We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special wedding day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Ranked #12 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Special wedding day”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

After my son’s wedding service at Castle Bromwich church we all walked round the corner and up the drive to Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel to an excellent reception. This Grade I listed 18th-century manor house building, well known to local people and sadly empty for many years, has been beautifully restored and operates as well as it looks. From beginning to end the function was superbly organised.
Drinks on the terrace overlooking the historic gardens with the church tower in the background (we also had a string quartet playing) and then an excellent meal, with discrete and highly organised service. Jose was a wonderful MC - he knew just when to appear, when to guide and when to disappear into the background. Excellent arrangements for the evening disco - there is a lounge and bar adjoining for those who just want a quiet chat and don’t want to join in the music and dancing.
Many of the guests stayed in the large traditionally appointed 18th-century rooms and were treated to a proper English breakfast. Can’t thank all the staff concerned enough for making my son's and new daughter-in-law’s special day very special. Highly recommended.
(And you can just go there for a drink, or for afternoon tea, or for one of their special events - and still have the same welcome and service.)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    143
    70
    53
    33
See reviews for
85
180
6
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Extremely good visit - food excellant; surroundings very pleasant and service good but the only drawback was that we had to ASK for sauces with main meal AND then young waiter removed plates from guests who had finished whilst others were still eating (more training required)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14carolina89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Accomodation was booked online and was later cancelled. On initial cancellation staff were helpful, accommodating and understood reasons for cancellation. Though the website warns that online bookings are non refundable, hotel staff agreed that the rooms would not be charged for due to the circumstances and as over a months notice was being given. However, I was still charged. I telephoned the hotel after I was charged and was told that my booking had been cancelled and that I should not of been charged. 5 minutes later I was telephoned back and told no refund as booked on line. I had booked 3 rooms each at a cost of £60. I wrote a letter to the manager to complain a week ago and it has not been acknowledged. Extremely poor customer service, staff who give out incorrect information and management that do not care for your custom. Avoid dealing with this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Booked thro Late Rooms for £50 room only and was very impressed by the main building but we were placed in the annex - The Brew House. Poorly signed from main entrance and tho the room as quite nice and adequate on size, the sound insulation between us and the neighbouring room was probably the worst I've ever experienced. Without the aid of some great earplugs I doubt we would have put up with the sounds & insisted on a change of room.

Breakfast at an extra £10 was a small buffet of cold stuff but a decent selection of cooked traditional breakfasts.

Overall for a short 1 night stop-over for £50, we weren't expecting too much but I doubt that even at the cheapest budget-lodge the sound insulation would have been that bad. And despite all the good points that the hotel has to offer, it counts for nothing if you can't get to sleep!

If you do intend to stay, I would insist on staying in the main building

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wimason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Had a very romantic night in this hotel, room very good, food very, very good, staff very good as you hoped to be treated. The only downside was no lift to all floors. Would stay again. We found the hotel easily by Sat Nav, very nice undisturbed night of rest with a good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I was treated to an overnight stay at the hotel last week and as it was a surprise I was pleasantly surprised he'd chosen somewhere so lovely. The room was comfortable (we stayed in the Brew House). The staff were very attentive and polite. The meals (dinner/breakfast) were exceptionally good as was the service. And a bonus was the plates the food came on were hot. A real downer for us is hot food on cold plates (ugh).

The gardens are still having work done on them but this did not detract from how lovely they are, even though some of the plants were still struggling with the cold/damp weather we've been having. Lots of benches around the gardens for sitting and enjoying the peach and quite. The planes on their flight path were not a problem and didn't spoil the peaceful atmosphere as you sat and listened to the birds. Wonderful.

Love the décor of the lounge/dining room, in fact the whole place was, for me, a wow factor. We took a peep at the staircase and the reception rooms on the first floor and if your holding a wedding or special occasion then BOOK IT here.

Suggestions: A hook for hanging up dressing gown/bath towel in bath room. Perhaps a bx of tissues for removing make up etc wouldn't be too expensive an addition.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I booked this for 1 night as I was on a business trip to Birmingham.
The Castle was absolutely fantastic.
the evening meal was superb but be prepared to wait as I was there at 7.15 and left at 9.30.
However it was worth it and the food was cooked to order.
Breakfast was also superb and cooked to order.
My dissapointment was that there was no complimentary mineral water in the room and no shower cap.
Trivial I know but I don't come accross this very often in a 4 star Hotel.

Room Tip: I was in the Tap Area which is like a mews outside the main Castle. Very quiet and very nice indeed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne_sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#37 of 117 in Birmingham
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,393 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel

Property: Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Address: Chester Road, Birmingham B36 9DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th Century Splendour Today Set in 10 acres of beautiful mature walled gardens, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel is a unique Grade 1 star listed country house hotel that combines understated luxury with an impeccable client focused service. Offering the very finest in dining and accommodation, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel effortlessly provides high quality hospitality with faultless attention to detail. In a delightfully rural and peaceful setting, guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel are taken out of the hustle and bustle of everyday life and transported back to a time where sophistication and elegance presided. Indulge in the surroundings and relax in the ambience of the beautifully restored Sixteenth century building, enjoying the many remaining original features including exposed wooden floors, intricate stone carvings and roaring log fires sympathetically combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. Guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel can enjoy both the grace of the past and the pleasures of the present in the Hotel's subtle fusion of the conventional and contemporary. The perfect retreat or the magnificent backdrop. Whether planning a wedding, a business conference, a family occasion or organising a special meal - whatever the reason - a stay at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel will ensure you have an unforgettable time in the very finest of care. Offering a range of beautiful and unique rooms for your event, as well as the exceptional skills of the Hotel's award-winning culinary team, you can be sure that your guests or delegates will be suitably impressed with your choice of venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing