We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a family occasion. We had interconnecting rooms which were very useful.

We had lunch in the zest restaurant which was nice. We had dinner in the Oak Grill where i found the food to be good quality but quite expensive.

The room was ok but really nothing special. The walls were pretty thin and so i pity the people in the room next door as we had a small baby with us. The bed was not great, far too soft!! The bathroom was also not great with a poorly maintained bath... although the shower had a reasonable pressure. The mini bar was averaged priced.

The health club was ok with a reasonable pool.

One of the downsides of the hotel is if there is a large wedding on the bar they use is right by Zest restaurant and the health club and you have to fight your way through the wedding bar to get to the main reception.

All in all i would this is an average Marriott!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brioney_beard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    494
    223
    103
    62
See reviews for
227
333
17
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

So lovely staff brilliant I would go back any time. It's a brilliant hotel

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoildaypam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muswell Hill
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Hello I stayed here on Monday 5th March 2012. The golf course was challenging and very enjoyable. The hotel ticked all the boxes. My stay was fine. Overall very good. Oh, yes I had the steak in the bar grill it was all very tasty.

Room Tip: i asked for a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhodesgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Really lovely hotel although slightly impersonal. Best points: open fire in the barand comfy chairs, they even have games you can borrow. The coffee's and bar food in the baris excellent. The swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi was absolutely amazing!!! We went in the evening when it was child free and lights were dimmed and soft music playing, absolute heaven as we were having a child-free weekend away. The gym x3 were all great, good amount of machines and equipment, classes and staff to help out. 2 of the gyms were empty both evenings which was lovely and peaceful. Lovely walks around the grounds.Breakfast served in bed was cooked to perfection and delivered hot and to specific order. Fantastic. Minibar well stocked and reasonable prices, same as the bar. Roomservice 24hrs. Housekeeping brought up toothpaste when we discovered we had forgotten ours at home.
Bad points: The hard as rock bed, cold room at night and limited tv channels. The restaurant was overpriced and food and choicewas disappointing. Staff were friendly but not helpful; after first sleepless night in rock hard bed we asked if we could have extra duvet to put on bed as very uncomfortable or another bed if available. Staff said they would send someone to our room whilst we were in restaurant for dinner but bed still as hard second night.
Very standard room but very clean, lovely complimentary toiletries.
Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I was dreadding coming to this conference as I thpight it was at the Ardencote Manor - thank god it wasn't!

A different experience.

I could go on about the various hygiene factors of staying in a hotel (food, room, bar, cleanliness etc) but i don;t need to as it's all good.

However what stands this hotel apart is the staff - wherever I went in the hotel I was asked if I could be helped - not just the standard "can I help you?" but using a bit of commonsense in how help was asked "can I take your bag to your room?" or "are you looking to express checkout?" or "can I direct you to the conference faciities?"

A great place for a conference big or small.

Thank you

Room Tip: All are good and away from the main entertaining areas so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilTwyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

friendly welcoming and helpful staff.

comfortable,deep beds with excess pillows.

tasty food with good breakfasts ranging from fruit ,pastries youghurt etc up to full english.

delightful egg station fluffy omelettes.even had a porridge station.

lovely swimming pool,sauna and steam rooms updated and soothing.

gyms well equipped and staff helpfull and knowledgeable for this beginner.

only the ridiculous £15 daily charge for wi-fi (not even free access in lobby) stopped this being a 5 star stay.

stayed 19th feb for 1 week.paid for by company.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clivew999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great place, great location for relaxing yet close enough to the neighbouring cities to shop, dine out, etc. The golf course surrounding the hotel is stunning.

We found the service to be good for what we required. The food ordered by room service was very nice, cannot comment on the restaurant as we chose to dine out.

Few niggles:

Small attention to detail missed in the bedroom - dust on the surfaces, lamps, etc.

Children playing wildly in the pool - the hotel has a health club available to non-residents, a relaxing swim was impossible as on the Saturday afternoon, the pool was full of children not being looked after, playing games and splashing about with no parents in sight.

Room cards stopped working 10 minutes after arrival, I understand techincal errors happen but as I was on the 2nd floor and quite a way from the stair well it was rather inconvienient.

Despite the few niggles we would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebs1381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Genting Hotel
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Property: Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing