We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #36 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We came on a golf break for two days on a Monday and Tuesday. The pro-shop staff and starter were friendly and informative.The Arden golf course was in great condition, and is very challenging. After our first round we checked in to the hotel, but our room had not been cleaned. However, after a call to reception we were moved to a new room nearby, and the receptionist brought the new key to us rather than us having to go back to reception. The rooms are clean and well sized, and the bed large and comfortable.

Dinner in the restaurant was very good, with the only black mark being that they did not have any desert wine. Breakfast was OK, except that the omlettes (cooked to order) were not great.

Our second round of golf was on the Aylesford, not in quite such good condition as the Arden but still very enjoyable and considerably easier.

Overall, a very pleasant stay, and I would recommend both the golf and the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian14_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,337 - 1,343 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

I stayed here over the weekend of the 23rd-24th October on a GolfBreaks.com deal. (we paid £132 for a round on the Aylesford and a round on the Arden course plus one nights stay with evening meal and breakfast.)

Hotel:
Very good. We fortunately had a mix up with our rooms which meant rather than having a twin we had two kingsize rooms. This was due to the limited number of twins available. Beds were very comfy and the shower and large bath very relaxing.

Spa:
We used the spa after we had played on the Aylesford and the sauna , steam room and swimming pool was of great benefit after a long round. It was quite busy when we went in with quite a few families, however with it being half term we thought that might have been the reason.

Restaurant and Bar:
Service was very quick. (In and out within an hour for the evening meal, which was very good considering we were part of a group of 29). The three course meal was very good with plenty to go around, with the main meal being a carvery. The breakfast was great and set me up for the round of golf which we were to play later in day. The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant is in a very picturesque setting overlooking the golf course and handily next to the Oaks bar area. The only downside of the Bar was the high prices! (£3.95 pint of cider, £4.50 single rum and coke!)

Golf:
Both courses were great fun to play and very challenging. The Aylesford whislt shorter in length (par 69) was quite tighter off the tee and had plenty of challenging holes. However for a high handicapper like myself (26) I was still able to go round and make a few pars. The Arden, however was a different beast altogether. A fantastic course with lots of water and numerous steep bunkers. The biggest challenge was the fiendishly tricky greens which require great touch not to record a 3-putt (or more!). This course really did test the golfing abilities of all of our fourball, however it was a great experience with fantastic scenery and wildlife (we had around 100 deer on the 10th green as we played our apporaches!). Watch out for the two of the par 3's (8th and 18th) which are very tricky and require good club chose off the tee.

Overall this was the third golfbreaks.com deal we have been on (St.Pierre - Chepstow and the Belfry being the previous two) and this was probably the most fun and relaxed weekend of the three.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel recently and had a very plesent stay rooms are comfortable and food is excellent staff are very helpful and the spa is just amazing only draw back was that room seemed to be located over storage room for golf club so from 7 am a lot of noise of equipment been taken out for day not good if your trying to have a lie in and corridor in room very narrow that room service struggle to negotiate way in with tray other than that excellent and comfertable

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwalsh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We spent a weekend at this hotel. The premium room is a good size , overlooking the golf course, with a super kingsize bed, the bathroom was ok, and it was all vey clean. staff helpfull, friendly and very polite. It was about a 5 minute walk to get down to reception, as the hotel is quite big, so if you smoke, it's probably best to ask for a room closer to the main entrance!
My only criticism is NOT having free wifi in our room, it's there, but for quite a hefty charge.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at Forest of Arden on a busy weekend, with 3 weddings on the Saturday. Despite this, the staff in the hotel were absolutely first rate. Unfortunately, however, the hotel is rather tired, in need of extensive refurbishment and is massively inferior to other Marriotts we have stayed in the UK. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel layout is terrible. And our small room had a incredibly hard bed and no a/c.

We had lunch on the terrace, which was very pleasant and dined in the evening at the "Oakes Grill" - which feels more like a canteen than a restaurant. That said, the food was fine and the service was excellent.

The golf is perhaps the most over-rated experience I have ever had. The staff in the golf shop are rude and disinterested, golfers are crammed onto the courses at 8 minute intervals (we found ourselves waiting to play almost every shot over the 2 rounds) and the courses are good, but nothing to get too excited about. People who rave about it should take a trip to Scotland, Ireland, Spain or Portugal. When we told the starter it had taken us 5 hours to play the Arden course he said that was "fantastic" - and they claim the course is worth £110 per round!! This is simply a large corporation's focus on bucks at the expense of the golfing experience.

All in all, this place is at best ok. Having had similar weekends at De Vere venues I would recommend them over this hotel 100 times out of 100.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed here on business - not up to normal Marriott standards - staff were young, enthusiastic. Room was not as clean as it should have been - rather dusty and the bathroom smelt of wet dog! Bath was not clean. Bed comfy. No phone 3G signal anywhere in the rooms, and the Internet is wired only - not much use for modern travellers when you only have your iPad with you! Also wifi in the public areas was £6 for 60 mins which is a little steep, when the room was £160 for the night!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsHallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is a review of the spa and Spa only.

As a group of 4 people we went on a spa day which did not include hotel room . It was value for money and I would recommend this venue if you are looking for a relaxed day in a spa enviroment. However to get from 1 area to another there are many corridors between changing rooms and spa so it is not good if you have poor mobility or a problem with stairs. However for what we wanted from our day it was great , pool area is lovely with a great jacuzzi and steam room - its has a sauna but didn't use this.

The Zest Cafe for lunch was lovely as you are welcome in your spa robes - food choice good most items are £10-£15 so a little on the expensive side but portions are generous.

The included treatments are great !
The treatment rooms are well decorated and the ambiance is very relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bagnalina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
955 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £63 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing