We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful 17th Century Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Ranked #13 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
BIRMINGHAM
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful 17th Century Hotel”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Had a good look around this newly opened hotel (at one time home to Lady Bradford and then used as offices, I believe). The hotel has been totally refurbished to a very high end spec keeping all the ambience and look of the original external and internal features. Bedrooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. Lovely dining restaurant where I had lunch with no complaints. Set in acres of wonderful gardens, it would make a truely romantic setting for a wedding.

Room Tip: Although there is no swimming pool or spa (I believe there are plans in place for this to go ahead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HELSBELLSBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel. You are absolutely correct it was at one time offices. We are as proud of the history of the hall as we are of the hotel it has now become, and happily provide information on both - currently for the history by request. Currently we have no spa but these may be appearing in our future plans. I am glad you like our rooms and the total experience. I look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    144
    72
    56
    33
See reviews for
85
182
6
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I lived in Castle Bromwich as a child, when the hall was used as offices, it was very rundown and the grounds were overgrown. Over the years the grounds were bought back to their former glory. I was determined to stay the night, and took advantage of an early booking offer for the opening month. We arrived in the afternoon, and signs directed us to the car park, with cctv overhead. The log fire was roaring away in the beautiful lounge, and the Manager showed us to our room, we were given a larger family room as he said the door handle was sticking on our original room. It was very large with 2 x single beds and a double bed in the next room. The original fireplace was also in our room. The bathroom had heated towel rail, full bath, and a shower with full drencher, beautiful sink and a heated steam free mirror. The TV was brand new and on the wall, and the Manager asked us if we wanted a complimentary bottle of wine. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and had a 3 course meal with wine and coffee, at a very reasonable price and lovely food. The menu was not as extensive as the one on the website, but this was reflected in the price and the fact that only one restaurant was fully operational at the time, but even so there was plenty of choice, and I didn't know what to choose. Of course there were a few teething problems, but nothing major, and I am sure when the full reception is open and the other restaurants are fully operational you will struggle to get a table! We had a full English breakfast the next morning with coffee/tea and fresh juice and cereals. With a lovely walk round the grounds to walk off the breakfast, I very much enjoyed my stay, and will hopefully go back one day. I think an indoor pool and spa would also be fantastic!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayleighclue0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Well it's difficult to say anything good about this place from our stay!
1. No Sign to say it was actually there
2. Wet paintwork throughout hotel
3. No working heating
4. Rooms unfinished
5. Manager accused us of stealing light bulbs and breaking the shower oh and retuning tv!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichRMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
We are very sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel was not all that you wanted it to be. We did have some issues when we opened the hotel but I'm pleased to inform that these issues are being resolved.

As for the wet paint, there was no wet paint to our knowledge anywhere in the building as painting had been completed in the building a number of weeks before hand. We have double checked our decorating schedule and performed repeated building checks with no evidence of wet paint.

The heating was working but a little unpredictable due to new boilers but this issue has been completely resolved and now works exceptionally well.

Our open Guest Rooms are completely finished to high standards and have been enjoyed by many guests with many compliments.

At no point during any guest's stay has any member of management accused any guests of theft or damage of any kind. We can only apologise if this is the impression that you received.

We wish you all the best in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed here for 3nights recently and had a lovely time. It takes your breath away as you drive into its beautiful gardens and grounds.Upon entering you get a huge waft of burning turf and the cosy feel that comes with it. We were greeted by Hotel manager Christoper who was very helpful, he carried my bags all the way and left a lovely bottle of wine in our room. Our room was finished to a very high standard & was spacious. All the staff were extremely friendly and we'll definitly go back again next year. Well done Castle Bromwich Hall hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shoefloozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,037 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,676 reviews
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel

Property: Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Address: Chester Road, Birmingham B36 9DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th Century Splendour Today Set in 10 acres of beautiful mature walled gardens, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel is a unique Grade 1 star listed country house hotel that combines understated luxury with an impeccable client focused service. Offering the very finest in dining and accommodation, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel effortlessly provides high quality hospitality with faultless attention to detail. In a delightfully rural and peaceful setting, guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel are taken out of the hustle and bustle of everyday life and transported back to a time where sophistication and elegance presided. Indulge in the surroundings and relax in the ambience of the beautifully restored Sixteenth century building, enjoying the many remaining original features including exposed wooden floors, intricate stone carvings and roaring log fires sympathetically combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. Guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel can enjoy both the grace of the past and the pleasures of the present in the Hotel's subtle fusion of the conventional and contemporary. The perfect retreat or the magnificent backdrop. Whether planning a wedding, a business conference, a family occasion or organising a special meal - whatever the reason - a stay at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel will ensure you have an unforgettable time in the very finest of care. Offering a range of beautiful and unique rooms for your event, as well as the exceptional skills of the Hotel's award-winning culinary team, you can be sure that your guests or delegates will be suitably impressed with your choice of venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing