We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Heighington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service!”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay here, along with some friends. We had a wonderful stay the rooms were very nice, bright and airy. The King size bed was extremely comfortable, we had a lovely view over the golf course as well.

We ate dinner two nights running in the Oaks restaurant and the food was delicious, one of our party was vegetarian and didn’t care for the menu choice, the staff immediately offered off menu suggestions that could be made, we thought that was a very nice touch. The restaurant service was excellent

Whilst our husbands made use of the Championship Golf of Course, we were given a running route off site and enjoyed a quick 4 mile run before returning for massages and a couple of hours relaxing by the pool very nice facilities which we made full use of.
We used the gowns provided from our rooms and had a light lunch in Zest which was very nice two.

The cocktails are wonderful and our cocktail waiter Ronald was a shining star, providing a first class friendly service.

The thing that makes this hotel stand out for me and assures our return is the FANTASTIC service we received from every member of staff we came into contact with, nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SparkyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    526
    238
    111
    69
See reviews for
259
354
18
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Very impressed with the Forest of Arden and I have stayed in a fair few Marriott to date.This one would definitely come in my top 3. It's in lovely rural setting with well maintained grounds, we even saw deer on one of the golf courses!
The reception staff were genuinely (not faux) friendly, a particular mention must go to Phil who was front of house at reception. Not only did he bring our luggage up and show us where all the facilitiess were in the room, he even offered to put the kettle on and make us a cup of tea!
Our rooms (248 & 249) were spacious, well furnished and sparkling clean. Beds were very comfortable but there was one complaint that the smoke alarm (?) light was right in the eye line of one bed and flashed continually at night.
The swimming pool and changing rooms were also clean and tidy, jacuzzi and sauna perfect but did find the steam room smelt a bit of old drains!
The only meal we had was the breakfast but an excellent selection was available, lovely setting overlooking a patio and part of the golf course with attentive staff.
Was very sorry to leave and will definitely be back sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloisecherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

On arrival the receptionist couldn't have been nicer or more obliging. Although we arrived early we were given our room immediately (around 12.30)
We had lunch in Zest. Exactly what you would expect from a busy hotel bar. Plenty of people coming in from the golf course for a drink and a light lunch, very good atmosphere if you're looking for something with a bit of a buzz. Staff were attentive and prompt. The Oaks bar was quieter if you prefer to relax and chat in a less busy environment.
We had dinner in the Oaks restaurant. We'd paid for a dinner bed & breakfast rate and we ordered everything we wanted from the menu without needing to pay any extra. Staff great again, made sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast the morning after had a very good selection that should suit most people.
We also used the leisure club which was quite busy but very relaxing. Everything I would expect from this type of hotel.
Our room was clean and spacious. The only critcism I would make is of the signs that tell you how to get to your room. We walked right round the hotel following the signs to our room only to find that if we had turned left instead of right, we would have got there five minutes earlier. Never mind. We probably needed to burn off the calories from all that food we ate!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We had a special family weekend booked and were most disappointed. We stayed from 5 Feb to 7 Feb 2010 (contrary to above). We had a a problem and after the receoptionist was rude, the manager was even ruder. We were advised prior to our stay that under 8's eat free but were informed this was not correct. The food was unimpressive. There was hair in the food (which was notified to the kitchen manager). Other food was ordered from the children's menu and we received something different. Our child spat it out and we had not been informed that we were served something different. When we asked why we received somehting different we were told it was because they did not have what was on the menu! Nice of them to tell us. We had a miserable time. We have stayed at marriott hotels in England on sone 30 different occasions in the ladt few years - this was the worst. The first and last tiem we will stay at forest of arden.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights between Xmas and New Year. The hotel itself was OK and the staff tried to be as helpful as they could, but we were disappointed with the service they provided. On arrival we were told that the Zest bar was only serving food until 4pm. No problem, we were in there by 2.30pm. However,they had run out of almost all food on the menu as well as basics like fruit juice at the bar. Very poor selection.
Pool was used by members of our party, and that was fine apparently.
We booked a table in the restaurant for evening food, but when we arrived at 8pm we were informed it was 'buffet only' that night. Had a look at what was on offer- chicken stew and hake in sauce, or pasta. Plus salads and deserts. For this they wanted £28 each!! We declined to stay. Ladies on reception kindly ordered 2 taxi's for us and our party of 12 went to the local Pub instead (Bulls Head) where we had a great meal.
Next morning at breakfast they said they had no decaf coffee and we had to ask for teaspoons.
Staff appeared embarrassed by what they had to serve/say to us, but were helpful and understanding at our frustration.
On return from our break we complained to Mariott. They could only rustle up a refund of our bar bill which was the princely sum of £9 (as we paid mostly in cash on the night).
We are not impressed and will not chose Marriott again

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinamon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Hotel driveway was pleasant and the grounds and golf course looked good. I used the Spa and that was really good. Room was a bit of a shock and needs updating desperately. As a Marriotts Rewards member I really enjoy staying at the Marriott and the rooms are normally excellent. The bed was awful and I couldn't sleep as the springs were coming through the mattress topper and I spent till 4am looking at the artexed ceiling. The bathroom was really shabby and needs redecoratng. Managed to move rooms the next day, do not stay in room 324. I note on previous review rooms similar to our number were also noted as shabby. We were on a BBD package, first night ate in the Grill, only buffet offered which was barely warm and consisted of mains of chicken thighs or hake. Second night offered Turkey buffet!!! I did complain however the Zest restaurant was open the following night but with the sports channel on with the volume turned up I might as well have been in a sports bar. I am finding it difficult to renew my enthiasium for Marriott after this. I did complete an online survey a few days later but no response. Maybe too big a Company to care.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC-the-organiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

One star for being friendly
One star for a clean and modern room
One star for the spa facility
Nothing for the food - watery salads, tasteless main courses
Nothing for the ambience - this is a conference hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
903 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
3,033 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Property: Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing