We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an overnighter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Ranked #38 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Nottingham area
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for an overnighter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a very conveniently situated hotel, the rooms are spacious and clean. The staff pleasent and helpfull but the food really let it down, we were on a coach trip so did not expect silver service at dinner, however I did not expect to queue at a servery to have the meal served school canteen style. It was bland and uninteresting. Breakfast was no better, it was self service but apart from the toast and cereal it was scrambled egg, sausages and baked beans which left me thinking where's the bacon, agreed we didn't go hungry just disappointed. Having said all that I would stay again overnight because the beds were very comfortable which made up for everything else

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prawnsmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the team to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. I am most pleased you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful. It is always rewarding knowing our staff are there to help.

I was most dis-heartened to hear of your disappointment regarding the food at the hotel as we normally receive such high praise with the food we have to offer and this is something I will investigate to see if we can offer something more interesting for all future guests. As a Holiday Inn Express we offer an Express start continental breakfast with three hot items with those being Sausages, Scrambled Eggs and Baked Beans. As with all Holiday Inn Express' we are unable to offer bacon as a choice on our buffet, however I am sorry you were disappointed with this.


I would like to thank you for saying you would stay with us again as we know when it comes to hotels in the area you have many choices and it pleases me knowing you would consider us again. I am thrilled you found our beds to be comfortable as this is something we pride ourselves on knowing our guests get a good nights sleep and wake up refreshed the next morning.

Thank you again for choosing IHG

Kind Regards

Samuel Blount
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    353
    213
    89
    60
See reviews for
181
271
41
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here overnight before our flight, and was extremely pleased. Excellent welcome at reception, and pleasantly surprised with room. Spacious, and spotlessly clean. breakfast was good, and sufficient to start our holiday. Only 10 minutes to airport, so great to break up journey from home. Well recommended particularly for stop over before flying

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerthyrTydfilKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a lovely holiday.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here on our return from our long haul flight home. We were able to park at the hotel, jump into a taxi and go to the airport all in about 10 mins. On our return we landed at stupid o'clock in the morning with two children, again jumped into a taxi and within 15 mins we were all tucked up in possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Even the pillows were marked 'soft' or 'firm' [a blessing for us - he likes firm, I like soft]. When we woke at a reasonable hour in the morning we took stock of the room that was compact and functional, but perfectly designed, with everything you could need for an overnight stay or a room to use as a base.

We went down for breakfast and, it was a self service with sausages, baked beans, scrambled egg, toast, croissants, cereal, variety of teas, juices, coffee, hot chocolate, cheese, butter [yes real butter] and yoghurts - really everything you could possibly need for breakfast - and it was really quite tasty.

The staff were really helpful, I was just very impressed with the simplicity, cleanliness and value - it was less than £100 for 18 days parking, a B & B for 4 people, We will definitely use the Holiday Inn Express chain again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Showey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am pleased we made your journey easy before and after your holiday.

It's lovely to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you will use the brand in the future for your family trios.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight on a recent visit to the NEC . The room was comfortable and very clean , we slept well. Breakfast was just what we needed before we left for our trip home. All things considered excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear William J

We are pleased to hear that you found us great value and enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope that you stay with us again the next time you are in the area.

Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here a few months ago as a delegate at a function.
While the hotel was pleasant enough in terms of cleanliness and amenities it lacked what I deem to be the level of customer service expected from a hotel chain. When I requested an iron and ironing board I was handed it to carry up the stairs along with my luggage. A bit of common sense would have shown that it was already going to be difficult enough getting to my room without lugging an ironing board too!
We had a meal allowance provided by the events team and when we were going to order food we were told we could only order pizza (not even a side)vand one drink and the money was only allowed to be used once, so we couldn't even save it for later once some of it was used. One of the delegates with me can't eat pizza and when he made the staff aware they basically made a point of saying it wasn't their problem and that their kitchen staff were too busy to cook anything else.
Future advice: If planning on holding a function at your venue please ensure you have adequate staffing levels so you can provide a decent level of service to all patrons.
Other than that it was an okay stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryankyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest
I am sorry that your stay in May was not as you would have expected. As a Holiday Inn Express hotel we have differences to our sister brand Holiday Inn which include delivering items to the room as we have different levels of staff. However I agree requesting you return to reception would have been better and we will use this review in our next staff training.
I am disappointed with your experience with your evening meal and would welcome the opportunity to discuss it with you in more detail. Please call me on 0121 782 3222.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed a Sunday night here on my way to visiting family, great hotel, clean, tidy and a brilliant standard of room, comfy bed, good breakfast choice, but £7 for parking!!! Get real Holiday Inn Express, to hide the charge in the small print is naughty, and to use the excuse, "we charge it because everyone else does" is pathetic. I would rather have the choice of paying for wifi and get free parking as the parking is the only blot on what could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katysdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. In our location we do charge for car parking is due to the hotels location as without having the appropriate charges in place the car park would be used by others that were not hotel guests. We do however review policies on a regular basis and will use your comments when we next review the car park.
We do hope that this will not stop you using the hotel in the future as we do have packages available that do include parking.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the holiday inn as we were attending a convention in the LG arena. It took us a while to actually find the accommodation and it was further out than we first thought. Thankfully the staff on the desk were very helpful providing us with taxi details.
The rooms were very clean,comfortable and spacious. Very good quality for the price. Breakfast was a buffet style breakfast. The choices were adequate for most palates.
Very pleased with the service we received and we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you found the service friendly and helpful.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Fiona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. Our modern rooms feature comfy beds, en-suites with power showers and air-conditioning. The rooms are kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing stay including free Wi-Fi, 32-inch TVs with Freeview and a choice of pillows. Tasty evening meals such as pastas, curries and burgers are served in the Great Room daily and you can grab a pint or glass of wine from the bar after a busy day. Our Express Start breakfast is included for every guest. Help yourself to toast, pastries, cereals, porridge, bacon bap or a helping of scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans. The hotel has ample parking and is charged at £8 per night for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing