We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A touch of elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Ranked #13 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A touch of elegance”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I regularly use this hotel to accommodate my guests and they all love the place and the friendly service. The restaurant is 5 star and the food is superb and not overpriced. Definitely worth visiting and a great place for fine dining.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKSmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    139
    67
    51
    32
See reviews for
84
177
6
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stunning hotel, staff were incredibly helpful, going the extra mile for us. The room was quite small but with lots of character (this was a superior room) and the bathroom absolutely stunning! The grounds are gorgeous although be aware you can't walk around the whole 10 acres without a guided tour. Food was lush, so much choice for breakfast! Nothing to fault in any way.

Room Tip: Any room has a lovely view but be aware there are lots of steps so if you don't like climbing re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanyJury89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel to be greeted by a European man stood by the door, he greeted us with a grunt and a "what" and then asked if we were Groupon customers ? We had no idea what a Groupon customer was and so we replied no, to which he said "oh ok, you can eat properly" we were quite shocked as to his manner and asked where reception was, he then pointed to the door in front of us and walked away. Upon finding reception we had to wait whilst a gentleman with glasses was talking very loudly to a young girl who I assume was the receptionist, his manner was wholly inappropriate in front of guests as he was talking to her like a child and calling her Hunny ! We checked in and were told our room was on the 2nd floor, we had heavy luggage and had to pull it up all the stairs as we were not told there was a lift ! Our evening meal was very poor and looked like it had been sitting under a heat lamp for ages, the gentleman George who served us was very pleasant and the staff in the bar were very polite especially Sara and Sogrund, they were very attentive and suggested places nearby to visit. All in all I was very disappointed with my stay and it was particularly ruined by the attitude of the so called management, European staff can be a great asset to any hotel but when visiting this hotel don't expect much more than a grunt from them.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamyland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Lovely Hotel set in beautiful grounds,stayed only one night wish it could have been more.
The room we had was large very clean and at a high standard beautiful bathroom with a walk in shower.
The staff were very friendly and helpfull.
Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotti69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband and I had booked the overnight stay dinner, bed and breakfast for a Saturday night. We had booked through Groupon and were very looking forward to our break. We travelled the 3 hour journey and arrived at the hotel. After finding the reception area, we were then told our room number and were told it was next to the main building. It was like a maze! There were people walking around everywhere and no where could we see signs to the room. When we eventually found the room, I was so disappointed. I had rang 2 weeks prior to arriving to make sure that we had a room with a bath. They promised me that. ..There was no bath in this room and my bathroom at home was bigger than the bedroom. It was dark and small. We made our way back to the reception where there were 3 people (staff) stood at the reception room chatting. I had to interupt them to say that the room had no bath in and was there any chance of an upgrade. I said I was happy to pay for this. The receptionist gave us another key and sent us away to the new room. This room was slightly bigger and had a bath in. The room was again clean, but it had nothing about it. It felt cold, plain and boring. Even though you could see that they had been recently decorated it was very plain and basic. Not cosy or warming in any kind of way. We then made our way back to the main building as we were hungry and thirsty after our 3 hour journey. After finding a bar area (even though there were plenty of staff walking around who could have helped us ) we then had to interupt 2 staff at the bar chatting and asked if we could order a sandwich and a couple of drinks. (It was 3pm!) The bar man told us that if we wanted to eat we will have to wait till 7pm when the chef comes in, as the chef had gone home!! I asked him if this was really true, and could we not have a snack as we had travelled all this way, and the 2 men just shook their heads at us and said it would be 7pm. ( holding back tears, as I couldnt believe how rude they were ) I said to my husband could we please leave and find somewhere else to stay.BEARING in mind we counted 7 staff and not one of them could have made us a sandwich!! We handed the key back and told them that we were not going to stay there. That was our experience. It was dreadful, not even an apology. I had better service taking our dogs to the kennels, and they were nicer rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachel187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Situated in beautiful grounds, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel is a fantastic break away! We stayed here from the 9th September for 2 nights and could not fault any part of the break away. The food was fantastic and all of the staff were friendly and extremely helpful! The rooms were clean and kept to a high standard. Would definitely love to come back and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We held our Wedding party here on Saturday 8th September 2012 having got married abroad back in April. Like some others, initially had a few hiccups with the high turnover of event planners, and none of my details / party information being passed each successor. This in itself very frustrating and stressful and at times left me wondering how the night would go!

In steps "Mr Jose" and everything was wonderful again. I cannot stress how beautifully the evening went, I even booked sunshine which arrived and left me with a glorious sunset.... The whole event went perfectly to plan, the staff worked extremely hard ( not seeming to go to bed at all ), the rooms were beautiful, their preferred DJ excellent, food wondeful,everyone who attended said what a wonderful time they had, you cannot ask for more. We didnt want it to end.

The hardest thing was leaving the sumptious bridal suite which we could've held the party in itself!!! Getting up in the morning to a hot buffet breakfast, with everything you need, fresh juice, pastries, fruit, yoghurts, cereals, full english, tea, coffee, toast..... nothing was too much trouble.

We had a few children at the party who also stayed over, they were catered for beautifully and allowed to run around in the grounds and enjoy the house themselves without any raised eyebrows!!

Perfect :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,461 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
2,317 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
896 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel

Property: Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Address: Chester Road, Birmingham B36 9DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th Century Splendour Today Set in 10 acres of beautiful mature walled gardens, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel is a unique Grade 1 star listed country house hotel that combines understated luxury with an impeccable client focused service. Offering the very finest in dining and accommodation, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel effortlessly provides high quality hospitality with faultless attention to detail. In a delightfully rural and peaceful setting, guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel are taken out of the hustle and bustle of everyday life and transported back to a time where sophistication and elegance presided. Indulge in the surroundings and relax in the ambience of the beautifully restored Sixteenth century building, enjoying the many remaining original features including exposed wooden floors, intricate stone carvings and roaring log fires sympathetically combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. Guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel can enjoy both the grace of the past and the pleasures of the present in the Hotel's subtle fusion of the conventional and contemporary. The perfect retreat or the magnificent backdrop. Whether planning a wedding, a business conference, a family occasion or organising a special meal - whatever the reason - a stay at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel will ensure you have an unforgettable time in the very finest of care. Offering a range of beautiful and unique rooms for your event, as well as the exceptional skills of the Hotel's award-winning culinary team, you can be sure that your guests or delegates will be suitably impressed with your choice of venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing