We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for LG Arena or NEC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Ranked #35 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
south west, uk
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ideal for LG Arena or NEC”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Comfy, tidy & clean rooms. Bathroom very good for a budget hotel. Free hot breakfast was very good. Ideal like location for concert at LG, just an easy 15min walk. Would recommend to anyone for LG/NEC use. Plenty of parking at a fair cost.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the free breakfast.
We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    374
    222
    92
    61
See reviews for
191
280
42
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We booked this hotel in connection with our trip to the LG Arena to see Justin Timberlake. I think I must have booked it 6 months in advance or around that mark. I paid £49 for a twin room up front, all rooms come with a free breakfast for guests. The staff were very friendly from walking through the door to leaving the following day. The room was spacious, very clean and quite contemporary. We booked a cab from the hotel to the NEC which costs £5. The driver told us to come back to the same point to get back to the hotel. To our amazement there was a cab waiting and go us back to the hotel swiftly. On arrival we found the bar was still open for a night cap and even pizza and chips . The breakfast was limited but good quality, nothing to fault here. Great place and would stay again. Thank you for a lovely experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracetSparkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear when someone had a great stay. I hope the concert was good too!
We hope to see you again the next time you visit the LG arena
Regards
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel before an early flight to the airport. Good price for the room and car parking. The taxi to the airport in the morning (two mins away) was also included. The room was very clean and the beds (double and childrens bed) were very comfortable. Check in and out were super easy so a good option for those early morning flights!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitefamilynotts3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review, it's great to hear that you found the hotel efficient to use for your early morning flight.
We hope you had a great holiday and hope to welcome you back the next time you go on holiday.
Regards
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We booked this hotel as went to see Elbow last weekend at the LG Arena and were pleasantly surprised. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was lovely and clean and not bad for the price . It's best to get a taxi to the Lg as it's a bit of a trek and the hotel recommended a taxi firm which were reliable.
We did find the bar a bit slow when we came back after the show and didn't find it that comfortable.the chairs and tables were a bit basic and quite close together,.
The breakfast was ok nothing special but we didn't expect to get it anyway .

Room Tip: Take a taxi to the station or the nec as it too for to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Theres2812,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I appreciate the feedback about the bar and will look for ways to make it more inviting.

We hope to see you again the next time you visit the NEC
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My friend and I travelled to Birmingham to see a concert at The LG Arena so we were looking for an affordable hotel nearby. It is a 5 minute taxi journey from the hotel to The LG Arena. The hotel will arrange this for you and costs just £5.00.
Check-in was quick and easy. We stayed in a twin room on the first floor. The rooms were basic but we didn't need anything more. Perfectly clean room with tea and coffee making facilities. We did think the duvet covers were a little small though. Could have done with being a little bigger.
Breakfast was nothing exciting but it's complimentary so can't really complain. The hotel was fully booked yet there was no wait to get food or find a table.
Check-out was also quick and easy. Very friendly staff.
There was plenty of parking available at the hotel but costs £7.00. You will be asked when you check-in to give your car registration, and then asked to pay the £7.00 when you check-out. If you do not pay, it is a £100 fine.
There is a lovely pub next door to the hotel called The Little Owl. We had lunch here on the day we arrived and were very pleased.
We both would return to this hotel if we ever went to The LG arena again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenCB087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and would return again if you were in the area.

We hope you enjoyed your concert too!
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The location is a bit remote compared to most other hotels around the NEC site. You can walk to the NEC / Arena in about 30 minutes or you can ask reception to order you a taxi (it cost us £5 to get to the Arena).

Car parking was £7 a day, which seemed a bit steep compared to the £1 we were recently charged at Warwick Premier Inn.

The staff were all friendly and helpful.

The room was clean and everything was in a good state of repair.

There didn’t appear to be any air conditioning in the room but there was a heater.
The room temperature was fine during our stay, so I’m not sure if the lack of air-con would be a problem in summer or not.

At first I thought the bed felt a bit soft, but I managed to get a good nights sleep.

The bathroom didn’t have a bath, just a shower, toilet and basin.
I found the towels to be a little thin and slightly scratchy.

If you don’t want to venture too far from the hotel for food, you have a choice of eating in the restaurant or in the pub next door (The Little Owl). We chose the latter option and it was a pleasant enough experience, although the burger I ordered looked and tasted a bit ‘processed’.

The hotel breakfast was disappointing.
For hot food, there was no bacon, just unappetizing and cheap-looking sausages and scrambled eggs (there might have been beans and/or mushrooms, but I’d already lost interest in hot food by this point).
Another negative point was the coffee machine having run out milk without giving any visible warning, consequently the staff member we informed doubted us (which was annoying), although he did check the machine and later apologized for doubting us.
Also, there were no plates available and the breakfast area was unmanned for several minutes at a time, so I had to resort to exploring the various cupboards under the counters until I managed to find a hidden stash of crockery.
Given that breakfast is free (or at least built into the room rate), you can tell that Holiday Inn Express have cut corners on the quality (and possibly staffing levels) in order to keep costs down. I much prefer the Premier Inn approach where breakfast isn’t included, but for £8.75 you get much better choice and quality.

Overall I found this hotel a bit of a mixed bag – nothing fundamentally wrong, but Holiday Inn Express are lagging behind the competition in terms of value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bender_B_Rodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback as it gives us a chance to improve. As you appreciate the NEC is a large site and different hotels are closer to different areas. The charges for car parking are in place as it is an event hotel our charges for over night parking are cheaper than many of our competitor hotels at the NEC as some are in access of £12.00 per night.
As a Holiday Inn Express we do not offer baths in any of our rooms. However we have recently changed linen supplier because of the poor quality so we hope that our guests will see an improvement. I am pleased you found the new beds comfy as these were just recently purchased.
In all Holiday Inn Express we offer free breakfast and free WIFI to all of our guests. This breakfast is a buffet style breakfast which includes some hot items. These items are sausage, egg and beans. We believe this helps make us great value for money as all our guests know what is included and there are no hidden extras. Please be assured I will be using your comments as training regarding the service attitude of the team during your recent stay.
Many thanks again for writing your review and we hope that you will continue to use the brand in the future.
Regards
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

On appearance the hotel seemed nice, however a broken bed, change of room and a receptionist who couldn't careless about customers made the trip a regretable one. Breakfast was limited however understandably its an express hotel however due to the broke bed and the reception staff who were rude and blunt i wont be visiting Holiday Inn again!

Room Tip: Check your bed isn't broken before unpacking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Lucy K,

I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was so disappointing. I would really like the opportunity to discuss it with can you please call the hotel direct on 0121 782 3222.

Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,825 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. Our modern rooms feature comfy beds, en-suites with power showers and air-conditioning. The rooms are kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing stay including free Wi-Fi, 32-inch TVs with Freeview and a choice of pillows. Tasty evening meals such as pastas, curries and burgers are served in the Great Room daily and you can grab a pint or glass of wine from the bar after a busy day. Our Express Start breakfast is included for every guest. Help yourself to toast, pastries, cereals, porridge, bacon bap or a helping of scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans. The hotel has ample parking and is charged at £8 per night for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing