We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bog standard and expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Ranked #39 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 4 February 2014

To be greeted by a large notice telling you to book early for £49 a night when we paid £149 booking 11 months early was insulting our intelligence, albeit that there is a major exhibition at the NEC. Everything about the hotel is bog standard and seems cost driven. Breakfast ingredients are cheap quality with fatty sausages, over cooked scrambled eggs and cheap beans and (hell on earth) only UHT available for the tea. Location excellent, however.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Smudges-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Smudges- Dad
Thank you for your review. The rates do vary at the hotel depending on events and this week it was a particularly busy event which is spring fair, this is an event that happens annually. There are many times throughout the year when we have the £49.00 rate available.
We will take on board your comments regarding the breakfast offering however please note we do always have fresh milk available in the urns in the breakfast area to go with the cereal we offer,
Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Really nice and cosy room, very spacious. Me and wife stopped over in Birmingham for a few nights and this was a perfect hotel to stay. Nicely carpeted, staff are very friendly and welcoming. Car park for overnight stay was I think £7 or something which I found should have been included with our stay. We have complimentary breakfast, very nice area from the dining room. The variety was okay, though I always want fried eggs or boiled egg. They had scrambled eggs, toast and sausages etc. Overall I am happy, and would visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akhiabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Mayz_one
Thank you for your review. It’s nice to hear that the staff made you feel welcome on your recent stay and that you enjoyed your free breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back soon
Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed here for a concert at the LG Arena, good hotel, room was very spacious, could do with a few more electric sockets though the lead for my hair appliance is quite long but couldn't stretch from kettle socket to the mirror, the only other socket was the tv one!!! Breakfast was ok but there wasn't any beans, waited for a while then gave up, by that point egg had gone too, but realised we should have left it a bit later when not so busy, it ends at 9.30. Parking is a bit expensive I agree, wifi was free though. All in all not a bad hotel would use again, but maybe bring an extension lead. There is a pub next door but didn't visit it, but very handy. We got a taxi there and back it was roughly £5. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wigglyworm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Wigglyworm98

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that in the main you enjoyed your stay. Please ask at the front desk the next time you stay for an extension lead so that you can get to the mirror more easily. We hope to welcome you the next time you visit the LG.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is the third time we have stayed here but the hotel is starting to look very tired. The rooms are comfy but overpriced and tired. Have stayed here twice before and have never had to pay for parking, they are now charging £7 a night which is ridiculous. The breakfast was very simple and on Sunday everything was empty and running out and no one was filling anything up. If you are wanting to go into town you have a option of getting taxi to train station costing up to £10 but don't drive to the station log stay its only £5 for 24 hours parking. We wont be returning For the same price if you shop around you can have rooms at the crown plaza or the Ramada Encore.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Lee T
I am sorry that your recent stay was disappointing. Our prices do vary depending on the day of week and demand in the area. As this is an event driven area all prices at hotels vary depending on what is going on.
I am surprised by your comments regarding the car park charges as this has been in place for a number of years at the hotel and is not something that has recently been introduced. Our car parking charges are also lower than other hotels in the area.
If you wish to discuss the problems regarding breakfast please call the hotel direct and ask to speak to myself as we would welcome the opportunity to resolve it. The telephone number is 0121 7823222
Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

What a splendid place! I stopped overnight prior to a business meeting the following day. Had dinner in the restaurant, which actually was just the bar area but there was plenty of room and it was clean and well laid out if privacy is required. I had a curry off the specials board and it was truly delicious.

The bar staff and kitchen staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble.

I would definitely recommend this place which appears to be basic but is indeed a little gem.

I will go back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Sunkissedagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Sunkissedagain,

Thank you for your review it’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again! I will pass on your comments to the team and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I look for three things in a business hotel.

Comfortable bed
Good shower
Decent food.

This hotel fails badly on food. The breakfast is terrible. Powdered eggs. Oven baked half cooked sausage. Bread sliced so thickly it could make Melba toast, Something that looks like anemic rice krispies but taste like stale styrofoam. The plus of breakfast was the tea. Hot water and tea bags. And the fruit was ok too.

The shower was ok. But smelled musty.

The staff were ok. Nothing special.

Over all - don't bother - try the premier inn instead.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kevin_One_Man_Show
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Kevin_One_Man_Show
I am sorry to hear that your recent stay was disappointing especially the breakfast. We are currently looking to improve the products that we currently offer on breakfast. We have this week changed our cereals to Kellogg’s cereals as we realised the quality of the rice puffs were not what we would want to offer.
Our breakfast is free to our overnight customers and as part of our brand standards we include certain hot items which include sausage, eggs and beans. We will take on board your comments regarding the presentation of these items and will ensure that they are baked evenly in future.
Once again please accept my apologies and we hope that this experience does not stop you using the brand in the future.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the Birmingham NEC Holiday Inn Express for two nights while attending a car show at the NEC a few weeks ago. The room prices were very reasonable at £60 per night including a cooked breakfast. The bedrooms were basic but perfect for what we needed - and even had a power shower too which was a big surprise! The breakfast was a bit poor, only sausages eggs and beans on offer, along with toast, fruit and yoghurt, but it was enough to feed me so I can't complain. The reception staff were very helpful in directing us to the NEC via walking, and also in ordering us a taxi for an evening out. Would definitley stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BD070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear BD070

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the Free breakfast.
We hope to see you again the next time you visit the NEC
Regards
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.9 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £54 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. The hotel Reception, lounge and bar are stylish and comfy, having been totally transformed in a refurbishment in 2018. Dinner is served in the lounge and pizzas are available 24/7. Free WiFi, a well stocked bar and flatscreen TVs all make the lounge a great place to relax with friends and colleagues. Our modern rooms feature comfy beds, en-suites with power showers and air-conditioning. The rooms are kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing stay including free Wi-Fi, 32-inch TVs with Freeview and a choice of pillows. The hotel has ample parking and is charged at £8 per night for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing