We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
derby, uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely location but...”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Have just returned from a long weekend at this hotel. The location is lovely but hidden away. No air con and in an old building full of corridors a bit stuffy. Primarily a hotel dominated by weddings /wedding receptions ( 3 in one one day) and golfing packages, which is absolutely fine, but not a place to stay if you want to get out and about, for example you can only realistically eat on site if you do not wish to drive, and any places of interest are a good drive away. Not the best Marriott breakfast. However, staff lovely if a little overzealous in their desire to tidy up. Would I stay here again...probably not, but still enjoyed my break..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessa1Derby_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    502
    228
    107
    64
See reviews for
232
338
17
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Brilliant rooms

Breakfast had great variety including an omelette station. And was on till late on the weekends. Location is good. You have Solihull and Coventry not far. We used this to spend a day in Royal Leamington. About 25min drive

Best thing was the gym/spa facilities. Very clean. Great equipment. And good size pool. Didn't play golf so no comment on that

All positive. Highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabertoothtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Went here with friends on a golf package to celebrate my 50th. The hotel was perfect, having twin rooms with 2 good sized double beds. Clean, excellent facilities and great food. The golf courses were excellent too.

The bars were wonderful and the staff could not be m helpful. If all hotels were this good, we wouldn't need review sites.

Could have done with aircon in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

If there were air conditioning, this property would get higher marks for accommodation. The location is stunning and peaceful, just 15 minutes drive from the Birmingham Airport. Upon arrival, Phil, the doorman/valet/bellman greeted us with the warmest smile and asked our names. For the duration of our 4 days, he always greeted us by name with the kindest smile. This type of service gives the BEST impression from the get-go. The rooms are small but clean. The front desk staff is friendly and quick with the check-in. We used the leisure facilities which are quite nice. The bar/restaurant staff, although friendly, were the s-l-o-w-e-s-t I have encountered. I believe they may be severely understaffed. I would return to this hotel for the tranquility.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the center of the hotel or you will be walking 8+ minutes to the furthest ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidsnMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hotel is a gem!! Rooms are lovely, food is outstanding and service is extremely good. We use this hotel for business purposes and they've never let us down yet. I would highly recommend. The beds are really good and pillows excellent. As far as Marriott hotels go this should be a higher category of hotel as the surroundings are lovely and I've not had a better service at any other Marriotts.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but superior king is very comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sha-sas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This countryside location cannot be faulted on a beautiful summer's day. I spent a long weekend here in June when the sun shined and England looked glorious. The reception staff were polite, but friendly would be a push - except for the fabulous porter Phil. I was travelling alone and on my arrival after two days of planes, taxis, trains and hire cars, Phil was a breath of fresh air. He parked my car, took care of my luggage, pointed out the hotel amenities, took me to my room and set me up with a cup of tea. He later took great care of my sister who was the bride that weekend - making sure her bouquets were not crushed, the dresses were safe and the cake arrived unscathed. If you should meet Phil, take advantage of his skills and tip him well, he deserves it!
The room was well presented with good quality fittings and super comfy bed-linen. The bathroom could do with modernisation but it was clean, functional and the hot water was reliable - always a bonus. My room was on the third floor and fairly close to the lifts. Some of our party had quite long treks to their rooms.
My booking included breakfast and I was really happy with the plentiful variety of the buffet. From basic cereals and toast to fruit compote and an 'egg chef' I enjoyed every meal immensely. The breakfast staff were attentive; making an effort to ensure I got a window seat so that I could read the paper in natural light, was really appreciated.
As for the rest of the catering and the bar I found both to be quite expensive. Although this was not bothersome to me particularly (I came prepared) I know other party members found it pricey. The Oaks bar menu especially was not good value for money. The bar staff were competent enough but seemed to feel harassed by our presence and never smiled. Zest was better value.
The pool, steam room and sauna are all worth a visit. The staff there were more friendly and animated. Everything was clean and the towel/locker system worked well.
I didn't have anything to do with the event coordination but I believe my sister was very happy with the assistance she received, and everything ran very smoothly from a guest POV.
In summary this was a lovely hotel and I had a fabulous time. The room was good value but the drinks/food were expensive, so be prepared. The staff service varied in quality and if they could all learn to crack a smile this one could be a winner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a typical Marriott hotel where ‘computer says no’.
The processes and systems really get in the way of a great customer experience.
Which is a real shame as staff bend over backwards to take care of you and make up for the irritations caused from ‘No’.

The food is very nice, though breakfast is a buffet affair with soggy rather than crispy bacon. There are two bars with outdoor areas but the cushions were being dry cleaned!!!!! The grounds are beautiful with deer wandering around the golf course, there is a spa with a pool (not very deep, sauna and steam room, and a very friendly lady to look after you. The bed was very comfortable with a cozy duvet, but the bedroom has no air conditioning and the windows open only an inch ‘health and safety’!!!!! I even offered to sign to say I would take on responsibility – but NO. They did provide a fan and a promise that air conditioning is on its way……

We had booked a conference room and were given a partitioned room with no windows – not great at the best of times, but in 30 degree heat!!!!! Very helpful staff found an alternative room, but it is the energy and effort it takes to keep having conversations to make things work. Wi-fi for example - £15 – in this day and age is it really profitable for them as a business, when it causes such irritation.

If you like walking, great, you have the grounds to enjoy and the bedrooms seem miles away from reception with lots of fire doors to navigate through, not so good with luggage – seems to be only one small lift.

If you are arriving by public transport, the hotel is £15 taxi from Birmingham International Train station, very helpful staff to organize taxi’s for you. If you are organizing an event there, Nicola is very helpful and proactive.

Room Tip: view over golf course -- with broken catch on window so you can open it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debutaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Property: Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing