We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hmmm”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The resort is impressive, I'm a keen golfer, play off 16 and the course & facilities are very impressive. The menus at the bar and restaurant are poor. We had a vegetarian with us, ordered a pizza at the Zest bar and it came out looking burned and like one of those supermarket cardboard pizzas.
Then the rooms, we stayed in the Country Club (upgraded rooms). It was the worst night I have ever had in a hotel, there was a wedding and lots of golfers clearly some had too much to drink and were jumping around upstairs at 0450 am! I called reception, they said someone would go and take a look (super), then at 6 am someone's alarm went off (on silent buzz mode). The room's sound proofing is a complete joke.
The rooms are well-appointed, the leisure facilities are great (sauna, steam room & pool). If you stay, avoid the Country Club rooms. Come on Marriott I know you are better than this, it's unacceptable.

Room Tip: Avoid the Coutry club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    500
    228
    106
    63
See reviews for
232
337
17
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

The hotel is amazing. Very beautiful.

The only down fall was the food in the restaurant. Totally awful. Not worth the money.w

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank HPSaucy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed here for a 2 day break during Feb half term. I am always looking for deals and Marriott usually match up to our requirements, 2 adults with 3 kids and not too expensive. Service was 2nd to none, thank you Phil the bell man, you are a real gentleman. Clean and nicely decorated bedrooms although it was like a maze to get from our room to the pool. There was an offer to upgrade room with free mini bar - so as you can imagine the kids raided it, it was refilled the next day and they raided it again. Breakfast with good service and child friendly. There was a special promotion for dinner so we booked a table, the waiter brought the regular menu so I had to ask for the 'Valentine's special' which was extremely good value and the kids ate for free. The pool was great for the kids and a nice size. Clean changing rooms. Lovely hot sauna and cold showers to get the circulation going bbrrrrr! I don't think there was much to do within the local area once outside the hotel. It's about 30 mins into Birmingham city centre where we had a look at the Staffordshire Hoard (very interesting) and tons of shops in the Bullring if thats your thing. I would say it would be bonus in the summertime as the hotel is down a little windy road set in beautiful grounds with a golf course.

Room Tip: We seemed to walk for ages to get back to our room, a room nearer to the lift would have been better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitebitsEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a family occasion. We had interconnecting rooms which were very useful.

We had lunch in the zest restaurant which was nice. We had dinner in the Oak Grill where i found the food to be good quality but quite expensive.

The room was ok but really nothing special. The walls were pretty thin and so i pity the people in the room next door as we had a small baby with us. The bed was not great, far too soft!! The bathroom was also not great with a poorly maintained bath... although the shower had a reasonable pressure. The mini bar was averaged priced.

The health club was ok with a reasonable pool.

One of the downsides of the hotel is if there is a large wedding on the bar they use is right by Zest restaurant and the health club and you have to fight your way through the wedding bar to get to the main reception.

All in all i would this is an average Marriott!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brioney_beard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

So lovely staff brilliant I would go back any time. It's a brilliant hotel

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoildaypam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muswell Hill
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Hello I stayed here on Monday 5th March 2012. The golf course was challenging and very enjoyable. The hotel ticked all the boxes. My stay was fine. Overall very good. Oh, yes I had the steak in the bar grill it was all very tasty.

Room Tip: i asked for a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhodesgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Really lovely hotel although slightly impersonal. Best points: open fire in the barand comfy chairs, they even have games you can borrow. The coffee's and bar food in the baris excellent. The swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi was absolutely amazing!!! We went in the evening when it was child free and lights were dimmed and soft music playing, absolute heaven as we were having a child-free weekend away. The gym x3 were all great, good amount of machines and equipment, classes and staff to help out. 2 of the gyms were empty both evenings which was lovely and peaceful. Lovely walks around the grounds.Breakfast served in bed was cooked to perfection and delivered hot and to specific order. Fantastic. Minibar well stocked and reasonable prices, same as the bar. Roomservice 24hrs. Housekeeping brought up toothpaste when we discovered we had forgotten ours at home.
Bad points: The hard as rock bed, cold room at night and limited tv channels. The restaurant was overpriced and food and choicewas disappointing. Staff were friendly but not helpful; after first sleepless night in rock hard bed we asked if we could have extra duvet to put on bed as very uncomfortable or another bed if available. Staff said they would send someone to our room whilst we were in restaurant for dinner but bed still as hard second night.
Very standard room but very clean, lovely complimentary toiletries.
Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#37 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Property: Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing