We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Heath Lodge(Marston Green)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Genting Hotel(Birmingham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,122)
Filter reviews
1,123 results
Traveller rating
323
403
234
97
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
403
234
97
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslittle owlpub next doorstayed herecar parkinggenting arenacomplimentary breakfastan overnight stayyogurtclose to the airportbooked this hotelone night stayan early flightcomfy bedgood nights sleepnectaxihie
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
654 - 659 of 1,123 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here on business for 4 weeks, done everything it says on the tin, food not great but great pub next door. Rooms nice and didn't have a bad word to say about this hotel, great access for the NEC/airport/arena

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddybear3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your review we are pleased you found everything spot on during your extended stay!
We hope to see you again when you are in the area
Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed over whilst visiting the BBC Gardeners World Live event at the NEC - I had stopped here before on business when this was a "full" holiday inn and not the "express" version. I have to say that the downgrade in name has not affected the value of service, in fact if anything, its improved the value for money - we booked well in advance and got a very good deal... even the Express breakfast was good value.
We ate in the bar in the evening, although there is an adjoining pub/restaurant on site, mainly because we'd walked our little legs off during the day, however, the food was good and although at hotel prices was worth the short distance of room to food and back!
One word of warning - car parking is extra! That's not so well advertised until you actually arrive and as there's no choice of alternate parking venues you are left with little option other than to grin and bear it!
Overall an ideal location especially if you are vising an event at the NEC

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Chris C,

Many thanks for your kind review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay during your recent event at the NEC.
We will try to ensure that we make the car park charges as clear as possible for all future guests.
We hope that we get to see you again when you visit the area.

Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Do not stay here or at any Holiday Inn Express and expect good food. I have stayed at 3 now and the food is awful. Rooms are Ok, clean modern etc basic budget but better then Premier Inn, but food is terrible.
Cooked breakfast consists of micro-waved beans, micro-waved scrambled egg and micro-waved sausages only. No Bacon or anything requiring actual cooking. AVOID

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank grantmike1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Grantmike1957,

I am sorry to hear that you found your recent stay disappointing, particularly the food. We always try and exceed our guest expectations but on this occasion we fell short of the mark.

In all Holiday Inn Express hotels the breakfast is included in the room rate and is not an extra like the Premier Inn hotel brand. We also as part of our brand do not offer a "full English" breakfast but offer a hot buffet breakfast which is made up of croissants, toast, cereal, pastries and some selected hot items which are sausage, egg and beans. It is not part of our brand to offer bacon. Our sister brand Holiday Inn offers the full breakfast options.

Once again please accept my apologies for your disappoint on this occasion but do hope it doesn't stop you using other Holiday Inn hotels in the future.

Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights as a family of four as we were visiting Drayton Manor and Cadbury World. It's ideally placed for both.
The room was acceptable, (perhaps slightly smaller than Premier Inn) but when you're paying £36 per night and it's only for somewhere to lay your head after a busy day you can't really complain! Perfectly clean and comfy with a decent shower. Anyway, we had a good nights sleep despite the heat and thunder storms. On the 2nd night we asked at reception for a fan as we struggled a bit with the heat in the room the night before and it was supplied no problem.
The free breakfast was more than adequate with a choice of cereal, fruit, yogurt and juice as well as sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans although the addition of bacon would be nice!
The only down side I feel is the evening meal in the restaurant, it's a very limited choice (although the pizza is delish), no kids menu and sadly no desserts:(
One the whole I'd recommend this for anyone on a budget, or looking to be near local attractions, the NEC or airport.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel on the first floor overlooking the car park but found it quiet enough at night.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumsfab2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Mumsfab2,

Thank you taking the time to write a review about your recent experience with the hotel. I am pleased to see on the whole you enjoyed your stay and found the staff welcoming.

I will feedback your comments regarding the menu and the children choices so that we can hopefully make improvements.

I hope you enjoyed your daytrips and we will hopefully see you again the next time you are in the area.

Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a few times while working a stand at the NEC, and while I would recommend the hotel because its clean , near to the shows and has friendly staff, the main reason I would always stay here when working a show is the pub / restaurant next door. What a little gem!!! A fantastic menu and genuinely good food served to a high standard. Even when rammed to rafters they turn out a range of wholesome meals, tasty snacks and surprising specials. Whoever runs the kitchen deserves a raise!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review I am pleased you always enjoy staying at the hotel. We hope to see you again when you are back at the NEC.

Regards
Fiona
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews