We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A posh Faulty Towers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Ranked #12 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
paignton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A posh Faulty Towers”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The Building is very good to look at and our double room was clean tidy with a good shower room and nice outlook.But as pointed out in previous reviews the staff although nice people have not got a clue. we sat down in the lounge for a drink in the evening and decided to eat in the hotel by this time it was about 8.15 pm so we asked if we could have a table for dinner we were told we would have to sit down now as the kitchen closes at 8.30 ( dinner served till 9.00 is advertised) so we sat down to a high speed dinner.
the coffee arrived as we were still eating our sweet.
Can't complain about breakfast food and service was ok.
All in all we had a laugh about it and it was not a big problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    143
    70
    53
    33
See reviews for
85
180
6
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

On the up side we had a good, period, double room overlooking the main drive. It was clean, good bathroom etc and the chambermaids were charming. The was one (European) member of restaurant service staff who had the magic touch demonstrating the potential that the hotel could have - if only the staff were trained.
The adjacent, elegant, walled gardens laid out and maintained to the custom of the 18th C period (belonging to a separate charitable body) were absolutely stunning - especially as we had access to them outside of opening time to the public.
However, though the staff all seemed pleasant, it was clear they (with the exceptions noted above) had little or no hospitality training. Sadly this was regularly underlined right through from arrival at reception, through pre-dinner drinks in the lounge, assisting with meal choice, running to near-total inattention at breakfast.
It's not their fault - but Premier Inns deliver far superior service, regularly.
This is a hotel with bags of potential - but some small investment in staff training (which would be modest in comparison to the huge capital sums put into the refurbishment) is an absolute priority.
I wish the hotel well, but couldn't recommend it at present.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Epicurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here on business. Rooms are well equipped with free wifi. Food is excellent, service is great and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob7227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Recently attended a wedding at this hidden gem. A very beautiful place. I had no idea it was even there. I believe it is relatively newly-opened and restored. The place itself is magnificent and very sumptuous .

The wedding was great and the lady who organised it all was marvellous and it all ran very smoothly.

Would highly recommend the hotel. Staff were very friendly . Only thing I would say is that they needed a few more staff at breakfast as there seemed to be only 2 serving and lots of the wedding party came to eat together.

Sarah Leedham

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLeedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I booked my parents a night for their Birthdays and on their return they could not speak highly enough about the room, food, hospitality and beautiful building that had been restored to its full glory. Wonderful!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here for one night and would have gladly stayed more.
This is a delightful 17th century building, sensitively used as a hotel and exsquitely finished and furnished to give the impression of quality.
I can recommend the superior standard of room. Flat screen tv, contemporary bathroom fittings and plenty of space.
The restaurant is small and personable. The food was of a very good quality and I was pleasantly surprised.
There is a lovely lounge, to which in the evening, you can retire for dessert and coffee.
The sandwich menu in the afternoon is also of excellent quality.
The staff were amazingly helpful and conscientious.
My only gripes were simple really- the new stud walls in the bedrooms let an awful lot of noise through from the rooms next door!! Need I say more?! Also, there were no newspapers available in the lounge bar or at breakfast. These are the reasons that I have only given it very good overall as the noise through the wall disturbed my sleep quality!!
Would definitely recommend. Is conveniently placed for Birmingham airport but it also stands alone as simply a beautiful place to have a night or two away with family or friends.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justkeepexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Comfortable and luxurious hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Price of stay was in line with other hotels. We would definitely recommend this hotel for location and the setting. The gardens are stunning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#37 of 117 in Birmingham
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,392 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel

Property: Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Address: Chester Road, Birmingham B36 9DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th Century Splendour Today Set in 10 acres of beautiful mature walled gardens, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel is a unique Grade 1 star listed country house hotel that combines understated luxury with an impeccable client focused service. Offering the very finest in dining and accommodation, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel effortlessly provides high quality hospitality with faultless attention to detail. In a delightfully rural and peaceful setting, guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel are taken out of the hustle and bustle of everyday life and transported back to a time where sophistication and elegance presided. Indulge in the surroundings and relax in the ambience of the beautifully restored Sixteenth century building, enjoying the many remaining original features including exposed wooden floors, intricate stone carvings and roaring log fires sympathetically combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. Guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel can enjoy both the grace of the past and the pleasures of the present in the Hotel's subtle fusion of the conventional and contemporary. The perfect retreat or the magnificent backdrop. Whether planning a wedding, a business conference, a family occasion or organising a special meal - whatever the reason - a stay at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel will ensure you have an unforgettable time in the very finest of care. Offering a range of beautiful and unique rooms for your event, as well as the exceptional skills of the Hotel's award-winning culinary team, you can be sure that your guests or delegates will be suitably impressed with your choice of venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing