We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Severely disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We did not stay in the hotel so cannot comment on rooms. My fiance booked a spa day for the two of us as a birthday present (to also view as possible wedding venue). It's been along time since I've been this dissatisfied and thought I'd share our views for other potential clients.

There was no room for our belongings in the spa itself so we're taken down to the leisure changing rooms. The layout is very disorientating and not very practical. After being left to our own devices we decided to have some lunch before our pre booked massage. We went to the zest bar.

We ordered food and drinks and waited 45 minutes. We then had to enquire where our meals were 15 minutes before we were due to be back upstairs. Whilst waiting there were 3 other food related complaints. We had to ask for our food to be held back (wasn't even started) even though there was not a lunchtime rush.

The massage itself was 45 mins (supposed to be 60). We had booked a double treatment room which was forgotten until I asked about this. When we finally got into the right room the massages were very fast , disjointed and not relaxing. The massage therapist ignored areas of specific concentration and did what she liked. Don't feel any benefits now after looking forward to this for months!

went back for our pre ordered food. Was nothing special, and pub would offer same at a more reasonable rate. Baguette came with a nice sticker attached to it and glasses were filthy. No apology was made when we very politely pointed this out. We are not natural complainers but we have had a really dissappointing time.

Needless to say we will not be looking to further our enquiries regarding this being a wedding venue!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Amoreamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul K, Front Office Manager at Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

I would like to thank you for the time taken to share your feedback on your visit.

Your experience in the Spa and Zest restaurant clearly did not meet our usual standards and I understand your disappointment. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have faced and be assured that your feedback would greatly help us in addressing these shortcomings and achieving guest satisfaction, which we are committed to provide.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that you would consider visiting us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Atul Kankrej

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
There are newer reviews for Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

929 - 935 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Two games of golf, dinner bed and breakfast for two at a winter/spring price of £209 the couple. The courses are well kept, the bedrooms large and really sharp and clean, the largest and thickest bath towels and most comfortable king size bed. Unusually good lighting in the rooms and controllable heating. The staff were charming, could not be more helpful. Supper was a self service and there was something for every taste. Breakfast a sumptuous hot and cold feast. Could not recommend this deal more highly.

Room Tip: They all seem very good.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mousie641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Lovely hotel, beautiful grounds, very reasonable bar prices. Had a lovely 3 course meal. Staff very tentative and helpful. Looking forward to going back. Had a bonus surprise with a welcome bucks fizz breakfast drink for "mothers day". Thank you !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

As we arrived at the hotel we were impressed by the well kept grounds and lay out of the car park. Check in was speedy and efficient. The concierge was exceptionally friendly and told us a bit about the hotel and asked us about our stay. He remembered our names when we met him over the course of the weekend. He pointed out features in our room showed us through the window how the hotel was arranged and even offered to put the kettle on! We enjoyed an excellent meal both evenings which were included in our deal. Breakfast both mornings was good too. Highlights were the comfortable bed free fresh orange juice at reception,ice delivered to the room, Buck's Fizz at breakfast to celebrate Mothers Day but best of all the friendliness of the staff. Excellent hotel. Well done.

Room Tip: Because of the quiet location of the hotel all the rooms would be peaceful .
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked this hotel on a golf break deal which was quite reasonable for dinner, B&B and two rounds of golf.

We arrived after the usual check-in time and our room was ready. It was a quiet room as requested prior to arrival, located in the corner of the hotel by the 18th tee (Aylesford course).
It wasn't particularly cold outside but the room was freezing, we turned the radiator up high and within a few hours it was a more normal temperature. The room was fairly compact, simply furnished and spotlessly clean.

The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and friendly with the exception of one lady working in the Zest bar who was bordering on rude. She appeared to be working on her own during a busy lunchtime which was a shame but when you are paying Marriott prices you expect a certain level of service and at least some basic manners.

On the whole the hotel has a very pleasant layout, it is a little bit 'chintzy' and 90s in style but very nice and clean throughout.

I used both the gym and spa facilities and also the pool during my stay. The gym is very well equipped, probably one of the best I've seen for a hotel of this class there are plenty of cardio machines and a weights room. There is also a studio with various classes. The indoor pool is small but clean and if you don't go on the 'water babies' session as we did can be a pleasant area to relax in.

The Cedarwood Spa is a real treat, I had a 25 min back massage and it was excellent. Although pricey I think it was worth it.

We dined both nights in the Oaks restaurant and we were very impressed with both the quality of food and the service. Good menu choices, although we were surprised to see supplements on some starters and ordinary main course dishes. We enjoyed our food and would recommend the restaurant.

Breakfast was also excellent, great choice and plenty of staff on hand.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MedTravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have stayed here many times on a family weekend break. The holes grounds are beautiful. The rooms are the cleanest I have stayed in and there is always a lovely smell of freshly laundered towels in the bathroom. We usually stay over Easter weekend and the kids are given Easter eggs, which is a lovely touch. Cannot fault this hotel, other than the ridiculous in room internet charges, which I have found are chargeable at several marriott hotels if not included in the package. Internet in communal areas is free.

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit of a walk from reception. There are some nice rooms with a golf course view, bu...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived Thursday afternoon and played both courses over the weekend.Very good condition considering the recent weather,abut overpriced at the weekend though especially the aylesford course.However staff were brill,rooms very good and breakfast super.Bit pricey for evening meals,we went into local village and would recommend the Bulls Head pub.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
919 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,083 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club

Address: Maxstoke Lane | Meriden, Birmingham CV7 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#41 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £69 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located near Solihull in the West Midlands, the Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club is the perfect setting for business or leisure travel. Our convenient central location provides easy access to all modes of transportation making navigation seamless for all travel preferences. Ideal for a weekend getaway in Meriden, Birmingham, our hotel features a full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, serene indoor pool, decadent restaurants and a picturesque golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Of Arden Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Coventry
Coventry Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing