We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel with very slow staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We (a couple and an 11-month old baby) stayed here for 4 nights in June 2011 while my husband attended an international conference nearby. The hotel was booked for us by the conference organizers, so we didn't have a say as to what rooms were blocked for us. The room we were given was on the 2nd floor and overlooked an inner courtyard. The room itself was roomy (our 11-month old had plenty of room to crawl around) and the bathroom contained a full bathtub (useful for the baby).

Since it's an older hotel, there wasn't much sound-proofing done to the rooms - we could hear the guests next door opening closet doors and turning on the television. Not great when you're trying to get some sleep. The room heater was next to the bed and I kept having to keep the baby from trying to touch it. The minibar/mini-fridge was a pain the butt to get open. We had asked to have all items removed so we could use the fridge for baby-related items and the staff kept locking the fridge door (had to call down a few times to get it unlocked).

Other than Bill the Concierge, every other staffer we encountered on property was super slow. Whenever we called down to reception the phone would ring at least 8-10 times before someone would answer. When questioned about that on our 2nd morning, the staff on hand said they turned down the ringer volume earlier and "forgot" to turn it back up. This happened to us throughout our 4 night stay. We also repeatedly asked for a power-plug adapter and were constantly told they were "out". The only available ones were for shavers - not really useful when needing to plug in a laptop.

The hotel itself is on a golf course and is pleasant enough, but going to and from Birmingham City Center is a bit expensive and cumbersome. We would take a taxi to the Birmingham International Station (15 pounds) and then catch the train into the city (3.90 pounds for a return ticket). Then take another taxi back to the hotel (another 15 pounds).

The room service was decent. The fish & chips wasn't excellent, but the Marriott burger was a favorite. Breakfast was included in our room rate and they had the standard fare - bread, eggs, sausages, beans, cereals, fruit. It was the same every day, but tasty.

We probably wouldn't stay here on our own accord again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawaiianIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
There are newer reviews for Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,321 - 1,327 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed here due to a family wedding reception which was located at the hotel. It is a large 'country club' type hotel which is mainly aimed at golfers, business conferences and weddings but would also be suitable for couples or small groups of friends. The staff were very courteous and helpful, this applied to the front desk, bars and restaurant. Our room was well furnished and spotlessly clean. The evening meal was of a very high standard and served very quickly despite the large number of guests. Breakfast was largely a buffet but was regularly refreshed and was also of a good quality. The location is ideal to visit Warwick Castle, Kenilworth Castle or events at the NEC.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights , dinner & breakfast included. We had a lovely time . The staff couldn't do enough to help - always smiling. We found the hotel nice & clean. The only tired looking part of the hotel was our bathroom.My only complaint was that our room was next to a fire door & everytime it shut it banged & kept me awake alot of the night - I spoke to the staff about it & they immediatley moved us. The food in the main restuarant is lovely.
I would definatley go back there again . :O))

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex123186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Working in events I see hundreds of hotels per year, and I can honestly say that the staff here are up there with the best. So friendly and happy to help without the puppy dog 'waiting for tip' look.
Sadly, they should all be picked up and moved to a 7* hotel where they belong as the backdrop of a antiquated Marriott chain hotel lets them down.
Wifi is 15gbp a day and only available in certain areas, the food is sub standard to say the least, the rooms are un air conditioned saunas, and the whole hotel could really do with a facelift and general modernisation.
Still a good place to stay but very expensive for what it offers. Visit for the staff but not the hotel experience .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlowmsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We went to the Marriott for a 40th birthday and played 2 lovely rounds of golf and had a pleasent stay in the Marriott. Unfortunately the trip was let down by simple things that detracted from what should have been a special break - no ice at the bar, no olives as they were all being used in the kitchen, running out of cider, nobody attending the spa - you had to leave your name and number for them to call you back, ordering champagne and having to poor it yourself - the same with the wine....simple things!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor is in the roof and very hot
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamstersndwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

It is difficult to find anything wrong with this place. Small improvements could be done for breakfast selection, choice of bar snacks and decor is slightly soulless, however, overall it is good 4* hotel, very comfortable and pleasant, I would stay again.

May I say staff was exceptional?

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twixi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I stayed in this hotel with friends when we attended another friends wedding in another hotel. The location is beautiful and the hotel was clean and well decorated. For the price to get two double beds was great value. Breakfast was good if not a bit too busy on a weekend. If you want a relxing chilled out weekend, i would definately go back. Only thing is that don't expect a lie in with noisy early bird golfers!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentflyerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
919 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,088 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £70 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing