taxi came on time and was hassle free , picked us up and again hassle free , hotel paid for both trips. We defffo would use again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Lisa B
Thank you for your recent review it’s nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we are not able to offer bacon as part of our brand offering but do offer the free breakfast including hot items of sausage egg and beans.
Hopefully we will see you again the next time you go on holiday
Regard
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I went for an event at the NEC last November. Don't be fooled by the name because there are plenty hotels much closer to the NEC than this one. The room was very basic but clean, breakfast was low/average level, but the worse thing was the position, not close enough to the NEC and 20 km far from Birmingham city center. The first day we arrived we had only the afternoon to go to town and do some shopping we had to wait for 40 minute before a cab showed up, appalling!. The first nigh the central heating wasn’t working so I had to go to the reception to ask for an extra duvet; the one I was given was without the cover and for all the 3 days staying they never put one on it. To that add that every morning we had to go to the NEC and come back from it, we had to take a cab, then if you wanted to go to town to have dinner, a cab again. Then to come back from Birmingham unless you use the cabs recommended by the hotel, the other cab drivers don't even know where the hotel is, one evening it took us one hour and a half to find it, we had nervous laughing fits, going from one hotel to another and none of it was ours, but thinking about… not funny at all. The staff of the hotel don’t know Birmingham cannot recommend you a restaurant or a restaurant area. In conclusion this hotel is in a very inconvenient, uncomfortable position, in the middle of nowhere I would suggest to all people coming for some event at the NEC to get an hotel in the immediate proximity, in walking range to it, so that if you want to go to town in the evening, you have the train station right there and the airport is very close too, or somewhere close to a train station between Birmingham and the NEC . This hotel is not recommended for the NEC events, it appear to be more convenient in price than others in a closer position, but if you consider the money you spend in cab fares, I don’t see the convenience of it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrizia1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Patrizia1961,
I do apologise that you found the location of the hotel not to your satisfaction for your recent stay. We are located on the NEC site approximately 1.5 miles from the main NEC halls and the LG arena. We are within walking distance which takes about 15-20 minutes but due to the footpaths not being that good. We do recommend taxi for these trips that cost around £5.00 and take around 5 minutes to get to the main halls.
We do not claim to be a city centre hotel as we are located at the NEC so therefore the staff would not be aware of the area of the city centre as well as they would their local area. The NEC is located outside of Birmingham City Centre and we are located 1mile from the International train station that serves this area.
We do work with a local taxi firm to try and keep the fares as low as possible unfortunately we are not able to take responsibility for drivers that are working in the area that do not have a geographical knowledge that work for other taxi firms.
I do apologise for the heating issues and will speak to the team members as no duvet should ever be given out without a cover..
Once again please accept my apologises and we do hope this visit will not stop you using the brand in the future.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here before travelling from Birmingham airport. Hotel is only about 2 miles away. Rooms were clean but there're was not much room to move around with the sofa bed out for the children. There was a good free breakfast the following morning which was not offered at the airport holiday inn! The only problem we had was accessing the wi if but we were not that bothered about it

Room Tip: We found hotel quiet but there was Jo concert in NEC could be very different if there was something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weloveholidays007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Weloveholidays007

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you on the whole enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our Free breakfast.
Next time you visit if you have any problems contacting to the Free WIFI please contact reception and one of the team will be happy to help.
We hope to see you again the next time you go on holiday.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Good hotel, very clean and convenient but somewhat limited food. Good staff but unfortunately the heating in the room didn't work well and the room was cold. Better than some but not up to the standards of other holiday inn's in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asahio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Asahio
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you on the whole enjoyed your stay.
Please contact reception next time you stay and we will happily provide you with additional heaters if required
Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Booked a room for night of a concert at the NECX LG arena. At check-in asked if they had a map showing best way to walk to concert hall, only to be told no, but it's over that direction. While checking in another guest started checking in at the next check in point with a different receptionist. He asked basically same question as me, and was told "We don't recommend walking but we can book you a taxi". Upon arrival in room the blurb left for guests included info about being a "green hotel" and suggesting you should "leave the car behind and walk to the NEC"? Perhaps the management should decide their policy and educate their receptionists to at least tell the same story as each other, preferably in line with the info in the room? To add insult to injury, having declined the offer at check-in to register a card to book services, drinks etc. to having had too many arguments with hotel reception staff trying to charge me for things I hadn’t had, tried to buy a drink at the bar with hard cash when we returned after the concert only to be told they didn’t accept cash for drinks after 22:30 and we’d have to register a card to charge drinks to. Suffice to say I didn’t bother, I saved cash and they lost, but that’s their choice! Glad I’m not a shareholder when they refuse cash sales. Finally the “complimentary breakfast” (whatever that means, still included in the prices you pay?) was dismal, the “warm food” like bacon etc. was stone cold, well it would be kept in a non-heated plastic display cabinet usually used for cakes and sandwiches etc. with nothing to keep it arm. Will I go back? – No chance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Gerry-C
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and that you found the information received from the front desk less than helpful. This has highlighted several training issues for the team that we will be sure will take place as soon as possible.
We are within walking distance of the NEC/LG arena but it is a 20 minute walk with the footpaths not being the best we normally recommend a taxi. The message in the room is for visitors in the day to the NEC when the area is well lit.
I understand your frustration over the bar the reason we do not accept cash after 10.30 is to do with our licence and separating residents from non-residents. This policy is also something that we will look into.
Once again please accept my apologies and we hope this experience will not stop you using the brand in the future
Regards
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed here for a gig at LG Arena. Staff are friendly and check in was seemless. Room is good and bed is comfortable for a budget hotel. Parking was £7. Taxi to LG Arena was £5. We walked back and it took 25 mins. It's a shame that the bus service between the hotels and NEC has stopped as we always used it.
Free wifi code didnt work for us but the 3G signal is high so we used that instead.
We ate dinner at Little Owl pub next door which was quick, tasty and good value.
Free breakfast had lots of choice although several things stated in the card on the table were different. Hot food was scrambled egg, beans and sausage but no bacon as stated. Rolls and croissants were stated as warm but were stone cold although the serving area had just been refilled. Apart from that, other choices were toast, cereal, juice, fruit and yoghurts.
We will probably stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-Colchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear P-Colchester
Thank you for your feedback we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We have taken on board the comments regarding the breakfast menu’s and are having them rewritten to match the Brand Standard breakfast offering that we do.
I am sorry about the WIFI code not working if you have any issues the next time you stay please contact the front desk who if they can’t help will connect you with our internet providers.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#19 of 118 in Birmingham
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £55 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. The hotel Reception, lounge and bar are stylish and comfy, having been totally transformed in a refurbishment in 2018. Dinner is served in the lounge and pizzas are available 24/7. Free WiFi, a well stocked bar and flatscreen TVs all make the lounge a great place to relax with friends and colleagues. Our modern rooms feature comfy beds, en-suites with power showers and air-conditioning. The rooms are kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing stay including free Wi-Fi, 32-inch TVs with Freeview and a choice of pillows. The hotel has ample parking and is charged at £8 per night for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing