We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average - depends on what you want” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #33 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average - depends on what you want”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel specializes in conferences and golf. It has welcoming staff and is well located. However it is in need of some upgrading and refurbishing. The restaurant serves a good buffet breakfast with individual egg station The evening dinner menu is limited and over priced. During my stay the fire alarm was activated three times during my three day stay, while there was a plausible reason it was annoying and created a feeling of credibility. Bedrooms had tea making facilities and a safe but WiFi connection was expensive. The air conditioning was too efficient and the hotel was basically cold and despite several requests staff seemed unable to correct the temperature. Overall an average experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulW939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    483
    216
    102
    60
See reviews for
212
320
17
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Played the Arden course which was immaculate and the green are very fast. Stayed overnight with a great dinner and wonderful breakfast with a egg chef to do you fresh omelettes or fried eggs.

Wonderful staff and all go out of their way to say hello.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaffar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

On arrival the hotel looked much more grand than its website images, the golf resort looked well kept and there was plenty of parking. We were greeted on arrival and taken up to The Cedarwood Spa where a lovely spa receptionist gave us a lovely warm and friendly welcome and was very informative about the structure of the day and if we wanted our afternoon tea in the spa or later at the hotel Zest cafe. The facilities in the spa were really well kept and the treatment exceeded my expectations! Full free use of all the leisure facilities such as the pool, steam room and sauna. Looking forward to our cream tea, it was a shame the football was on in Zest cafe, and many of the guests around us were golfers enjoying a beer and pub grub, this didn't distract from our delightful scones, clotted cream and jam! We even asked for strawberry jam which the waiter helpfully brought over with our large pots of tea! Back to the spa to pick up our bags and again greeted by the friendly spa receptionist and asked how our tea was!

Definitely good for a girly day on a budget

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheepy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for one night before a fairly early departure from Birmingham Airport, and were suitably impressed. Obviously the main focus of the resort are its golfing clients, but we were made welcome and the leisure facilities are very good.

I am Marriott gold, so when we checked in we were given a nice welcome gift of a bottle of wine and a nice room upgrade. There is no exec lounge at the hotel, but we were given vouchers for drinks at the bar in lieu of this.

The hotel layout is quite strange, with seemingly endless corridors. It was quite a trek to the room, but this wasn't a problem. We had only been in the clean, well appointed room for a few minutes when we got another welcome gift from the management of some very ornate biscuits.

We had a swim and a sauna in the very quiet leisure club, then had a drink in the bar and a meal in the Zest restaurant - the hotel is a long way from any other eating facility so, unless you want a drive out, they have got you. The Zest restaurant offers a bar menu and I have to say, it was okay - we ate fairly early and were able to watch the end of the Ashes cricket on the big screen, as ate, which was nice.

The bedrooms and beds were up to usual Marriott standards and we had a good night's sleep. Breakfast in the morning was in the Oaks Grill, and was the usual Marriott fare - good fruit selection and a nice selection of hot food and cold cuts.

All in all, a very good hotel with friendly, helpful staff -I would have no problem going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

What a place!

I was staying here for business but had my family as we were travelling onward on holiday. The hotel couldn't have been better! From check in, where they made my step son feel like a king as it was his 10th birthday, to the restaurant, where they dealt smoothly and easily with food requests as some of my party have very specific food allergies, they couldn't have been better.

The friendliness and pleasant attitude off ALL the staff was exceptional. I stay away a lot for business and it is very rare to find so many friendly helpful staff. It really didn't feel like a chain hotel.

The room was clean and overlooked the golf course so was lovely and quiet. The only thing I would say is that the restaurant is quite expensive but the food was freshly prepared and the choice of wines was excellent.

The location is also excellent, close to the NEC but in open countryside, well worth the extra 5 min drive.

I have recommended to my company that we hold more business events here in future as the accommodation and attitude of staff was so good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Nebraska
Level Contributor
363 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Check in was a surreal nightmare. Passive aggressive non response to every question I asked, until I told him what wakeup time and newspaper I wanted. I simply wanted to check in my two rooms, unload my bags and park my car. Later I called down the operator. It rang for three minutes before someone answered. The ethernet in my room doesn't work. There is no air conditioning and while you can open the windows, they don't have screens. Perhaps the golf is good, I don't know, we didn't stay to find out. Avoid!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DowneastCornhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Ballinderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed here with my family for my cousins wedding this summer. the room is really nice, clean and very modern décor . the staff were very friendly, we had lunch the following day in the restaurant, which was a bit pricey , that was the hotels only fault, drink and food over priced. but over all we really enjoyed our stay , lovely gardens surround the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#32 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Property: Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#40 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing