We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff but everything else poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Ranked #40 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely staff but everything else poor”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for an overnight visit to Birmingham. The only good thing about this hotel is the staff; they are welcoming, helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is very outdated and really needs an overhaul very badly. It's decorated in blue throughout which gives it a very cold uninviting feel and although spotlessly clean it was obviously designed in the last decade. The shower in our room was awful, and after a shower the entire floor in the en-suite was soaking wet. The duvet on the bed was paper-thin and the bed linen did not smell clean. I know this is a budget hotel, but guests still expect some level of comfort when they pay to stay overnight. The breakfast was almost inedible, overcooked and tasteless.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, at least until this hotel has a revamp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I am sorry that your recent stay was not as you would have wanted. We have recently purchased new shower curtains and duvets to replace the poor fitting ones. I am sorry that they were not in place prior to your visit. We do always try to give the best guest experience but on this occasion we fell short of your expectations.
I will pass your comments on to the team as it is always nice for them to know when their warm welcome is appreciated.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    360
    217
    91
    61
See reviews for
183
273
42
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as it was a good location for the NEC - we arrived in the evening and there was plenty of parking (extra charge). Check in was quick and efficient and the staff helpful. The room was large and clean - it was a bit cool, but when mentioned to reception they had put a heater in the room by the time we returned from the restaurant. Bar food was OK - limited choice. There is a restaurant next door, The Little Owl, which has a good choice, but you may need to book.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norfolktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Norfolk Travellers
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay and the team were able to help with any problems that you had.
We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit the NEC
Regards
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Good hotel really good location for the NEC it was only £5 in a taxi, staff were very friendly, breakfast was fully stocked even though it was busy, the was a little small but really clean and I was surprised at how quiet it was!

Would definitely stay here again

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bellowil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will be back to visit us again the next time you are in the area.
Regards
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Working at the NEC, we were put-up here. Check-in was a bit slow, especially after a long, long day at work...

Room, was a bit tired and needed some refreshing - but it was clean enough, shower pressure ( a big bug-bare of mind) was quite miserable. But it did the job.

The bed was reasonably comfortable and I had a half decent night's sleep.

The breakfast was quite literally a bun fight. You need to get there early otherwise you'll be left with the dreggs. A bit disappointed with that, not to mention a bit hungry too...

It did the job but a very average stay I'm afraid...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Richard D
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the hotel. We do always try to exceed our guest expectations and it seems that on this occasion we fell short of yours.
During event periods the breakfast area does get busy and we do try to advise guests of this at check in.
We value all feedback and will use your comments to improve our breakfast serving.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here on business before flying out from Birmingham. The rooms are clean and great but man is this place expensive.
The rooms are small for £144. Breakfast is mediocre but staff are helpful. I wouldn't stay here again unless the price was corrected.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos_Yabrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Carlos_Yabrudy
Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear that you liked the rooms and that you found everything you needed.
I am sorry however that you found the price expensive because of our location we are an event driven hotel and the price does fluctuate. We do often have great deals on our own website and we always guarantee to have the lowest price available on this.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanklin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Booked a couple of rooms for the Spring fair and was very happy with everything. Check in was smooth and efficient, staff friendly and helpful and the rooms were a good size and clean. Perfect for the NEC.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Derrick H
Thank you for your review I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back for Autumn Fair or next year for spring fair again.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel while attending the Spring Fair at the Nec, 6 nights.
my overall stay was better than I expected it to be.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room very clean, small but comfortable.
The food in the hotel was limited, I only ate breakfast there and it was ok not OK !
Limited choices, obviously put together with a budget to follow, Powdered Scrambled eggs,
Beans and Sausages every day for breakfast, not exciting start to a day.
Reports on the evening dinner were not good...
The pub next door is the saviour of this hotel, the food was good the beer too, the staff friendly an enjoyable place to eat, but you need to book.
Free Wi-Fi but most places have free Wi-fi now so not a special extra.
Its a long walk to the entrance of the NEC or the Arena, a good 30+ mins walk, no problem on a
dry day but if raining ,not good. Taxis are available but expensive for a short journey and you
may have to wait for one to arrive.
The hotel needs to run a shuttle bus service to the main entrance of the NEC, every 15 mins,
it would make staying there so much better..........Would I stay there again ?
Probably, becasue of the pub next door, with a shuttle bus service to and from the NEC
then yes I would.

Room Tip: Book Early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tungers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Tungers
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We value all feedback and will take on board your comments regarding the Shuttle service and evening food.
It’s great to hear that you took advantage of the Free Wifi as we are the only hotel in the area that offer free WIFI on unlimited devices.
As a Holiday Inn Express we offer the brand breakfast which is free to all of our guests and includes a choice of cold and some hot items. We will of course feedback to the brand that the lack of variety for longer staying guests makes the breakfast boring.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we do hope to see you again in the future
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
1,772 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. Our modern rooms feature comfy beds, en-suites with power showers and air-conditioning. The rooms are kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing stay including free Wi-Fi, 32-inch TVs with Freeview and a choice of pillows. Tasty evening meals such as pastas, curries and burgers are served in the Great Room daily and you can grab a pint or glass of wine from the bar after a busy day. Our Express Start breakfast is included for every guest. Help yourself to toast, pastries, cereals, porridge, bacon bap or a helping of scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans. The hotel has ample parking and is charged at £8 per night for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing