We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rollason Wood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rollason Wood Hotel
Ranked #32 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

For someone simply wanting a cheap bed for the night, this hotel was perfect. Admittedly you do get what you pay for to a certain extent (e.g. shared toilet & shower), but what I did get far exceeded my expectations. The room was clean & cosy, included a sink and had a TV. There was deskspace so I could get some work done. All this, for £25, and it even included breakfast!

Absolute bargain, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooby_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    7
    7
    12
See reviews for
6
5
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newquay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We wanted a cheap Saturday night room, 3 friends sharing, close to Birmingham city centre & Tamworth snowdome. This was about 1/2 way between both, included breakfast, ensuite & was a triple room keeping costs down. Bargain price at £63.
Ensuite did smell a bit, but seemed clean.
Room & decor was dated, but clean. 2 single beds & one double.
Plenty of free parking.
Breakfast cereal choice & coffee was nice, cooked breakfast was ok. Free WiFi. bar was reasonable prices.
Taxi to town was £11 for 3 lads each way with Star cars.
We would stay there again for the same trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanSumSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh (Scotland)
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

For a hotel of its class, in the market its catering too (primarilly workers and those on low budgets) this place can do no wrong and goes way beyond what many other establishments do. I stay here regularly and my most recent visit to attend a funeral in the area was, as usual, excillent!

The staff are always helpfull, friendly and good fun, food tasty, room cumfortable and the whole thing doesnt break the bank. The other residents are always good to talk too as well. Well done guys as always I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danieljp84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Rollason Wood was truely outstanding in many ways. Superb value for money, outstanding personal and attentive service, clean, comfortable and well located.

I stayed only one night and was very impressed with the standard of the room for the price paid.

My colleague stayed for almost a week and was equally impressed.

Most highly recomended....

Room Tip: Room 5 is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finlee36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

My wife and I booked this hotel in order to attend an exhibition at the N.E.C. We stayed 2 nights, having dinner at the hotel each night. The staff were attentive and amenable; the food was good quality; the decor was basic and a bit tired - but considering the low price we paid, all in all, we feel we had good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seenoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh (Scotland)
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

the review below is absolute nonsense!!!!

Have been staying for years and at this price can find no faults. OK so its not slap bang on broad street but thats what does it for me, a quiet, friendly cost effective bolt whole with excillent road and rail links.

Rollason wood is Familly owned and nanaged and all staff are superb! its not luxury but doesnt pretend to be. They know the market there catering for and what matters most is that for the price you pay your safe, cumfortable and in a clean welcoming environment.

The bar onsite is well stocked, the food in both morning and evening of a very high qualitty and served with a smile! There is also a games room, TV lounge and for those odd moments of good weather, outside seating.

Rooms are clean and carred for and for those stil not happy bare in mind at this price in London, youde be going home via A and E.

The majoritty of guests are contracters but all, including registered Blind people like myself are welcomed and everyone there is interested in ensuring your cumfortable.

If you want to pay less but stil get a qualitty service stay, I wouldnt rebook over and over if it wasnt good enough. Theres free wifi and if you want something, just ask. 12 out of 10 to Bob and his staff!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danieljp84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Shocking!! Took my breath away with utter dis belief... A love nest for the criminally insane.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Discomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
4.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
2.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#95 of 117 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
3.5 mi away
The Old Crown
The Old Crown
#11 of 54 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.7 mi away
Elmdon Lodge
Elmdon Lodge
#1 of 54 in Birmingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rollason Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rollason Wood Hotel

Property: Rollason Wood Hotel
Address: Wood End Road | Erdington, Birmingham B24 8BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rollason Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Rollason Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing