We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely building, noisy and poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Ranked #13 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely building, noisy and poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I booked a night at the hotel as it looked like a lovely venue and I thought it would offer a welcome change of scenery from two days at the NEC.

The total lack of interest shown by the staff was incredible.

The 3 evening staff were focusing on anything but the guests, this destroyed the effort put in by the chef and made the beautiful building seem like a filming studio, beautiful facade but no substance.

The evening food was good, but with only 4 guest tables to attend to in the restaurant and around 6 in the bar, it was hugely frustrating that the staff were so bad. I really do not understand what they were doing: serving drinks to the 2 people at the bar perhaps? I had to go searching through a stack of various menus to try to finds the appropriate menus, work out what the options were for dinner and go looking for staff on several occassions. They disappeared as soon as they placed the food on our table and when they did pop up briefly elsewhere they disappeared as quickly as quickly as they could without drawing any attention. Needless to say my food had gone cold and the wine bottle of wine was warm by the time I had managed to encourage them to bring some condiments.

We also had to make do without several items at breakfast as the person serving seemed to be on his own and was unable to keep on top of the serving tables.

To add to my disappointed I was awoken at 6am and every 20 minutes or so after by planes heading for the Airport and water pipes from the other rooms. If you are not intending on an early start you should account for this.

I asked to see the duty manager in the morning. There was no one available other than a very polite receptionist. This may of accounted for the lack of motivation or accountability of the staff. I was told that someone would be in at 11.30am. Not really what you want to hear.

When I did leave my details for the general manager, he didn't call me. So don't expect anyone to deal with any issues that you might have even if they are not your fault.

In summary a lovely, noisy venue where the staff at all levels showed no interest in the guests. A real disappointment!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colberat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHHManager, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your review, ColberAT A!

We are very sorry to hear that you received this service during your stay. As a hotel we value your feedback as it allows for improvements to be made and enforced in each department and service we cater for. Your comments are strongly valued and we aim to continue to improve our customer service by providing the correct training and information to our staff.

Additionally we are sorry to hear that you had a restless nights sleep.

We hope that these improvements can be witnessed and we do hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    139
    65
    51
    32
See reviews for
83
177
6
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Vic Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Check in was efficient without warmth or real welcome, no offer to assist with luggage to second floor with many stairs to get there. The bathroom was small and the room size was compromised by the bathroom for the room next door cutting into what would have been the original space of the room. This also proved to be noisy when the guest in that room showered at 6.30am. The bed was comfortable but the hotel is under the flight path from Birmingham Airport which proved noisy. Food for dinner was very average for price charged. The pea and mushroom rissotto was not generous with peas or mushroom and lacked true flavour. Overall a disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room no higher than the first floor as their is a wheel chair access lift that could be us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHHManager, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your review, Lionel41!

It is disappointing to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our sincere apologies that you felt this way. Receiving feedback such as this is beneficial for us at it allows for improvements to be acknowledged and achieved.

We are currently making a lot of changes in the hotel - particularly in regards to food and beverage services and the general maintenance and upkeep of the hotel.

We really hope that you will stay with us again and see the evidence of positive change!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stopped the night night annexe building The Brew House. These are smaller rooms with a desk, a small wardrobe and a bag stand. The bathroom is a shower room and has a waterfall shower which is very nice. However the sink is very pretty but not really deep enough for some people.

The bed was a normal double so for a couple's both over a size 18 its not a great fit. Pillows and bedding very nice and nice towels too. The room was very hot when i got in and the bathroom has what felt like under floor heating. I was only able to open one of the windows and as we was on the ground floor i could not keep it open when we went for a drink as it was right on the back car park.

We had a drink at the bar and for a Glass of wine and a pint of larger it was £10. We looked at the menu which looked very nice but not in our price range for what was on offer.

We booked the hotel room for £65 for the night which i think is expensive for what we got.

The location of the hotel and the outside of the main building is what you are paying for but the rooms in the premiere inn for £29 are just as nice (not the bathroom but prem in you get a bath). It was nice to sit outside and drink our drinks in the quiet and with the views.

Room Tip: pay extra and stay in main building of you want to real old world feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuadGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHHManager, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your review, QuadGirls!

We do apologise that you felt our services where overpriced; however we do check our prices regularly and do offer deals and vouchers to both residents and guests.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location and grounds!

We would love to see you again and maybe if you do visit again you may stay in the main building?

We hope you did enjoy your stay with us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
196 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed two nights in May attending a family wedding and were very impressed on arrival at the beautiful old building and interiors of the ground floor. Our room was on the third floor so it was a hard slog upstairs with our cases, no assistance offered despite the fact we also had suit/dress bags, shoe bags and a hat box! The room was great, clean and cosy, if a bit small, facing the front of the building, and the bed was comfortable. Huge wardrobe but not enough hangers, lovely en suite bathroom but the steam from the shower set off the smoke alarm - so the bathroom door needs a sign on it to keep it closed when the shower in use!
We ate in the bar in the evening and the food was very tasty although the portions small for the price. The following morning we sat in the dining room for breakfast and the continental selection appeared excellent. There is a selection of fruit juice, bread to toast, cereals, croissant and pastries, meat and cheese etc. We ordered a cook breakfast, requesting items listed separately on the menu, when mine arrived it had two sausages on it and no tomatoes so I rejected it and pointed out that I had not ordered sausages and that the tomatoes were missing. The waiter told me I had ordered sausages and not tomatoes, (I don't eat sausages, have never eaten sausages, and would never have ordered them!), I was quite clear that I had ordered tomatoes not sausages and my husband confirmed this, so he took the plate away. When he returned with a plate with no sausages and including tomatoes he said that he had checked the order and I had ordered sausages but they had kindly replaced them with tomatoes for me! I was too polite to argue such a trivial issue, simply amazed that I was being treated like an idiot and I was paying for the privilege of his rudeness and insistence that it was my error! My husband had ordered scrambled eggs but what appeared was a pile of fried eggs chopped up into small pieces which he couldn't eat, and the bacon was dry and hard, so he just ate toast. All in all the breakfast experience very disappointing and not helped by the unsmiling waiter! The following morning we just had toast and cereal which was great as we could help ourselves!
After breakfast we decided to have a wander around the grounds, the main gardens are accessed separately through a visitor centre adjacent to the hotel (charge made). The grounds immediately around the hotel are lovely but had not seen a gardener in many weeks, grass was overgrown and weeds had taken over the flowerbeds and pathways. Such a shame as this hotel is truly beautiful, in a peaceful setting and the history of it is fascinating. All the other staff we met including the manager were unfailingly polite and friendly, and the service excellent.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel, (but not breakfast!).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if you are not great with lots of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trulyreviewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHHManager, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your review Trulyreviewed!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we do hope that you do visit again!

We do apologise that staff did not help with your luggage up the stairs. Staff do usually help and assist guests so we do apologise for this.

With regards to your service at breakfast we do sincerely apologise for this and your input is received and acknowledge to further improve service in the future.

Again, thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here to break a journey overnight. The surroundings were quite nice and we stayed in one of the small cottage rooms. The room was pleasant, but basic. We were very pleased with the restaurant when we went over for dinner. The staff were excellent and the food was reasonable and of good quality. The choice was a little limited; but each dish was delicious.

In the morning, we decided to have breakfast, based on the good experience of the previous evening; we really wished we had not. The breakfast was expensive for the quality and quantity (around £11 per head). When I asked for two eggs the waiter looked horrified; there was one rasher of fatty tasteless bacon, one sausage and probably around a desert spoon full of beans put in a little ceramic pot.

Diners had to toast their own bread (which I know is common); but there was very little bread to choose from and you could visibly see people looked afraid to toast more than once slice as it appeared on ration.

It was such a shame to find a completely different atmosphere in the morning; even the tables no longer had cloths on them. This might have been acceptable if the tables had been in good condition.

I would stay here again; and dine in the evening. However, I would go out for breakfast, as I do not mind what I pay to eat a decent meal; but breakfast is far from that. My rating will have to take into account both dining experiences; which is a pity as the female staff on duty during the evening were fantastic.

Room Tip: If you happen to smoke; you can have a room that leads directly outdoors. However, you may experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHHManager, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your review, Lynne W!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel!

But it is disappointing to learn that you were not happy with with breakfast. This is an area that we are currently dealing with. Feedback such as yours can help us improve this. Therefore your feedback is an extremely grateful contribution to our progress and improvements.

We really do hope that you would stay here again and please do come to dine with us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

stayed here for 1 night,hotel was very clean,food was excellent and reasonably priced,choice of cooked breakfast or continental,nice comfortable bar area,our room was in the annex it was clean and comfortable with an on-suite shower

Room Tip: only stayed 1 night and as it was our 1st visit I cant give a preference of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHHManager, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your review, Keith B!

We are very pleased that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable!

Likewise we are happy that you we pleased with the accommodation, food and cleanliness!

We are very grateful for your comments and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

For many years this Hall lay neglected but a substantial overhaul of the building that was built in the 1550s has resulted in a great place to stay. The staff make you feel special with excellent service that leaves nothing to chance. Our room was in the main building with all the odd bits of history turning up in the most unexpected places. We were delighted with the food and the number of places that you could enjoy it. We did find the bar quite small but there is a newly completed function room that has all the expected bells & whistles.
With such a wonderful building & gardens it seems to be in demand for weddings most of the year. We only stayed one night night but are planning a weekend in the summer to enjoy all the great facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHHManager, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your review, SueMick!

We are pleased to hear that you are well informed and knowledgeable about our beautiful building.
We are very proud of the history attached to our building and we are pleased that you enjoyed this!

Please do come back and visit us! We would love to see you again!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel

Property: Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Address: Chester Road, Birmingham B36 9DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th Century Splendour Today Set in 10 acres of beautiful mature walled gardens, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel is a unique Grade 1 star listed country house hotel that combines understated luxury with an impeccable client focused service. Offering the very finest in dining and accommodation, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel effortlessly provides high quality hospitality with faultless attention to detail. In a delightfully rural and peaceful setting, guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel are taken out of the hustle and bustle of everyday life and transported back to a time where sophistication and elegance presided. Indulge in the surroundings and relax in the ambience of the beautifully restored Sixteenth century building, enjoying the many remaining original features including exposed wooden floors, intricate stone carvings and roaring log fires sympathetically combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. Guests at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel can enjoy both the grace of the past and the pleasures of the present in the Hotel's subtle fusion of the conventional and contemporary. The perfect retreat or the magnificent backdrop. Whether planning a wedding, a business conference, a family occasion or organising a special meal - whatever the reason - a stay at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel will ensure you have an unforgettable time in the very finest of care. Offering a range of beautiful and unique rooms for your event, as well as the exceptional skills of the Hotel's award-winning culinary team, you can be sure that your guests or delegates will be suitably impressed with your choice of venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing