We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Ranked #13 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Puy-l'Eveque, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An oasis.”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

A beautfiul Tudor Mansion located conveniently close to a junction of the M6, thought far enough for noise elimination. The hall is in a somewhat bizarre location, abeautiful oasis totally surrounded by mundane housing estates. Once inside the gardens however, it is possible to forget the world outside.

My wife and I were accomodated in the recently modernised Brew House, an annexe adjacent to the main building. Our bedroom was small and had no views over the gardens but at the rate that we had paid, we could not complain. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided. The Hall had opened as a hotel less than 12 months before so the public areas in the main house and gardens surrounding the building were first rate. Round by the Brew House however, it was very much work in progress.

Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of offerings. Service seemed a little disorganised, as though the staff were still learning their roles.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpymikefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    140
    69
    52
    33
See reviews for
85
178
6
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel at the weekend with my partner. I bought it as a Groupon deal for his birthday and wanted something a bit special. It sounded good, stay in 17th centruy Grade 1 listed Manor House, eat in the Great Hall and entrance to National Trust Gardens. I was very disappointed to find out when we got there that a wedding party had taken over the whole hotel, so we had been allocated rooms in the Brew House, which was a separate building to the main hotel. When I booked only 3 weeks before we hadnt been told or given option to choose another weekend. The room we had was clean and functional, but it could have been a Premier Inn as it lacked any pictures on the walls and was sparsely furnished. Our evening meal couldnt be booked until 8.45pm and we were put into a small room at the back of the hotel called the Boudoir, and just seated with one other couple at that time. Our background music was the very loud disco of the wedding going on. The meal itself was good standard but the whole evening lacked any atmosphere. Breaksfast was served in the Great Hall Restaurant, but not much choice for the Continental one (which was in with the Groupon deal), and no choice of bread - sliced white or nothing!! The National Trust gardens were not National Trust - they were gardens owned by the Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel Garden Trust, and we definitely lacking in tlc. Lots of weeds around and borders looking unkempt. Apparently they are open to the public at a cost of over £5! All in all I was very disappointed with their offer, also the hotel is on the flight path for Birmingham Airport (I think?) and planes were going over very frequently, late into the night then started early again the next morning. As it was a hot night we had the windows open until I couldnt stand the noise any longer!! Beautiful venue for a wedding, but hotel definitely lacking finesse and lots of work needed to make the gardens and surrounding areas of hotel better. I found the staff all very helpful if a little disorganised, but we were definitely the 'poor relations' to the wedding party. I would have preferrred to have stayed on a 'normal' weekend, perhaps our experience would have been different.

Room Tip: If you looking for an authentic stay in hotel, dont let them put you in the Brew House, very average...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Fabulous historical building in a great location, lovely gardens, superior decoration, sadly let down by its service levels and the majority of staff who were miserable and surly. Little or no eye contact. How much would it take for them to smile occassionaly or say thank you. Slow bar service. No sugar offered with hot drinks had to ask afterwards whilst drink was left to go cold. London bar prices!!!!. Staff trying to charge £1.80p for a splash of lemonade. This was apparently the price for a glass. Need to invest in a decent sound system for receptions and teach staff how to use it. Additional seating and tables in garden area required so that function guests have adequate facilities other than the internal lounges.
Although it has free wi-fi it does not offer a computer for use by guests or visitors so unless you take a laptop or compatable phone with you, you won't be able to access the internet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Arriived Friday 3rd Aug 2012 warm welcome no porter to carry cases up four flights of stairs and not told there was a lift,
Had booked upgrade from standard room and given family room over looking gardens (£30 for two nights worth doing). Great view big room only shower in ensuite ( just a note if you expect a bath) breakfast as expected but when you order cooked from menu you only get one of each item unless you asked for two bacon two sausage etc.
Had meal there one evening all well cooked and very hot but lacking in taste.
Drive to local train station park for free and get the £2.20 return to birmingham bargin trip only about five mins on electric train return when you want
Would stop again but make sure you have a grouping voucher less than half price we dont think it warrents the full cost
Staff very warm and friendly very nice hotel

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed here for one night on a Groupon deal.
A most beautiful building and very friendly and helpful staff. We loved all the public rooms - a fantastic venue for a wedding!!
Our bedroom was quite small, and a bit of a pull up the stairs for pensioners, but all the facilities were of a high standard, and we had a lovely view from the window. The building reminded of Bodysgallen Hall near our house in North Wales.
We thought meal and drinks prices were very reasonable, and the standard of the evening meal was very good. The very pleasant waiter did everything to ensure we enjoyed our meal.
I wish now we had asked to upgrade to a larger room on a lower level - as it was our anniversary, but it was still a pleasant room and very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: check how many stairs to go up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My daughter and new son were married here on 30-06-2012. We were very concerned at first as after the initial booking had been made there were several staff changes and each time the whole process had to be started over again as no notes were handed over to the new person. We were about to call the whole thing off when in stepped Jane Dayus-Hinch.
What a pleasure. Jane put us at ease, made several pertinent recomendations and went on to ensure that everything went off without a hitch and acted as Master of Ceremonies.
The venue is very imposing and well presented, the facilities of high order and we did a block booking of rooms in order that people who had travelled far could sleep the night.
For service, food quality and staff efficiency the hotel deserves a FIVE STAR rating. Keep up the good work Jane and thank you, thank you, thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Me and my mum stayed the night. We stayed in the brew house which is a building next to the main hall. The room was average, clean and functional, the shower room was lovely. Service was second to none, the staff couldn't do enough for us. We had a meal in the evening which was delightful. I would recommend a stay here without any reservations.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#38 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel

Property: Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Address: Chester Road, Birmingham B36 9DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th Century Splendour Today Set in 10 acres of beautiful mature walled gardens, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel is a unique Grade 1 star listed country house hotel that combines understated luxury with an impeccable client focused service. Offering the very finest in dining and accommodation, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel effortlessly provides high quality hospitality with faultless attention to detail. In a delightfully rural and peaceful setting, guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel are taken out of the hustle and bustle of everyday life and transported back to a time where sophistication and elegance presided. Indulge in the surroundings and relax in the ambience of the beautifully restored Sixteenth century building, enjoying the many remaining original features including exposed wooden floors, intricate stone carvings and roaring log fires sympathetically combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. Guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel can enjoy both the grace of the past and the pleasures of the present in the Hotel's subtle fusion of the conventional and contemporary. The perfect retreat or the magnificent backdrop. Whether planning a wedding, a business conference, a family occasion or organising a special meal - whatever the reason - a stay at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel will ensure you have an unforgettable time in the very finest of care. Offering a range of beautiful and unique rooms for your event, as well as the exceptional skills of the Hotel's award-winning culinary team, you can be sure that your guests or delegates will be suitably impressed with your choice of venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing