We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dissapointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Ranked #13 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I booked to take my wife to the Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel for a nice surprise,
when I rang I was advised that low tea was available until about 4.30pm was asked my name and time (1615) when we arrived we stood around for about 5 minutes, there was no sign of a tea room although there were a couple of people drinking tea from low tables in what resembled a lounge area. there was a makeshift reception area but it was unmanned. eventualy we found somone without uniform or name badge that was rushing about that we presumed were staff and explained we had a booking for low tea, they showed us to a settee in the lounge where 2 ladies were already sat and said 'this is it' we felt extreemly uncomfortable, it would have been very difficult to take tea and scones at a coffee table so after a brief discussion my wife and I found the member of staff and explained it wasnt what we expected and left - she responded - oh ok - very dissapointing its a loveley building and we expected better - wont be going back real let down. The hotel would benefit from seeing how other hotels do low and high tea because they haven't got a clue.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
I and all the staff at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel are very sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience.

Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel does not have a specific tea room unfortunately, as the size of the manor house is not large enough to contain one along with all our other essential facilities. As with most historic buildings of this type we are unfortunately limited with regards to space. We shall look into this with the expansion of the hotel.

Our reception area is temporary as we are still awaiting permission from the National Trust to renovate this area, as it is a grade I listed building.

The member of staff without a name badge was one the owners of the hotel, and as such does not wear a name badge.

You were indeed shown to our lounge area for low tea. Low tea is traditional taken at a low table in a sitting room or drawing room, as opposed to High tea taken at a high table such as a dining table.

We are sorry it was not what you expected and we apologise that the lounge was very busy due to a function.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    139
    65
    51
    32
See reviews for
83
177
6
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Castle bromwich hall hotel is an amazing place. A 17th century building steeped in history. As you drive into the grounds with the view of the hotel you just feel you are about to visit somewhere very special indeed. The newly refurbished building loving restored and refurbished by it's new owners with no expense spared. They have managed to keep most of the original features yet somehow updating it to a high specification without losing the atmosphere of a 17th property. I had the pleasure staying overnight with my family on the 17th December. We had organised a surprise birthday party that evening. Andrew, chris and all the staff made sure all our needs and requests were met and they did not disappoint. It was a perfect night, lovely well presented food, fantastic DJ and excellent service. All our guests had an amazing time. The bedrooms did not disappoint and were of very high standard as were the bathrooms. They had everything you need Inc tea/coffee making facilities, tvs, plush furnishing with large comfy beds. The grounds are just stunning...even in winter. This hotel is a work in progress and I am certain as time progresses it's star rating will indeed increase should a spa and swimming pool be added. A gym would also do well here. It would be in up keeping with other hotels in the area such as forest of Arden and lea marston. I have been back for lunch and high tea which both was lovely. I would strongly recommend this venue for weddings, parties or special occasions. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blondeblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, they are appreciated. I, and all the staff remember your event at the hotel and had as much fun providing the event as you did experiencing the service. I am further gladdened to hear that you have been a returning guest and customer - we always strive to provide a memorable and enjoyable experience and hope to provide many more for you. I look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Arrived for a New Years Eve Gala Dinner, welcomed by lovely genuine staff, served drinks and made to feel at home and very pampered, staff were very attentive especially a young lady called Sarah who was very busy but took time to make sure we were happy and settled, would highly recommend this place and will certainly be recommending it to my granddaughter for her forthcoming marriage

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyaunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your review posting. I am delighted you enjoyed our guest experience and that you were pampered. We all look forward to welcoming both you and your granddaughter to the hotel again soon for even more pampering by our attentive staff. Again, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I see my negative review of the Hotel has been deleted, so I'll write again

The food was substandard and reheated after being cooked a few hours before
Vegetables were cold and the Pork was dry and tough.
Management did not seem to care

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andyr72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
At Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel we value all reviews both positive and negative - feedback is crucial. On this occasion though we felt some remarks were inappropriate Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel did not remove this review, it was administered by Trip Adviser after our concerns were made.

I would like to reiterate that the management at the hotel care a great deal about the guests and service received. Though the food was not reheated hours after being cooked, as all cooked food for lunch, dinner etc is prepared freshly, we have taken on-board the comments made. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again and hope to reverse the negative impression that was left with you. We have welcomed back members of your dinner party who have had fantastic meals since and we hope to welcome you back to give you a fantastic experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Visited the hotel for a traditional Christmas lunch. The food was of the highest quality and excellent value for money. The service was good. The hotel has only been open for a few months and it still fine-tuning things, but there is nothing that detracted from an enjoyable lunch.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
I am delighted to see that your enjoyed your visit to Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel. We have been working hard on fine tuning the experience for guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for an even more enjoyable time. Thank you for your support; it is very much appreciated by all staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton coldfield
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I recently had afternoon tea at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel with four friends. We had looked forward to seeing the refurbished hall and to the tea. We were not disappointed with the hall as the building has been refurbished to a high standard with beautiful ornate plaster ceilings and wood panels. We were rather suprised to find the hotel reception desk was based in the lounge and the phone was somewhat disruptive.Inital service was very slow and we had to ask if we could order tea. The tea itself was also disappointing with some very ordinary finger sandwiches,a scone each with jam and cream and some small mince pies. The tea arrived in three small teapots and was insufficient so we had to request more. We had expected some special sandwiches rather than the plain cheese, ham ,or beef we were given with no explanation as to what they were. We also expected some fancy cakes rather than mince pies. The receptionist was very pleasant and showed us around the public rooms which are charming.
A nice place to visit but we shall not return for tea. We would have been happy to pay more than the £9 a head for something more upmarket. Hopefully lunch and dinner are rather more special. When one of our group sent an email with feedback of our experience the management were very dismissive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jacqueline89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

My wife and I booked the overnight dinner, bed at breakfast at the hotel, with the choice of executive bedroom. When you arrive the charm and character of the hotel was overwelming. It exudes grace and charm. The reception is located in a drawing room and the service is wonderful, with the lady who booked us in took us through to the staircase and showed us to the room. They also gave us a free bottle of wine. Before dinner we had a walk round the gardens and they have to be seen to be believed. Dinner again was wonderful especially the goats cheese soufle. When we booked my wife requested vegertarian sausages for myself and that was provided. We have been to other period hotels, but this one trumps the lot. Will be booking again soon.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
I am extremely happy that you enjoyed the Hall so much and even more so that our guest experience, food and the charm of the Hall impressed you so much. This feedback is very much appreciated by all members of staff at the hotel and we appreciate your support. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and again if you have any request please inform our reception at the time of booking or at any time of your future stay and we will happily meet your need and I hope exceed them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel

Property: Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Address: Chester Road, Birmingham B36 9DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th Century Splendour Today Set in 10 acres of beautiful mature walled gardens, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel is a unique Grade 1 star listed country house hotel that combines understated luxury with an impeccable client focused service. Offering the very finest in dining and accommodation, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel effortlessly provides high quality hospitality with faultless attention to detail. In a delightfully rural and peaceful setting, guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel are taken out of the hustle and bustle of everyday life and transported back to a time where sophistication and elegance presided. Indulge in the surroundings and relax in the ambience of the beautifully restored Sixteenth century building, enjoying the many remaining original features including exposed wooden floors, intricate stone carvings and roaring log fires sympathetically combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. Guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel can enjoy both the grace of the past and the pleasures of the present in the Hotel's subtle fusion of the conventional and contemporary. The perfect retreat or the magnificent backdrop. Whether planning a wedding, a business conference, a family occasion or organising a special meal - whatever the reason - a stay at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel will ensure you have an unforgettable time in the very finest of care. Offering a range of beautiful and unique rooms for your event, as well as the exceptional skills of the Hotel's award-winning culinary team, you can be sure that your guests or delegates will be suitably impressed with your choice of venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing