We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #30 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights for a business black tie event. Rooms clean staff excellent food could have been better although not sure if it was outside caterers as we were in a marquee.Breakfast typical chain buffet but very exceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jredfernBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    524
    238
    111
    69
See reviews for
258
354
18
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Reception staff were very efficient, food was fine but uninspiring, room acceptable although bathroom a bit tired - but the carpets in the bedroom, the corridors and the conference suite where we were having an important dinner for 60 people were a disgrace - food, litter etc everywhere - a request to rectify was dealt with but we should not have had to ask.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexChap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I was given a Spabreaks voucher for two as a birthday gift for this hotel/spa and was looking forward to a nice quiet, relaxing day away from the stresses and strains of everyday life, together with the family member who gave me the voucher. How disappointed we were – if we had known what to expect she would have chosen another venue.
The list of our complaints is as follows:
No heating in the building due to ongoing problems awaiting attention – we are of the opinion we should have been informed of this beforehand and given the chance to re-book.
The changing room was very small
Although the massage we chose was very enjoyable and relaxing, the coldness of the room, together with the higher than necessary volume of the music, did spoil the experience somewhat.
The “relaxation room” we used after our treatments was very small and cold, although the limited seating was comfortable and blankets/throws were available to use. It became very busy with clients who were noisy and intrusive on our “rest period”.
The very small and almost claustrophobic changing room (no windows) we were told to use was in an unpleasant, dirty condition, even before 10 o’clock in the morning, with two rubbish bins and a sanitary bin overflowing with various items, including an old banana skin! The toilet bowl was stained and when we opened another door, expecting it to be another toilet, we found a small shower, complete with human hair scattered around and dirty stains around the door stop behind the door. Although there were plenty of spare toilet rolls, the tissue box was empty and the one and only hand towel available was already dirty and wet – very unhygienic!
When we eventually gained access to the pool, (having been taken and left at the fire exit by a member of staff and had to be let in by the swimming instructor), it was already occupied by several families with young children who were shouting and screaming as they jumped in the water, splashing anyone within their vicinity. Nearly half of the pool was cordoned off so that children’s swimming lessons could take place, resulting in very little space left for anyone who was hoping to exercise by swimming. Although the pool was comfortably warm, we gave up trying to swim and managed to squeeze ourselves into the crowded Jacuzzi, where we spent the next forty five minutes being warmed through by the hot water – the warmest part of our entire visit!
Lunch was a very pleasant experience in the café bar, although it was very busy and noisy with golfers, residents and other guests. The food we chose was generous in portion size and very enjoyable but unfortunately our break for afternoon tea was not. The noise coming from the café bar as we approached it was absolutely deafening as it was filled with noisy, beer-drinking golfers and other guests.
On our way back from the café bar, we passed the pool once again and all our plans for another attempt at swimming before we left at the end of the day were immediately shattered. By now, all the families and children previously occupying the pool and Jacuzzi had been replaced by several young couples who were doing more kissing and cuddling than swimming, so we decided enough was enough and we would pack up and go home where we would shower in the warmth and comfort of our own homes. On leaving the spa, the young lady on reception merely wished us goodbye and didn’t ask if we had enjoyed our day and if we were happy with everything (as we would have expected). Because of this we decided to make our complaints afterwards, leaving the Marriott Forest of Eden thoroughly disappointed and vowing never to return.
Only one good thing has come from this experience – in future we will take more care to research the venues for spa days before booking and avoid this one at all costs!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Everything was as one would expect from a quality hotel chain.
Great service and attention to detail and just ticking along as expected.
Stayed here for 2 nights and the staff are polite and efficient, the room was good and food excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bub1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My stay here was for business purposes, which I imagine would make up the overwhelming majority of their customers. I really resent the fact that they charge for a wifi connection - £15 for 24hrs. Wake up guys, in this day a business hotel like yours should be providing this for free and making it as easy to connect as possible. Your competitors are, which is one reason that I'll be staying with them and not you in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gastrocuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived in the dark after a conference, so was unable to take in the scenery and exterior of the hotel. It was difficult to navigate the car par, which is huge, due to poor lighting and signage. Check in was swift and friendly. The hotel is huge and I had to wander about a bit before I located my room. The room was clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed and all seemed set for a good night. My room had a door allowing it to be linked to the room next door, which was locked shut. When the guest in the room next door was on the phone I could hear every word and when they used the TV or hair dryer it was as if they were in my room with me. It wasn't that they were being noisy, rather just poor soundproofing. This may be better in other rooms. Once I went to sleep I slept well. Breakfast was good and staff professional and attentive. Not at all bad, but not much to lift it above other hotels in the area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank tomrw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent excellent excellent, so easy to find, breathtaking scenery, great for golfers, lovely staff very helpful, modern king size room , the most comfortable bed, white cotton linen, fluffy towels. breakfast was fab. The first night we ate in the hotel nice food not expensive. We both had treatments at the spa complete bliss, The Hotel was very busy on the Saturday but you wouldn't have known very well organised, everywhere is extremely clean. We will definatley be going back, with the kids. We both came away so relaxed, Oh & the price was very fair. :-)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajpw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
901 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Property: Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing