We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Day - really great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I went on a spa day with a friend that we booked through spabreaks.co.uk for £80. This included a 25 min treatment and use of the spa facilities (+ 10% off further treatments).

We went on a Saturday in the morning and expected the spa to be quite busy but it was nice with just enough people for atmosphere. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the treatment I had was lovely. I had a back massage and the therapist went through a mini consultation and took note of what I said. The treatment room I was in was really big and well stocked. The massage table was sturdy and electric.
We were shown around the spa and to the pool etc by the spa receptionist and she was very smiley, really polite and friendly.
The pool was busy in the morning but by lunchtime was pretty much empty and so was the Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna.
All the facilities were really clean, the spa looked really modern and the hotel and grounds themselves are beautiful.
We will definitely be going back to the spa!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
There are newer reviews for Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,107 - 1,113 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed for one night over Easter. Whilst we had a nice time and made full use of the Hotel leisure facilities, I would not call this a luxury Hotel. Great golf facilities and our boy really enjoyed the swimming pool, what lets this hotel down is the rooms. Our room seemed to have had a 'superficial' make over, whilst clean and tidy when you looked closely you could see a patched up job, especially in the bathroom.
Another problem is the noise, the walls must be paper thin because you can hear the slightest conversation as people pass your room and many many slamming doors throughout the night.
Don't get fooled by the advertised Free Wifi, this is only in the public spaces, if you require it in your room expect to pay £6 per hour.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiddyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed in the Forest Of Arden on 10 April 2013.

I stayed in a twin room. A Twin room in this hotel means 2 x 5ft double beds in a lovely large room with the normal TV (but large), bath/shower room and tea/coffee making facilities.

Everyone is so friendly and if it isn't on the menu they will go and see if something can be done. Nothing is too much trouble.

When I returned home I realised I had forgotten my mobile phone charger, so called the hotel. How many times have you called a Hotel to be told they couldn't find what you had left. Not here. The receptionist talked to the House Manager who confirmed the item had been found. I offered to pay the P&P but this organisation wouldn't have it and would post it first class next day.

You won't go wrong with these people and all the better if you play golf or use the Spa.

Highly recommended and well worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trwela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed for three nights on a break after Easter. Although good this was not quite up to the standard I have come to expect from this level of Marriott hotels. I obtained an Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate which was good value but on the last night wanted just a B&B rate as we had a theatre booking at the RSC. This seemed to cause some confusion later in the stay with a bill being provided after 2 of the three nights and subsequent problems with key cards being valid.

Also on checking in we were given key cards to room 360 which different work and only with effort found out we were actually meant to be in 260! Even then more problems occurred with non functioning key cards.

The hotel,was good, clean although in certain areas a little lacking. Bedrooms did not have air con mad the pool was over chlorinated. Also the practice of charging for Internet access in the bedrooms is not acceptable these days. Marriott need to recognise this, especially if they trade on the web then they should make it easy for their customers.

The bedroom was good, the Oaks restaurant was nice but needed a wider choice.

Service was good and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_B_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Staff are friendly and helpful, especially the concierge who escorted me to my room and showed me how everything worked! The room was excellent and very comfortable, looked out over the golf course. It has a good sized rectangular pool so you get a decent swim. Breakfast was excellent. My only disappointment was the quality of the room service food which I mentioned on check out and it was quickly resolved. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cshore2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Predictable but always good. The Forest of Arden is up to the same good standards of the Marriott chain but with a huge bonus...The golf course. Very tough but a fantastic challenge. Novices may find it too challenging but any good golfer will love this track.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Harris1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

If you were dropped from a spaceship into a Marriott Hotel you would instantly know where you are......and that is not necessarily a good thing. A bit outdated all round. Half the family stayed 2 nights, working at NEC, me and son just one night to keep company.

Was disappointed to have to pay for an upgrade due to only room left for 4 was smoking. Surely it's a basic human right not to have to sleep in someone else's smoke? That said, the comp Internet and drinks vouchers covered the extra cost.

The Oak Bar and Grill was good for a hotel restaurant, good wine list. Part of my meal was stone cold but the staff dealt with it brilliantly.

Had a fab time using the gym and pool and my massage in the spa was very good.

Breakfast typical Marriott and very good. All in all, good hotel, pleasant staff and if in the area I would return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJAJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
919 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,088 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £70 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing